We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at the lodge on the opening day of the 2014 season (we didn't know this fact before check-in but it made us feel special). We adored our stay and the environment, and if this wasn't the tail end of our Canadian Rockies adventure, we might have cancelled other reservations to stay longer. The log cabins are beautifully decorated as befitting the environment. The room was immaculate with lovely toiletries, an electric heater that looked like a free standing fireplace (some units have real fireplaces) and all this on the bank of a gorgeous river. We had a delicious breakfast (included) and heard from others that dinner there was superb. Unfortunately, we had already made reservations elsewhere. Not to be missed are homemade cookies mid-afternoon. Erin, the manager, was attentive and eager to give travel suggestions. We would go back to Cathedral Mountain Lodge in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I'd request a working fireplace and river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjm4oh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

My fiancee and I decided to stay out here as part of a hiking trip. I wasn't entirely sold on the idea of the place but she really wanted to give it a try, so off we went. We could only get a small cottage with two single beds since it was a last-minute decision and everything else was already booked. The room was tiny - half of a small cottage - but was very clean, warm, comfortable, and quaint. Everything in and around the lodge is beautiful. Everything is well kept and there are a few places to walk beside the river, sit down, and admire the scenery. It's also a short drive up Yoho road to a number of scenic points and just a little further up to the falls. We both enjoyed the stay so much that we decided to hold our wedding at the lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here as part of a hiking trip and loved the cabin that was "Ralph Lauren" western with all the accoutrements. We had escaped a very hot Dallas summer and were enveloped by and entranced with the ambience in the setting. In the cold nights the cabin's fireplace and comfy down covered bed felt great. The food was quite good and the service friendly and attentive. The Lodge is very near a highway but you'd not realize it once you are on the property....it is nestled in the landscape so well. We will go here again!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank yellowrose13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I was here in 2007 and it was truly wonderful. It was the best place we stayed on the trip, by far, and worth every penny. The little romantic logdes had fireplaces, and the food in the stunning dining area was great. I hope they've even gotten better, because I plan to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

What an amazing place.. Arrived late after long flight and a bit of a delay as we got lost enroute !
Friendly staff waiting on hand to transfer our luggage to our cabin , whilst the chef had stayed beyond restuarant closing time to prepare a meal for us.. offered meal service delivered to our cabin or in restuarant..
The meal was delicious .. Our first experience of Bison....
Cabin was spotless, bed really comfy, wood burner .. luxury bedding / towels / toiletries provided.
Location pefect, views of Kicking Horse Mountain and River
Overall a great experience ,perfect for a romantic night , Treasured memories of agreat place with great staff.. well recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moondarra13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

my husband and were completing our all 50 states trip and traveled into Canada for a few days. we had been told about yoho national park. ( a real hidden gem) and we came across cathedral mountain lodge! we can not say how much we loved it, we spent a relaxing afternoon sitting in the chairs along side the Kickapoo river!! The log cabins were beautiful, no phones or television just the peace and quiet of the woods and river! Would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys the tranquility of the outdoors!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50statetraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had the wonderful opportunity to stay at Cathedral Mountain Lodge last summer. To say it was magnificent is an understatement. From the picturesque setting to the comfy cabins it is one of the gems in the Canadian Rockies. The staff was welcoming and could not do enough to make our stay memorable. If you are a hiker this is the place to be with trails just outside the resort. The quietness and serenity of this resort will recharge you and set your life on the right path.

The proximity to Lake Louise and Banff is excellent with many options for day trips and various things to do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 111Lizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
9.8 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,802 reviews
11.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,470 reviews
4.6 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
791 reviews
10.9 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3,334 reviews
9.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Address: 1 Yoho Valley Road, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Field
Price Range: £225 - £462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cathedral Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Timber Frame lodge located in stunning Yoho National Park on the banks of the Kicking Horse River; providing unsurpassed guest excellence and attention to detail while surrounded by the lovingly re-claimed Douglas Fir post and beams. If you love the great outdoors but also love luxurious comfort, Cathedral Mountain Lodge is your perfect Canadian Rockies destination. Allow us to indulge all of your culinary senses at our Riverside Restaurant and Lounge, featuring Western Canada's best in-season regional cuisine, complimented by our diverse well-crafted wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cathedral Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Mountain Hotel Field
Cathedral Mountain Lodge Canada/Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing