We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute, comfy, no complaints”
Review of Truffle Pigs Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Field
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Truffle Pigs Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Field
Reviewed 14 September 2013

the lodge is cute, and is nicely situated in Field. Stayed one night on a hiking trip in the area, so was convenient enough. Staff was pleasant and the room was big and clean. Nothing fancy. The restaurant attached aimed high, food presentation was quite lovely, and good enough, but not exactly hitting their target. Nonetheless, restaurant staff was wonderfully attentive, and made the stay overall pleasant. Overall, the lodge is sort of middle of the road, in the seemingly middle of nowhere. but if I were in the area again, I'd keep this option in mind!

Room Tip: Stayed in lowest level, which gave no view whatsoever. but it was quiet at night! so, would recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icybeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

The Kicking Horse Lodge is connected to the Truffle Pig restaurant in Field. The restaurant is very nice - high quality food and good service but...the lodge is basically an updated motel room. It is very clean but has no amenities except a laundry facility and a game room. It is located about 100 yards from the train yard which operates all night and is very noisy. The beds were not particularly comfortable and the room was hot (not even a fan). Long story short it isn't worth $200 a night . The town of Field is also about 1/4 mile right off the highway. All in all it is expensive in a bad location. I can't say that I would recommend staying there if you have other options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TotalOfFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

It wasn't great. I wouldn't go again. We didn't stay there- just dined, and it certainly wasn't delish. I had the nachos with a Korean pulled pork belly- flavor was seriously over powering with Chinese 5 spice. Husband had a burger which he said was ok. Service was just ok.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank beautifulbanff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at Truffle Pigs for one night on our road trip. We had a lovely meal (if not a little pricey) at the lodge restaurant before heading to bed in our cute little room. The only problem was that the lodge is located right next to the train tracks. This was fine for my husband who is a heavy sleeper, but as a light sleeper myself it felt like there were trains starting and passing thorough all night. This aside, we were pleased that we chose to stay at Truffle Pigs as opposed to the busy Lake Louise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scot_Kiwi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at the Truffle Pigs for three nights while exploring Yoho Park. The town of Field is right in the park so a great place to be since Emerald Lake, Takkakaw Falls, and Lake O'Hara are all just a short drive away. The rooms at the lodge are clean and comfortable but fairly basic; the only problem is that you are only a short distance away from the rail yard, where trains and locomotives are either coming through or warming up - especially at night. The room got too warm with the window open, so it was always a choice between the train noises or the heat. I believe some rooms have A/C, which would have been better. The restaurant is excellent - we ate there twice and always enjoyed everything. If you feel like something more casual, the Siding is just across the street, but beware that they close at 8 PM. Overall, we loved the town and the restaurant, but might consider checking out one of the B and B's on our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air conditioning if you go in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in the family suite and it was fine nothing special as a room for two hundred dollars . The town is great though really charming and the views and quietness after the hype of Banff was fantastic ! The reception staff were helpful and we would recommend !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Everything about our experience was terrific! We stayed two nights; unfortunately, we could not get the room of our choice for two consecutive nights, so we had to switch out of the preferred room and into a 2nd room. However, both rooms were very clean and quite attractive, although they are not luxurious. We ate two breakfasts and two dinners at the Bistro and enjoyed every morsel of the beautifully prepared meals. Field itself is a lovely little town with a fascinating history and easy access to Yoho Park hikes and Lake Louise to the east. We found all the staff helpful, courteous, and responsive.

I agree with other reviewers who caution about the train lines, which are part of Field's (and Canada's) history.....if you are a touchy sleeper, this might be a problem since the inn is very close to the train yard and the trains do come in both day or night. However, I'm very glad we stayed here, and hope to be able to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
6.8 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
13.7 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,439 reviews
12.2 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
13.5 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,110 reviews
3.8 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Truffle Pigs Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truffle Pigs Lodge

Address: 100 Centre Street, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Field
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 12 room post and beam hotel/lodge in the heart of Yoho National Park, Field BC. Home of Truffle Pigs Bistro and Lounge: award winning and nationally and internationally acclaimed eclectic bistro. This is a unique family run property in the thick of the rocky mountains that is unpretentious, comfortable, welcoming and human. The staff is likewise : energetic, passionate and professional. This property is a fantastic family hotel, romantic outdoor couples mecca, a hikers hang out and a skier friendly lodge that is minutes from some of Canada's most prestigious ski hills and mountain destinations. Winter is cozy and tranquil & summer is relaxing and chaotic: an atmosphere unlike any other in the Canadian Rockies and not to be missed. Rooms are clean and spacious, freshly renovated and affordable. The property has free parking, WiFi, coin laundry, games room, manicured gardens and immediate access to mountain terrain. Cell service is now available in Field. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kicking Horse Lodge And Truffle Pigs Bistro Hotel Field
Kicking Horse Hotel
Kicking Horse Motel
Truffle Pigs Lodge Canada/Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing