We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real lodge in the mountains....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A real lodge in the mountains....”
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Yes this lodge may be on the pricey side but if you are looking for more than just a mountain lodge this is the place. We had a deluxe queen cabin that was located in the back of the property. The cabins have the true decor of the mountain theme and are very comfortable. We chose to dine at the lodge for 3 of our 4 nights and really appreciated the fine cuisine that the executive chef prepared. The continental breakfast is nicely presented and the fresh baked scones, cinnamon buns and other sweets were outstanding. The lodge is set right in between 2 mountains and on the Kicking Horse River. There is history to be learned about this area and what this lodge was once used for and why the river is called Kicking Horse. We are adventure travelers and hiked the Iceline Trail from the "Tak" falls as the locals refer to the falls. If you are up for the challenge this is the hike within the Yoho and Banff region. It is steep and takes 8 hours. You will be right at the glacier ice line on this hike. If you want to be where there is lots of action go to the tourist area of Lake Louse or Banff. If you want the serenity and calm of a mountain retreat stay here and appreciate what the owners of this lodge have created. Fine cuisine takes time to prepare so relax and enjoy. The staff were most pleasant. Granted this is a property that is costly but remember where you are - in the middle of the Canadian Rockies which is a long way from everywhere. Enjoy.

  • Liked — Cabins are well apointed and the location is very special
  • Disliked — No internet service due to the location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    129
    55
    22
    8
See reviews for
91
300
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Stayed for 2 nights in August 08 as part of the 2 national parks package, the previous 2 nights being at moraine lake lodge. Reception staff were very nice and wellcoming.

The location is good as a touring base for Yoho National Park, about 25 minutes from Lake Louise and very convienient to the highway, so ideal if you just want to pull in. However the noise from the highway can be heard in some of the cabins and the site is also next to the main railroad for freight trains so depending on your cabin it can be noisy at nights - we asked to move cabins as a result. I was expecting to have a more secluded location for the complex, and more 'away from it all' but this is not the case. The cabins are in a small area and our cabin did not have any special views and you do look onto other cabins unless you have a river view - but then you are also closer to the road.

However inside the cabins we found them to be lovely and very charming - both of the cabins we had were super clean and linens nice and fluffy towels - nice bathrooms (soaking tubs) and aveda toiletries etc. The cabins are real log cabins and its a bit like being inside a gingerbread house - and the furnishings are really nice and of very good quality. Initially we had a semi detached cabin with a queen bed (entry level room) which for us was too small and close to the road/trains (night noise) as once we had our suitcases in there was room for nothing else - the next night we moved to a luxury detached queen cabin which was perfect - large bathrooms with super soaking tub, sitting area with sofa and chairs, wood buring fire place and very spacious- nice deck to sit out on - however no view - apart from other cabins. The reception staff were very good - they gave us a complimentary upgrade and arranged to have our luggage moved whilst we went out for the day which we appreciated. Overall we liked the cabins, however the real disappointment was the famed dining room.

Firstly the dining room is a lovely room and a nice room to dine in - lots of wood and glass and high ceilings. Unfortunately the food was just OK nothing else - one of the party was vegetarian and the only option was a pearl barley risotto - as appealing as it sounds, and it was heavily overseasoned - a basic error I would not expect even in a 2* restaurant. Portions were very small , and service whilst nice was very slow - it took it 2.5 hours for 3 courses - and it was expensive - $200 for 2 courses for 2 people and a beer and a glass of wine and it was just not worth it - by the end of the entree we had had enough and left before desert. We complained about the lack of choice for veggies and to be fair the very nice lady on reception asked the chef to make something else for the next night and he agreed to make what ever we wanted - however by then we were very disappointed and only dined there the once. Instead we discovered a great 'alternative' indie cafe in Golden called Jita's, they do fantastic wraps and salads to take away plus hot dishes and curries to eat in so on our second night we had a picnic in our lodge which was great and a lot cheaper at $40 inc the very good bottle of wine! They also do great b/fasts and wonderful burritos. The Truffel Pig in Field was also recommended by other guests.

B/fast was a bit mixed - its all self service (cereals, yogurt, breads etc) with good choice and as much as you can eat but I would expect to have more of a waiter service for this sort of price - there were staff about but their response was very mixed. No hot dishes were available and no linens on the tables. However everything was nice and fresh.

Overall I would return to this place but only if I could get a bigger cabin away from the road/rail noise at a good rate and I would eat elsewhere. We also passed emerald lake lodge on one of our walks and that has a truly stunning location on the edge of a beautiful glacial lake surrounded by mountains and well away from roads - very 'away from it all' about 15 mins away from Cathedral - might be an idea for those looking for something in this area - we wished we had known about it as we would have stayed there as it would be a much better location for peace and quiet.

  • Liked — decor of cabins, bathrooms
  • Disliked — food and dining experience
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Premier Riverside Cabin is too expensive for what you receive. The value is just not there. Cabins are situated by the highway and campground, not secluded, location is a factor. The rooms are quite basic. After killing the numerous amount of flies and batting down the cobwebs from the inside of the cabin, we felt more comfortable. The menu was limited and pricey. The food was good but very small quantities. We ate else where after our first night there. The breakfast buffet was good but had to ask continually for dishes and replenishing of food. If the price per night was half of what I paid, I would consider staying again.

  • Liked — Fireplace and comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Value for your money
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CochraneCochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

The cabins here were lovely and It was probably my favorite lodging during our stay in the Canadian Rockies ( we stayed in a total of 4 lodges during our week) but the dining experience was a true disappointment. We had heard wonderful things about the food here from travel books but sad to say that it was mediocre at best. There was vitually no one in the dining room on the night we were there and yet the service was so slow that we waited nearly an hour for our appetizers to arrive. The dinners were bland and the portions really small. The server seemed largely disinterested and despite how empty the dining room was seemed rather busy elsewhere and we rarely saw him.

We only spent one night here during our trip but if we had stayed longer I'd have looked for a different restaurant to have dinner in.

  • Liked — gorgeous cabins
  • Disliked — dinner in the restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Cathedral Mountain Lodge is listed on Trip Advisor in the "specialty lodging" category and this is deserved. It IS a special place, and it was worth the splurge for us.

Besides the magnificent setting, the beautiful and perfectly decorated cabins, and the scrumptious breakfast buffet, we were thrilled to discover that our room rate included complimentary canoeing on Lake Morraine at the Lake Morraine Lodge (sister lodge of the Cathedral Mountain Lodge). Canoeing on Lake Morraine was our favorite memory of our recent trip to the Canadian Rockies. The lake and glacier-covered mountains are simply stunning!

We found the staff at the Cathedral Mountain Lodge to be very helpful and friendly. My husband left a jacket somewhere on the premises, and the staff did a "search", found it, called us, and mailed it back to us. We received excellent advice about accessible hiking in the area; we were traveling with my 81 year-old mother-in-law and we wanted to know which hikes would suit all of us. We took the picnic basket that was provided in our cabin and had lunch at the nearby waterfall.

Be sure to visit the charming town of Field. We ate at the Truffle Pigs Cafe; the food was quite good. While we were waiting for our table, we walked around the town. Dinner is also served at the lodge, and it smelled delicious...

I would return tomorrow to sit on the banks of the river and read if I could.....

  • Liked — the setting, the cabins and their decor, the extras included in the lodging rate, friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — I would have loved it if a golf cart had been made available to us at check-in. We arrived late at night, and it was very difficult to transport our luggage in the dark to our cabin. There are no trails to the cabins. It took numerous trips from the car to the cabin to unload.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyPAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

My wife and I spent two nights at Cathedral Mountain lodge in late June and loved it. We stayed in cabin #14, at the center of all the other cabins. The cabins were a great mix of homey cottages surrounded by nature, and luxurious rooms with high-quality linens and amenities. The staff were all very young, but still pleasant and professional, and the setting -- tucked beneath Cathedral Mountain, next to the Kicking Horse river, but just seconds from the highway -- was amazing. You're in easy driving distance to many great natural attractions. No phone/TV/internet, but that's how it should be.

Nearby: Takkakaw Falls, Emerald Lake, Moraine Lake, excellent hikes in the Yoho Valley (especially the Iceline)

Restaurants: the lodge's restaurant waa excellent. Field, a few minutes west, has Truffle Pigs and Cherchez La Vache, both less formal but very good

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LtDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2008

This hotel was actually fairly nice, but our expectations had been inflated by the hotel's description of the rooms having "mountain views". In fact, out view was of 6 other log cabins (although you could just about see the tip of a mountain from certain angles, over the top of the other cabins). The cabins were only a few metres apart and far from feeling private and secluded, it felt quite crowded. Our initial reaction was, therefore, disappointment.

Having said that, the staff were lovely, the room was actually very nice and well decorated (although small), and the main cabin was really nice and cosy with lovely views.

If it hadn't been so expensive, we probably would have been quite happy with the hotel. However, it didn't feel particularly good value for money.

The restaurant was very nice, but pricey and the menu was limited. We ate there once, but there was only one vegetarian option (we are both veggies) and whilst the waitress offered the mushroom soup without meat, no alternative main courses were offered.

However, there is a really nice restaurant in the village of Field (a couple of km away) called The Truffle Pig (attached to the Kicking Horse Inn) which I would recommend. It was much cheaper, very friendly and had a varied and interesting menu. I got the impression that a few of the other Cathedral Mountain Lodge guests felt the same way as us, as we saw them at the Truffle Pig.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EmmaM2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
11.0 mi away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
940 reviews
9.8 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,634 reviews
11.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
4.6 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
11.0 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Property: Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Address: 1 Yoho Valley Road | PO Box 40, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cathedral Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Timber Frame lodge located in stunning Yoho National Park on the banks of the Kicking Horse River; providing unsurpassed guest excellence and attention to detail while surrounded by the lovingly re-claimed Douglas Fir post and beams. If you love the great outdoors but also love luxurious comfort, Cathedral Mountain Lodge is your perfect Canadian Rockies destination. Allow us to indulge all of your culinary senses at our Riverside Restaurant and Lounge, featuring Western Canada's best in-season regional cuisine, complimented by our diverse well-crafted wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cathedral Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Mountain Hotel Field
Cathedral Mountain Lodge Canada/Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing