We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

After camping and staying in the backcountry we were excited to end with a little luxury. Reading other reviews I knew this was close to the highway. It makes it convenient to get to surrounding areas so that was not a concern. Everyone who worked there is very nice and welcoming. Loved building big fires in the room at night and soaking in the tub to heel my soar muscles after 20+ miles of hiking. Fantastic breakfast and afternoon tea. If the weather was better we would have utilized the use of free canoeing at their sister property to get more out of what we paid for. It is a expensive and not sure if we would stay here again because of that but had a wonderful time.
We opted for the premier cabin hoping for nice views but none were had, we were near the parking lot on the last row looking into all the other cabins.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Premier cabin which you would think has better views but we were on the last row clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWlivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    127
    54
    20
    8
See reviews for
91
292
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We spent one night here as a stopover en route to Jasper, but I wish we had had longer, as it was utterly charming and so relaxing. We had a well appointed comfortable cabin with a decking where we could sit and read or have a cuppa. The cabins are almost next to the river and there are chairs by the river as well. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and after dinner we sat by the log fire in the lounge and chatted with other guests. (If they are reading this, then thanks for the guide book you left us)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Excellent experience in a stand alone luxury cabin in the Canadian Rockies. Second visit in two yeas to this special place. Request one of the deluxe stand-along cabins that backs up to the forest (I believe it is cabin number 27). Breakfast is included in the room cost. Evening food service is outstanding. If you are looking to get away from it all in the most beautiful mountain area in North America, check out this outstanding property! Best sleep we have had in years!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

First off we really liked the design of the main lodge and the cabins. The staff was extremely helpful and very nice. But CML is way over priced for what you get. CML is located close to the highway and is not a back country lodge as the website leads you to believe. The cabins are close together or are duplexes and do not offer much privacy. You must shut all of your curtains or your neighbors can look into your windows. We could not open the windows to sleep because of the highway and train noise. There is no place to put our luggage except on the table. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was nicely appointed with a soaker tub and shower combo. We did not use the fireplace as this was our first time in civilization for days.

I believe I would have written a better review if the website had been more honest about the resort location and cabin placement, the s'mores were free, and the price a bit less. We paid well over $600 for the cabin and dinner with no alcohol. Arrived around 1900 out by 800.

As a business model CML needs to be reworked. I'd start with the requirements of half pension with a smaller dinner menu(hot breakfast extra); a dedicated, full service, bar area(paid of course); honesty on the website including the train; and an owner living on site.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

I had the opportunity to stay at Cathedral Mountain Lodge this month with my wife for three days of bliss. The cabins are genuine with their 'back woods' feel, the delightful(astonishingly good) restaurant and dining area as well as the lovely staff. We slept so comfortably after our incredible dinner next to our cozy fire. Kudos to Erin the manager, who catered to our ever desire and made sure our stay was perfect. Coming back next year. George.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cleo5244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Wonderful location close to the kicking horse river. Excellent diner and breakfast. The rooms are no very large but comfotable with nice seating outside. Rather expensive but there is not much worth while around; ideal place to visit Yoho NBP and combine it with Lake Louise and Moraine Lake. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

First off, this is a lovely place to stay -- well appointed cabins, clean, comfy, excellent beds, and located at a nice spot near a major Yoho river. That said, Cathedral Mountain Lodge is twice as expensive as almost any accommodation in Yoho, Jasper, or Banff Provincial Parks and in my view, it's entirely unclear why. My main complaint is that there simply are not enough employees working there. The front desk seems to often go unmanned, the phone goes unanswered, and the dining room staff rushes about frantically, both at dinner and at breakfast. Secondly, unless you have the foresight to make dinner reservations for the day you arrive (and you should, because there is exactly one other dining option within a 1/2 hour or more from Cathedral and it too books up quickly), you might very well not be accommodated because the dining room is small or maybe it's because they simply don't have enough staff working or maybe both. In any case, we were first told that they could not serve us dinner. After I complained, they then told us that our family of four (two adults, two children/teens) could be served but we'd be split into two different tables for a 9 pm seating -- rather late when there are children/teens involved. We eventually got fed. The food was quite good (and quite expensive). To their enormous credit, they gave us the "locals" discount (10% off the bill) because we were clearly annoyed.

The breakfast was pretty good, but the food buffet was constantly being depleted and the staff was extremely slow in replenishing it. Dirty dishes stayed on tables, the waitstaff was harried, one of them was rude. Oh, and if your child wants cocoa rather than tea or coffee (huh?), then you must pay for it as it is not included in the complementary breakfast plan. These may seem like petty grievances, but honestly, at over $400/night, do you think that they might be able to offer children appropriate breakfast beverages, like a cup of cocoa?!

One thing that was really nice was the bonfire on the beach which the staff will build if you ask. They offer bags of s'mores fixings ($10/bag, which makes 6 s'mores halves). The kids loved it and it was lovely to sit by the river and look at the Canadian Rockies and take it all in. Maybe that view itself makes this place worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bexoBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathMtnLodge, General Manager at Cathedral Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for posting your review of our Lodge. We are glad that we met most of your expectations. We are dismayed, however, that you felt we were understaffed and that dining availability posed a problem. We did have a large group visiting on your dates of stay and, while we advised you at time of booking and prior to your arrival to make dinner reservations, we will review how to better handle situations like yours in the future.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your experience further.

Safe Travels,
Erin Ellis
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
11.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
9.8 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
9.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
11.0 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
12.8 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Property: Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Address: 1 Yoho Valley Road | PO Box 40, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cathedral Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Timber Frame lodge located in stunning Yoho National Park on the banks of the Kicking Horse River; providing unsurpassed guest excellence and attention to detail while surrounded by the lovingly re-claimed Douglas Fir post and beams. If you love the great outdoors but also love luxurious comfort, Cathedral Mountain Lodge is your perfect Canadian Rockies destination. Allow us to indulge all of your culinary senses at our Riverside Restaurant and Lounge, featuring Western Canada's best in-season regional cuisine, complimented by our diverse well-crafted wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cathedral Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Mountain Hotel Field
Cathedral Mountain Lodge Canada/Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing