We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 29 June 2008

This hotel was actually fairly nice, but our expectations had been inflated by the hotel's description of the rooms having "mountain views". In fact, out view was of 6 other log cabins (although you could just about see the tip of a mountain from certain angles, over the top of the other cabins). The cabins were only a few metres apart and far from feeling private and secluded, it felt quite crowded. Our initial reaction was, therefore, disappointment.

Having said that, the staff were lovely, the room was actually very nice and well decorated (although small), and the main cabin was really nice and cosy with lovely views.

If it hadn't been so expensive, we probably would have been quite happy with the hotel. However, it didn't feel particularly good value for money.

The restaurant was very nice, but pricey and the menu was limited. We ate there once, but there was only one vegetarian option (we are both veggies) and whilst the waitress offered the mushroom soup without meat, no alternative main courses were offered.

However, there is a really nice restaurant in the village of Field (a couple of km away) called The Truffle Pig (attached to the Kicking Horse Inn) which I would recommend. It was much cheaper, very friendly and had a varied and interesting menu. I got the impression that a few of the other Cathedral Mountain Lodge guests felt the same way as us, as we saw them at the Truffle Pig.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EmmaM2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    130
    55
    22
    8
See reviews for
94
301
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2008

My wife and I stayed for two nights. Everything was Great, the location, the staff , and the food. I highly recommend staying here. We stayed 5/31/08 and 6/1/08. The weather was cool with some rain off and on. We slept with the windows open and under a comforter. I haven't slept that good in weeks.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2008

We stayed here towards the end of our Canadian trip. We booked this for five nights and the idea was to spend some quiet time relaxing in a lakeside cabin after a fairly busy two weeks doing Niagara, Vancouver, Jasper etc.

We were disappointed from pretty much the moment we arrived, and in the end stayed only three nights and spent two nights in Chateau Lake Louise. We would have left sooner but couldn't get another room immediately.

Firstly our expectations were very high. This was the most expensive of all our accommodations at CAD$484 per night for a Wapta Queen. We had expected a log cabin by a lake, big comfy bed, sofa by a fire, cosy evenings reading with a bottle of wine. What we got was half a small cabin near a river. It's terribly small inside the cabin: no room to put cases, tiny seating area, barely room to walk between the end of the bed and the wardrobe. Chairs not really good enough to sit in for an evening. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was very well fitted with excellent bath and shower, but the bathroom was really just at the end of the room - the other side of a sliding door from the bedroom - and afforded no privacy really. One single wardrobe, no chest of drawers, no bedside tables, no dressing table. It was very clean though.

We were looking forward to canoeing on the lake, but it turns out this is provided at Emerald Lake (near Lake Louise) which is a 30 minute drive away.

The restaurant/lounge is an impressive and huge cabin which also houses the reception area. Unfortunately they tried way too hard to build a reputation as a gourmet restaurant and it was both expensive, pretentious and had a very poor choice on the menu. For a cabin break it really should have been much more relaxed and friendly with just homely cooking perhaps but it just wasn't. And having only a couple of settees by the fire meant that you pretty much couldn't sit in the lounge area.

Field is an incredibly small town. Population 250. One shop/cafe (which is called the Truffle Pig) and is very nice for lunch - try the soup.

The main sight here is Takakkaw falls. Spectacular and worth the drive round the hairpin bend. The road is closed for much of the year and only opened on our second day there. Almost everything else worth seeing is a long drive away. Field is really fine for a day's visit, but that's it.

If you want a basic cabin for a night to explore the area this is just fine. If you want a week in a log cabin by the lake this just isn't up to it not least because there is just not enough room, and it's not comfortable enough (and there's no lake). Plus the fact that the only place to eat within a 30 minute drive is their restaurant. I'd say this is a 3 star and should be half the price.

  • Liked — The location - Takkakaw falls
  • Disliked — Amll and uncomfortable
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tanddEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2008

Awesome lodge, impeccable service and staff, and some great hiking that made us very weary (which eased my guilt about our indulgence in the dining room)...what's not to love. While it's a short hop from Lake Louise, it felt like you were a time zone away completely removed from what is surely a tourist trap extraordinaire.

We will stay here again without doubt, and enjoy our little cabin by the river and have the joy of watching elk walking right by our deck.

  • Liked — The chocolate bomb, a dessert to die for.
  • Disliked — No phones in the rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank torontotriptick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

nice room - but fireplace was a not as expected - a definate disappointment. room nice and clean. bathroom was standard. lodge is directly across from campground. highlight of lodge was the dining room - food was excellent. dinner there is a must. kinda off the beaten track. town of field - really nothing there. resturants are not worth visiting - better to eat at lodge or drive to Lake Louise

  • Liked — the dining room
  • Disliked — the fireplace
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoscratchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2007

Not enough superlatives available to describe our visit to the Rocky Mountains, and in particular this lodge. Our hosts in Canmore had recommended this spot as a good place to stop on our drive through the national parks. We orginially planned for a night and then to move on into Jasper, however after a great evening we opted to extend our stay for another day. Excellent food...outstanding staff while quite young were always enthusiastic and more than willing to help us with more suggestions for the remainder of the trip (the hike in Tonquin Valley was awesome). Our cabin the first night was on the smaller side with not a lot of room for our belongings however when we added our other night we were able to move to one of the larger units with a big stone fireplace. Great care has been taken in the rooms and it truly feels like our own snug cabin. While we can appreciate some of the limitations in a location like this I felt I missed some of the offerings of a normal hotel - room service would've been perfect.

Overall if you're looking for all the pluses of a big resort this is not your place, but if great converstaion with other guests and staff in a very relaxed setting (our dinner on the deck outside with the river below us was hard to beat) is what you want we'd say you can't go wrong. We will be back!

  • Liked — The atmosphere and the food
  • Disliked — Would've loved to have room service
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RockiesTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2007

Our room was lovely, comfortable and done out well, with a whole side made of glass looking out towards the mountains, and had the feel (to us Brits!) of a real log cabin. It was a good size with 2 chairs, a gas (fake log) fire (and even a real kettle!). That said, although we stayed in a Wapta King, Mountain View cabin (which is actually attached to another cabin), really, the view is mostly of other cabins; but you can still see the mountains and it was still nice sitting outside on the veranda. The cabins are packed in quite closely together.

However, the hotel is very close to the main highway and although you can’t really hear the cars, you can certainly hear the trucks and motor-bikes, and for my partner, who is something of a noise-freak, it meant this really wasn’t the tranquillity she had been expecting.

We made one complaint (on another matter) during our visit there and they handled that quickly and courteously.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank 2FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
9.8 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,674 reviews
11.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,350 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.6 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
11.0 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Property: Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Address: 1 Yoho Valley Road, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cathedral Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Timber Frame lodge located in stunning Yoho National Park on the banks of the Kicking Horse River; providing unsurpassed guest excellence and attention to detail while surrounded by the lovingly re-claimed Douglas Fir post and beams. If you love the great outdoors but also love luxurious comfort, Cathedral Mountain Lodge is your perfect Canadian Rockies destination. Allow us to indulge all of your culinary senses at our Riverside Restaurant and Lounge, featuring Western Canada's best in-season regional cuisine, complimented by our diverse well-crafted wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Cathedral Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Mountain Hotel Field
Cathedral Mountain Lodge Canada/Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing