We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The individual log cabins in the woods made you feel relaxed and secluded. It was a wonderful break from all the hiking you want to do here in the Lake Louise/ Yoho area. We loved the individual porch with the adirondack chairs and the fire pit down by the river. The cabin was beautifully decorated and the beds were very comfortable ( we reserved the twin bedded room because the lodge is very pricey) but we did not have much room for our luggage. Breakfast was an extensive buffet and the dining room has wonderful views but for these prices the frittata should be different every day. Both mornings it was tomato and mushroom. How about some variety? The restaurant did have gluten free bread which is important for me because of my celiac's disease. Also, for these prices shouldn't the s'mores be included in the price and not cost an additional $10.00? All in all it was a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Go to Takakkaw Falls in the afternoon, we saw rainbows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoBah20th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Cathedral Mountain Lodge is a unique property - a collection of very comfortable log cabins (not rustic at all, but rather, upscale and well-appointed) in the forest along the glacial Kicking Horse River, in a deep valley between high mountains, all next to a central lodge building with wonderful wood beam architecture and an excellent restaurant. We have stayed here in 3 separate years, and have never been disappointed.

The location is a good one considered on its own merits, but also by contrast with the other alternatives in the Banff / Yoho / Jasper area. The town of Banff has many choices of lodging, but is a very crowded and "touristy" town. The Lake Louise area is smaller than the town of Banff, but again, is a major tourist hub with throngs of visitors. The Cathedral Mountain Lodge is "all by itself" in Yoho National Park, and is striking by how much comfort is provided in a setting that feels remote and unvisited. There is a campground nearby, but it is very quiet. The traffic on the nearby highway drops to nothing overnight, leaving only the occasional sound of the historic Canadian Pacific Railroad that snakes through the nearby Spiral Tunnels. Elk, deer and other wildlife frequently wander nearby. Despite the quiet location, though, the lodge is, if anything, better situated for seeing the parks than the town of Banff - it is centrally located, ready to drive either north or south after crossing the Divide.

The staff were uniformly friendly, helpful and accommodating - from the reservation process (quick, helpful responses to emails even during Jan. & Feb. when they are closed), through questions to the front desk, on to the staff in the dining room. Even staff we hadn't met, when we passed them on the path, had a friendly greeting for us.

The restaurant was excellent. We dined there every night and always commented on the flawless imagination, preparation and presentation of the dinner. The staff in the dining room were very helpful and friendly as well.

Both the cabins and the dining room may be a bit on the expensive side - but consider the value provided, especially in a remote location with the challenges in staffing and even power (they need to run their own generator - but no problems, never a drop in power or hot water). There were a couple small imperfections - e.g. a bit of slatework to repair near the fireplace in the cabin - but overall the property was well-maintained, clean, with a very inviting stained log cabins and central lodge building.

The only reservation we have in providing a strong recommendation is that it means more competition for future reservations!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is probably one of the best places I have ever stayed. The log cabins are very comfortable and have everything you need. The staff are amazing - so efficient and friendly. The service is first class. The food is gorgeous and the panacotta I had one night for dessert will stay with me for a long time. It is right by the river and we spent many evenings sitting there and saw deer crossing which was wonderful. There is an inside and an outside log fire in the restaurant which is great to sit in front of with a glass of wine before dinner. I am back home now and dreaming of when I can next return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed for two nights in one of the more modern cabins. The cabin was rather small and "cosy" with little room for luggage and hanging clothes. I would not like to stay more than two nights as would start to feel rather claustrophobic although the outside balcony was lovely. I am sure the bigger cabins would be better suited for a longer stay. The cabins are nestled in woodland and the lodge itself has lovely views over the mountains. The restaurant is excellent, with a good choice of food and wine. Excellent service for dinner although the breakfast service was rather slow with restocking of the self service breakfast, timing is everything, get there after a big party of people and there is very little left so patience is needed.

The reception staff were very efficient and friendly. Lovely walks from the Lodge and location is stunning. Would recommend for a very relaxing, peaceful stay.

Room Tip: Get a bigger cabin if you have two or more cases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Spent two nites at the lodge and it was great. Log cabin with fireplace and enough firewood to last the winter. It was early June and there was still a little snow in the surrounding mountains. Views were fantastic and the staff were some of the friendliest and nicest anywhere. Would highly recommend the location for anyone wanting to get away from the city.

Room Tip: No pool but rapid moving stream nearby for anyone inclined to swim. No fitness center but wood as so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mantasatnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed In Premier Cabin June 2014, a bit off season. We asked for a quiet cabin and are wishes were met.
We were welcomed with open arms by Sven who could not be more accommodating.
The whole atmosphere at CML is service-based for their guest’s comfort.
Ice brought to your room, ready to start fire nightly, which we definitely needed in June, everything you could want for luxury in the woods.
And yes we had fresh towels daily, even though we didn't expect it.
And room service, which is really nice for kicking back after a long day and not getting dressed for dinner.
I read some reviews about the noise from the train, the train is everywhere in the nearby parks but the train horn is so far in distance, I can’t believe it was even brought up.
The rooms are large, bed was comfortable, bathroom large and clean, large tub too!
It has all the ambience shown on their website.
The location is perfect for wandering around Yoho, Banff and Jasper Parks.
The only thing that was a negative, was the excellent menu and chef didn’t match the quality of the product(meaning fish, beef). I understand they have transport issue in this area and it was still early in the season.
But regardless of that issue I would definitely return to this area and this Lodge.
The staff really made our stay comfortable and memorable.
I hope I can get back here again soon.
EXCELLENT and I can be fussing

Room Tip: I only can recommend the Premier Cabin which we stay in...for a little extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

To be honest, I had very high-hopes for Cathedral, but I was left disappointed.

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Cathedral for part of our honeymoon. The room was small, but cute. No complaints about the room itself.

During our 4 night stay our room was only cleaned once, not a big deal, but we had to hunt down employees to get fresh towels. for the price we had paid, this shouldn't have happened.

The tea and cookies that were put out daily were great, but there often weren't enough. Also the breakfast was cold (twice).

The upside of the stay was that the running/hiking was truly amazing. We ran all the way up the access road to takakkaw falls since the road was closed, and it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauraultrarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
11.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,458 reviews
9.8 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,783 reviews
24.3 mi away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#9 of 17 in Golden
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
9.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
12.7 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Address: 1 Yoho Valley Road, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Field
Price Range: £226 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cathedral Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Timber Frame lodge located in stunning Yoho National Park on the banks of the Kicking Horse River; providing unsurpassed guest excellence and attention to detail while surrounded by the lovingly re-claimed Douglas Fir post and beams. If you love the great outdoors but also love luxurious comfort, Cathedral Mountain Lodge is your perfect Canadian Rockies destination. Allow us to indulge all of your culinary senses at our Riverside Restaurant and Lounge, featuring Western Canada's best in-season regional cuisine, complimented by our diverse well-crafted wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cathedral Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Mountain Hotel Field
Cathedral Mountain Lodge Canada/Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing