We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little stop, although not really a "bed and breakfast"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canadian Rockies Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Field B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed at the Canadian Rockies Inn for a couple of nights earlier this week. We found this stay to be nice and of good value.

Our room featured a king sized bed (which was comfortable), microwave, small refrigerator, TV and clock. The bathroom featured a shower/tub, toilet, and sink. (The bathroom was a really big room, and seemed over sized for the bathroom fixtures it contained. There could have easily been a big shower and a separate tub, for example, or even a Jacuzzi.) There was no closet, but there was a chest of drawers.

The unit was very clean and appeared fairly newly renovated. As others have mentioned, Luc (the manager) was gracious and helpful.

However, there was no breakfast included, and in my book that would disqualify this as a B&B, which is how it is categorized on Trip Adviser.

Field is a location with very few amenities or activities, and so you'll want to plan to use the Canadian Rockies Inn as a home base for excursions out in the Parks, of which there are many.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

Beware of significant road construction between Field and Lake Louise. Also, don't expect to find a grocery store in Field. Our room was quiet, clean, modern and spacious with: Heat/AC, refrigerator, microwave, oven and range. We had a table, glasses, plates and utensils. Paved parking was just outside the door. Although the owner worked next door he left us pretty much on our own.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TexansAlso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

the couple which owns the place is very welcoming and friendly, gave a lot of usefull information.
the place is a luxurious home, very clean, in a quiet road but very accessible. kitchen is fully equiped and you can do your meals there.
you need to book your reservation in advance as this is the best place in Field, and I'vee been in another place there. Stay here.
Well pictures tell everything!
It may look very expensive at the beginning but other places in Field charge the same per night and give less.

Room Tip: Book this place in advance!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amir I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was such a good choice. The apartment (No1) was very clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated with a great eye for detail. It was the perfect base to return to after a day out walking and sightseeing. Field is a friendly and interesting place and we recommend checking out the freshly baked muffins in the general store next door but one! Also have a meal in the Truffle Pig which is excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Great_Expectations_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We spent three nights at the Canadian Rockies Inn in a suite with full kitchen accommodations.

Luc was a gracious host who gave us good advice on hikes in the area.

The suite was clean and well kept.

The location is convenient to most areas of Banff, though Field itself is small and services are limited. The trains did not bother us at all.

The footnote: the facility has no free wifi. I would gladly trade the 200 channels on the TV for wifi - which we could have used to get weather and other information. I did pick up a public wifi signal that I could have used for a fee.

That footnote aside, everything about our stay was great and we recommend the Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dirtbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed in Field for a couple of nights, suite N3 at the Canadian Rockies Inn. very comfortable, well equipped suite. Would've been good to have a stove.
Luc (manager or owner) was very friendly. Field is a very nice little town. Very well located for most hikes around Yoho. Will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Our family of four stayed here for two nights in August. My wife and I were in the largest bed we have ever slept in, it was simply HUGE! Our 11 and 9 year old children had single beds in the adjoining room - even these were massive.
When you first walk in, it is a lovely surprise how beautiful the suite is - from the outside you are not sure what you have let yourself in for. Don't let the exterior put you off though, because the interior accommodation is absolutely top notch.
Our host Luc was extremely relaxed and friendly, offered good advice and was quite simply a lovely bloke - thank you Luc, we really enjoyed our stay!
There are very limited cooking facilities in the room (microwave only), but we had been told that beforehand. The bathroom was great and spotless. The living room was very comfy.
People on here have complained about the train noise - we did not really notice it to be honest. I guess some people are more sensitive to it than others. I don't recall hearing endless train horns and in any event, frankly we think Canadian train horns sound wonderful! I do disagree that there is a train every hour though - at worst there is a train every few hours. it is wise to stop at the level crossing before proceeding, and looking, but you would have to be incredibly unlucky or stupid to get hit by a train - they are infrequent and they trundle along at no great speed.
We loved Field and Yoho National Park. Emerald Lake is not far away at all, and this is a jewel - kayaking a must. Takkakaw Falls are also nearby, as are the famous railway spiral tunnels.
Go on the informal free (donations accepted) tour of Field, run by a local resident every other day. Friendly and informative!
This is a tiny town with a big heart. We didn't use the General Stores, but they pack a good range of things in a very tiny space, to serve a small population. Luc has a small shop with tasteful and locally made crafts and gifts, cards and more practical bits for hiking.
There is also a pottery gallery.
And eat one meal at the Truffle Pigs - hugely expensive but I had one of the best steaks of my life in there :-)
We will be back, and we will stay with Luc for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
13.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,443 reviews
12.2 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,766 reviews
3.7 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,128 reviews
11.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
18.5 mi away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadian Rockies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Rockies Inn

Address: 308 Stephen ave, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Field
Price Range: £63 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in the heart of the Canadian Rockies. For (( Adults Only )). Please be aware these are not basement suites. There is a $50.00 CAD for any cleaning during the stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Canadian Rockies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadian Rockies Hotel Field
Canadian Rockies Inn Canada/Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing