We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“$99 Ski+Stay package NOT worth it!!! This is a LOUISE STAFF DORMATORY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Great Divide Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Field
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“$99 Ski+Stay package NOT worth it!!! This is a LOUISE STAFF DORMATORY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

THIS IS A LAKE LOUISE STAFF DORM..... STAY AWAY... But more on that down below!

We booked this location following links and advice from the Lake Louise Ski resort's own website. It was advertised under "Accommodations" on the ski resort website. We booked the $99 per person Ski and Stay package, and I can say it is not worth the $25 per person a night that you basically pay (a Louise lift ticket is $75).\

Location - about 15KM past the Louise exit from the highway, a very reasonable place to stay with respect to distance from the Lake Louise interchange.

Room - We stayed in room #18. Small, no decoration. You get a double bed on the floor, IKEA nightstand and dresser set, curtains that do not match, a desk-lamp, and a 20inch TV. The hotel website said "newly renovated" this is a blatant lie, the only "renovation" was IKEA dresser and nightstand and a nice new yet tiny tiny tiny TV set. NO PHONE, NO ALARM CLOCK.... thank goodness my cellphopne could act as an alarm clock! The bathroom certainly was not renovated either as the tub and sink were classic 1960's green with layers upon layers of caulking around the tub holding it in place. Toilet lid broken. Plenty of towels, and they were clean, that was a plus! The floor was generally uncomfortable to walk on, very very old stained carpet with plenty of paint around their "renovation" paint-job of the walls. You could not take a step without the floor moving under you and making plenty of noise.

Dinner - The lounge was decent, but was clearly just a Lake Louise staff hang-out. If you want a beer and to watch the TV, you can be satisfied.

Pool - The sign out front said there was one... but good luck finding one!

Quality of sleep - HORRIBLE.... This "hotel" is nothing more than a dormitory for Lake Louise ski staff. Based on my observation of the parking lot, check-out, and the lounge I would estimate there were 2 possibly 3 "paid" guests including myself. At 5:30pm the party started when the Louise ski bus pulled up and offloaded about a dozen ski staff coming home for the night. Their party continued until approx 4am. Running up and down the halls opening and closing doors, yelling, laughing, full on conversations in the hallways. They treated it as exactly what this place actually is.... a dormitory for foreign ski resort workers.

THIS IS NOT.... NOT.... A PLACE FOR TRAVELERS WHO NEED A NIGHT SLEEP! This is simply a staff dormitory, and this alone is reason to stay away from this place. $99 a person including lift ticket sounds great, only $25 for the night basically.... but it is so not worth it. Spend the extra $25 a person and get yourself a real room at a real hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Icelandic_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    51
    42
    34
    31
See reviews for
50
83
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mikefsway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

Booking at relatively late notice, this was the only place near Lake Louise that we could afford (and at over well $100 a night it shouldn't exactly have been a dive). The view from the front of the hotel is great, but other than that it is pretty dodgy. Both rooms we had were dirty; the bathrooms especially hadn't been cleaned in some time (hairy and disgusting!). Otherwise the rooms were generally run-down -- paint spattered carperts, broken doors, etc. We complained and did get a slight reduction in the price -- the staff were helpful if unenthusiastic. The prices in the area mean that people wanting to stay in a hotel on a reasonable budget will probably have to stay here anywhere -- but be warned...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikefsway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Field hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

We were camping and it started raining. West Louise Lodge was cheap and the bed was comfortable. At 69$ a night you shouldn't expect luxury but it all you need is a clean bed to sleep in this is the right place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juststudying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

Room was freezing, snow in room from fireplace and windows with huge drafts. Was just the beginning, room was filthy, shower needed pliers to turn on, made our own beds which was kinda like home :) . These are just the more major issues that we had. needed to travel to Canmore Ab for a room in a snow storm just to get out of this place. Not worth $20 bucks a night, better off tenting at the base of the Lake Louise Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keepwarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

You wont be able to find anywhere less expensive in this area, with the exception of a hostel . It is an interesting stay. It was clean but with some hilarity. The sheets were too large for the twin beds in our room. Our room had a balcony but it was a nice home for the birds so it was covered in their poop. The staff were friendly and we slept well there.
Also it is my understanding that they run on there own generator and they also have a gas pump. At times surrounding communities will loose power and you might have a hard time finding fuel, go to the lodge.

Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ecotravelgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

On our way through the mountains and drawn in by the "ROOMS FROM $59" sign. Paid a little more than that for a room with 2 beds and a balcony overlooking the adjacent lake (AND THE #1 HIGHWAY UNFORTUNATELY)! Room was clean, free high-speed internet was an unexpected bonus considering the location. While the hotel seems clean enough, it's in desperate need of new carpeting and paint. No coffee in rooms, and limited hours in the cafe make getting a cup of coffee almost impossible. No phone in my room - went to front desk to inquire - apparently NONE of the rooms have phones? No alarm clock either. Bathroom also clean, but the yellow and green fixtures appear to be left over from the '70's and are in desperate need of replacement. Food is better than expected and portions are large, but serving staff are unattentive and apathetic. All things considered, I'd probably stay there again at the price, but it'd be a stretch to recommend it to others!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ride_hard_yyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

We stayed 4 nights wanting take in some of the local sights and do a little exploring in the area. Having 2 children and a modest budget, we needed a place large enough to accommodate our family that was also affordable. A room with a double bed with two singles was within our budget. The room, and the lodge, was modest and somewhat aged but clean and well maintained.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and suggested we visit Lake O’Hara for hiking which turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip! We were simply blown away by the awesome scenery and variety of trails. If you haven’t been there you simply must go. It’s pretty close by which is also nice. We also took a ride on the sightseeing gondola at Lake Louise which is another great thing to do if you’re in the area. The view from the top is spectacular, and we even saw a mother grizzly bear with 2 cubs!

We ate in the dining room several times which was quite good. The kids liked the pool and the sauna did its job.

Overall our experience at West Louise Lodge was enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank algard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
7.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
6.3 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
8.1 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
3.9 mi away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Divide Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Divide Lodge

Property: The Great Divide Lodge
Address: Hwy 1 - 14 km (9 mi) W of Lk Louise | Yoho National Park, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia, Canada (Formerly West Louise Lodge)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Field
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great Divide Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Kicking Horse Pass and Continental Divide in the heart of the Canadian Rockies. We are the gateway to 3 of Canada’s national parks and over look Wapta Lake on the British Columbia side of the majestic Canadian Rockies. We're just 10 minutes from the world class skiing and snowboarding at Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Great Divide Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Divide Hotel Field
West Louise Hotel
West Louise Lodge
The Great Divide Lodge Canada/Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing