We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay will be back”
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Thoroughly our enjoyed ourselves on our third visit to the area. We love the proximity to the best that Lake Louise has to offer, but we've gone back because of where the hotel is situated - away from the craziness of Banff and the Lake Louise. The staff here have been nothing short of spectacular in there efforts to help us make the most of our stay. I'd say the food in the dining room while very pleasing is a tad over priced, but we inevitably eat there once and definitely enjoy the included breakfast. Would definitely recommend to those wanting to hike, relax and really getaway in this great part of the national park. Another recommendation - ask for one of the stand alone log cabins with the fireplace, more privacy and more room to stretch (literally) out after a days hike

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLynnandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    127
    54
    20
    8
See reviews for
91
292
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia Fields, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

I have mixed emotions about writing this review. We stayed one night and moved back to the Post Hotel in Lake Louise which we adored. The reason though was not that there was anything intrinsicly wrong with the accomodations- they were pleasant and the main dining area was nice and relaxing- the property itself is just a grouping of individual cottage "rooms" in an area without any additional amenities and virtually no views. The main reason for our discontent was that we were totally "unreachable" from the hours from 11pm until 6-7am. We were out of cell phone range and there was no one on or off site whose number we could give if, perchance, our children or elderly parents needed to reach us emergently. There was nothing to indicate that we would be inaccesible for a time period and when I bought it up as a concern when we realized this, the desk was rude and the general manager unhelpful. The Canadian police many miles away were the only point of contact. We stayed the night and left promptly the next day-

  • Liked — close to beautiful outdoor hiking
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sneeze3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2008

The website and brochures indicated an idylic and secluded getaway. Whilst the cabins were well furnished and comfortable the location next to a busy and noisy highway was a disappointment.

The setting was not as remote as the marketing information indicates. That said the location for touring the area (i.e. Lake Louise, Emerald Lake, etc.) is well placed.

The food in the restaurant was very nice however the service seemed to be overly formal.

  • Liked — Comfortable cabin
  • Disliked — Road noise
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
322 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

I was a bit sceptical about staying here as some of the reviews weren't great, having said that the same applies to most of the hotels in the Lake Louise area. Picking up some of the complaints in other reviews -

location : extraordinary that people can complain about this. Yes it's near the road but so what?! And yes you can hear the trains but in this part of the world where the train is linked to the history of the place I think that's quite nice! The views are stunning and the cabins are beautifully located.

Cabins being basic: well we had a deluxe queen cabin and it was very nice. Lovely bed, nice open fire and good furnishings. We also had a good porch where it was nice to sit out. Bathroom wasn't massive but it had a bath. One thing I would say is that for the high price there wasn't much in the way of little luxuries. I don't expect much, but for there only to be one type of tea bag in the room, no bathrobes and no nice bath products seemed a bit stingy. I was also annoyed that the hot water ran out so we couldn't have a hot bath. We did call maintenance but they never really solved the problem.

Dinner: Here is where I am utterly bemused. The setting and atmosphere in the dining room is simply stunning. I loved the chilled out atmosphere and the music. Service was absolutely superb and we had a fantastic meal. I can only think that the complaints are made by people who either have no taste buds or else like their plates so piled with food that they need a doggy bag to take away.

Overall this is a great place. We saw their sister property at Lake Moraine (where by presenting our receipt we got to go canoeing for free) and it wasn't nearly as nice or exclusive. Overall with a few more luxuries in the room and with more hot water it would have been perfect - as it was it comes pretty close.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Lack of luxury
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Yes this lodge may be on the pricey side but if you are looking for more than just a mountain lodge this is the place. We had a deluxe queen cabin that was located in the back of the property. The cabins have the true decor of the mountain theme and are very comfortable. We chose to dine at the lodge for 3 of our 4 nights and really appreciated the fine cuisine that the executive chef prepared. The continental breakfast is nicely presented and the fresh baked scones, cinnamon buns and other sweets were outstanding. The lodge is set right in between 2 mountains and on the Kicking Horse River. There is history to be learned about this area and what this lodge was once used for and why the river is called Kicking Horse. We are adventure travelers and hiked the Iceline Trail from the "Tak" falls as the locals refer to the falls. If you are up for the challenge this is the hike within the Yoho and Banff region. It is steep and takes 8 hours. You will be right at the glacier ice line on this hike. If you want to be where there is lots of action go to the tourist area of Lake Louse or Banff. If you want the serenity and calm of a mountain retreat stay here and appreciate what the owners of this lodge have created. Fine cuisine takes time to prepare so relax and enjoy. The staff were most pleasant. Granted this is a property that is costly but remember where you are - in the middle of the Canadian Rockies which is a long way from everywhere. Enjoy.

  • Liked — Cabins are well apointed and the location is very special
  • Disliked — No internet service due to the location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Stayed for 2 nights in August 08 as part of the 2 national parks package, the previous 2 nights being at moraine lake lodge. Reception staff were very nice and wellcoming.

The location is good as a touring base for Yoho National Park, about 25 minutes from Lake Louise and very convienient to the highway, so ideal if you just want to pull in. However the noise from the highway can be heard in some of the cabins and the site is also next to the main railroad for freight trains so depending on your cabin it can be noisy at nights - we asked to move cabins as a result. I was expecting to have a more secluded location for the complex, and more 'away from it all' but this is not the case. The cabins are in a small area and our cabin did not have any special views and you do look onto other cabins unless you have a river view - but then you are also closer to the road.

However inside the cabins we found them to be lovely and very charming - both of the cabins we had were super clean and linens nice and fluffy towels - nice bathrooms (soaking tubs) and aveda toiletries etc. The cabins are real log cabins and its a bit like being inside a gingerbread house - and the furnishings are really nice and of very good quality. Initially we had a semi detached cabin with a queen bed (entry level room) which for us was too small and close to the road/trains (night noise) as once we had our suitcases in there was room for nothing else - the next night we moved to a luxury detached queen cabin which was perfect - large bathrooms with super soaking tub, sitting area with sofa and chairs, wood buring fire place and very spacious- nice deck to sit out on - however no view - apart from other cabins. The reception staff were very good - they gave us a complimentary upgrade and arranged to have our luggage moved whilst we went out for the day which we appreciated. Overall we liked the cabins, however the real disappointment was the famed dining room.

Firstly the dining room is a lovely room and a nice room to dine in - lots of wood and glass and high ceilings. Unfortunately the food was just OK nothing else - one of the party was vegetarian and the only option was a pearl barley risotto - as appealing as it sounds, and it was heavily overseasoned - a basic error I would not expect even in a 2* restaurant. Portions were very small , and service whilst nice was very slow - it took it 2.5 hours for 3 courses - and it was expensive - $200 for 2 courses for 2 people and a beer and a glass of wine and it was just not worth it - by the end of the entree we had had enough and left before desert. We complained about the lack of choice for veggies and to be fair the very nice lady on reception asked the chef to make something else for the next night and he agreed to make what ever we wanted - however by then we were very disappointed and only dined there the once. Instead we discovered a great 'alternative' indie cafe in Golden called Jita's, they do fantastic wraps and salads to take away plus hot dishes and curries to eat in so on our second night we had a picnic in our lodge which was great and a lot cheaper at $40 inc the very good bottle of wine! They also do great b/fasts and wonderful burritos. The Truffel Pig in Field was also recommended by other guests.

B/fast was a bit mixed - its all self service (cereals, yogurt, breads etc) with good choice and as much as you can eat but I would expect to have more of a waiter service for this sort of price - there were staff about but their response was very mixed. No hot dishes were available and no linens on the tables. However everything was nice and fresh.

Overall I would return to this place but only if I could get a bigger cabin away from the road/rail noise at a good rate and I would eat elsewhere. We also passed emerald lake lodge on one of our walks and that has a truly stunning location on the edge of a beautiful glacial lake surrounded by mountains and well away from roads - very 'away from it all' about 15 mins away from Cathedral - might be an idea for those looking for something in this area - we wished we had known about it as we would have stayed there as it would be a much better location for peace and quiet.

  • Liked — decor of cabins, bathrooms
  • Disliked — food and dining experience
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Premier Riverside Cabin is too expensive for what you receive. The value is just not there. Cabins are situated by the highway and campground, not secluded, location is a factor. The rooms are quite basic. After killing the numerous amount of flies and batting down the cobwebs from the inside of the cabin, we felt more comfortable. The menu was limited and pricey. The food was good but very small quantities. We ate else where after our first night there. The breakfast buffet was good but had to ask continually for dishes and replenishing of food. If the price per night was half of what I paid, I would consider staying again.

  • Liked — Fireplace and comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Value for your money
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CochraneCochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
11.2 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
9.8 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
9.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
11.0 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
12.8 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Property: Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Address: 1 Yoho Valley Road | PO Box 40, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cathedral Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Timber Frame lodge located in stunning Yoho National Park on the banks of the Kicking Horse River; providing unsurpassed guest excellence and attention to detail while surrounded by the lovingly re-claimed Douglas Fir post and beams. If you love the great outdoors but also love luxurious comfort, Cathedral Mountain Lodge is your perfect Canadian Rockies destination. Allow us to indulge all of your culinary senses at our Riverside Restaurant and Lounge, featuring Western Canada's best in-season regional cuisine, complimented by our diverse well-crafted wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cathedral Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Mountain Hotel Field
Cathedral Mountain Lodge Canada/Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing