We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$382
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise(Lake Louise)
US$871
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$510
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Deer Lodge(Lake Louise)
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lake Louise Inn(Lake Louise)
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Post Hotel & Spa(Lake Louise)(Great Value!)
US$332
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
282
135
55
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
135
55
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kicking horse riverlog cabinadirondack chairspremier cabinyoho national parksister propertylake louisedeluxe kingdining roomcanadian rockiesfront porchtakakkaw fallsriver viewfire pithomemade granolabeautiful cabinwhite water rafting
Filter
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 502 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2007

Cathedral Mountain Lodge was a beautiful lodge. The cabins, though close together, are lovely and cozy. We stayed in cabin number 5 located on the river. The view was mostly obscured by the beautiful trees but still nice. It had a wood burning fireplace, very comfortable couch, chair, unbelievably comfortable bed, and an awesome bathroom. It was cozy, clean, and beautifully decorated. We spent three nights. On the fourth night we went to Moraine Lake Lodge but returned because we had no heat in our room, and we were put up in Cabin 25. A smaller, less expensive cabin. This was a Wapta cabin in the back and just as beautiful and actually gave more privacy. Smaller. And a gas stove instead of the fireplace. It was attached to another cabin so we had to be a bit quieter for the other guests sake. But we still loved it.! The staff was young and sweet and very helpful. Especially Kelly. I can't beleive the other reveiws complaining about the food. My husband and I both cook up a storm at home and their food was AWESOME. Pricey. But well worth a splurge. We didn't have appetizers or dessert but the you did not need it with the size of the portion. We ate dinner on two seperate nights, both getting someting different each night, and loving ALL of it. The chef is amazing.
As far as the complaints we read about the traffic noise and trains...we have to laugh. The trains were soothing, not loud at all. The traffic you can barely hear. We both slept like rocks.
Yes, it is a bit out of the way. But well worth the drive back home at night!! A+++++

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Moosinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

We wanted to love this place. The hotel's website made it look fantastic and we booked a cabin for two on the river. It was pricey - $416 a night - but it was my wife's birthday and it looked so wonderful. Until we got there. I can say without reservation that this was the most egregiously overpriced place we have stayed in any of the 17 countries we have visited. The cabin for two was really a shared cabin separated by a wall in the center. With the hardwood floors, you could hear every step next door and every word spoken. The site looked like an army bivouac in that the cabins are built on top of each other so that people behind you can watch you shower if you don't close the windows. The cabins were no more than 10-15 feet from each other like a YMCA camp. The river was over 200 feet from our cabin and obscured by brush, weeds and trees. We could not hear nor see it unless we walked through the jungle. The website does not show the TransCanada highway which runs along the property, meaning trucks downshifting and braking to get up and down the hills next to cabins all night long. Nor does the website show the train tracks for the Canada Pacific which regularly sends trains chugging up and down the mountain. There are absolutely no amenities in the rooms or what passes for the lodge. No television, no telephone, no pool, spa, exercise area, no common grounds and the lodge, such as it is, closes at 10 p.m. The cabins are tiny with a half refrigerator as the only thing resembling an addition. We could have lived with all this, if it weren't for the fact that we paid $416 a night and received essentially a bed in a tiny shared cabin with no view, lots of noise and surrounded by cabins and other miserable people. Unless you hate money and love crowded, noisy living, stay away from this @$%*& place!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank RalphKramden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights during our tour of the Rockies but I wish we had stayed longer! We were in a Wapta Queen Mountain View cabin which was extremely comfortable and had a private veranda with chairs which was lovely for early evenings. The view of the mountains was stunning and we could also see the river. The only downside is whilst the location is amazing it is quite close to Route 1 and the train line and you can hear both albeit faintly and not at all whilst inside with the windows shut.
The breakfast was generous and tasty - wonderful coffee. We did not eat in the restaurant at night, the food is very expensive and having read previous reviews, we did not want to risk it! We ate at the Kicking Horse Lodge in Field and can heartily recommend this instead.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2007

This was our second stay at the Cathedral Mountain Lodge and although not as enjoyable as the first, it was still a decent place for a few nights accommodation when exploring this stunning part of the world. The cabins are all well-appointed and cozy. Certainly not the biggest, but having stayed in other more basic units, there is no denying the comfort.

Since our previous trip in 2005, the Lodge has been completed and they serve a good buffet breakfast, in addition to offering lunch and evening dining. A useful option given the relative remoteness of the area.

The cabins are well maintained, of good standard and comfortable, but as with all accommodation in the Rockies, it's the scenery and landscape that really matters.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank merchants24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

Cathedral Mountain Lodge aims to be one of the trendiest cabin-style hotel in the Yoho-Lake louise area. The cabins and the main lodge are beautifully appointed and decorated and the staff are courteous and willing to help. This said, however, we found that this property had some serious drawbacks.

To begin with, its location is bad. Some of the cabins are right in front of the parking lot and too close to an electrical generator. At night it was unbearably NOISY. We needed earplugs to sleep. I always sleep like a log and on our first night was awaken several times by the constant brooooom from the highway, the trains and the continuous noise of the generator, which was simply unacceptable for a hotel that aims to have a selected clientèle (and charges accordingly).

We found the property was rather small for the quantity of cabins and that they were too close to each other. This property is sandwiched between the mountain, the road and the river and it felt a bit cramped.

We missed the peace and quietness (and the privacy) we were looking forward to and would have checked out for this reason if it wasn't that they charge $75 for each night you cancel if you check out earlier once you have checked in (we were not informed of this before doing the reservation)

We did eat at the restaurant several times and would recommend it if you want to splurge The food was delicious and well presented.

All in all, we would go back to the restaurant but would not stay in any of the cabins again and would definetly NOT recommend it as a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews