We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the beaten path but worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yoho National Park

Yoho National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.16*
and up
Full-Day Whitewater Rafting on Kicking Horse River
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Field
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path but worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Since this park is so close to the fabulous Lake Louise I think some of the attractions here may be overlooked. The most spectacular for me was the Takkakaw Falls. There are many beautiful falls in the Rockies but this one has to be thousands of feet high and amazing in terms of the volume of water. It is an easy walk up to the falls. I enjoyed some big hikes but we are not young chickens and live at sea level so it was nice to have some easier outings. We stopped at Emerald Lake which was lovely and we saw a black bear on the hill in the distance. The natural bridge is also a beautiful place which also is not a big hike.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thorspecken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    41
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Beautiful area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The lakes and trails provide beautiful scenery and the trails have many levels of hiking.
The wildlife, so far, has been great--marmots and moose.

I will definitely return to make more discoveries.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pkrekeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“My favourite place in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Where do I begin. This is one of the most beautiful National Parks I have ever seen. The scenery is stunning and we visited as much of it as possible in the few days that we were there. We stayed in a log cabin just outside the park boundary so we would be close to everything. Emerald lake has a beautiful track around the lake and that is awesome. The small town of Field is also great as it has an information centre and some lovely little place to eat. When visiting this part of Canada you cannot go without a few days in Yoho NP

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank aussie_rose64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
182 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“For such a big park, not much access”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

For such a huge park, there isn't much public access. Other than side roads off the TransCan to a few hiking area and lodges/lakes.. There isn't much in the park to see unless you plan on back-country hiking/camping.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ravenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yoho National Park also viewed

Yoho National Park, Kootenay Rockies
Yoho National Park, Kootenay Rockies
 
Yoho National Park, Kootenay Rockies
Yoho National Park, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Yoho National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing