We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rocky Mtn Get away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rocky Mtn Get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2006

Spent a two night get away ,loved the atmosphere of the Log cabin and the quietness of the area. Really liked the fact that there was no TV or cell service.
The cabins were extremely well appointed and cosy.
The dining was excellent for both evening meals. Breakfast could have bben a litte more extensive.
We spent our evenings after diner around the outdoor fireplace chatting with fellow visitors (from California and Long Island).
We kept putting more logs on the fire and kept the conversation going for hours.
Relatives from Calgary visited the second night and enjoyed diner with us.
This would be an ideal place to do a family gathering in the late spring or early fall. Too bad it is not open for Thankgiving (Cdn Mid Oct)

  • Liked — Seclude setting
  • Disliked — Season not long enough
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PMHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    127
    54
    20
    8
See reviews for
91
292
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ct
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2006

We absolutely adored the new charming and luxurious cabins as well as the striking timberpeg main lodge at Cathedral Mountain. Our three children shared a spacious larger cabin, with high loft (steep ladder is not for little ones!). The cabins are decorated in rustic but luxurious twig furnishings with thick duvets and amusing decorative touches (like animal tiles in the bathroom and old fashioned skis and snowshoes on the walls). There are no TV's and also no cell phone service. Cathedral Mountain and Moraine Lake Lodge are "sister" hotels and we stayed at both. Cathedral is a much quieter spot, with somewhat less spectacular scenery than Moraine Lake, but very beautiful nonetheless, and completely away from crowds and tour buses. It is perfectly situated for Lake O'Hara and the beauty spots of Yoho National Park. Moraine Lake has smaller and more ordinary rooms, but spectacular views and truly gourmet dining (the food at Cathedral Mountain was very good but not as extroadinary as Moraine Lake).

  • Liked — rustic but comfortable
  • Disliked — no hot breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Book Lake O'hara bus three months prior to trip
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2006

We have just come back home from one week trip to Rocky Mountain. We stayed at Cathedral Mountain Lodge for 5 nights and spent very precious time. Log cabin was so nice and warm, and stone fireplace gave us very cozy and romantic atmosphere.
Unfortunately, the restaurant did not accept young child (our kid are 2 years old), but they were kind enough to bring our dinners to our cabin. So we enjoyed our meals in the private dining with crackling logs at the fireplace.
Just two things need to be improved.
First, there was a very limited menu for dinner (3appetizers, 3 entrees, 3 desserts, and a few daily specials), which did not change during our stay (don't worry, quality of foods was excellent!). After 2 dinners, we had to go out for different menus.
Second, we enjoyed breakfast provided by buffet style. If there were a few more cold hams or salamis, it would be great. Actually, we bought cold ham and salami at a supermarket in Banff (1 hour drive from this lodge), and enjoyed breakfasts in our cozy cabin.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay there, and wish to come back again in near future.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2006

On our trip from Banff to Jasper N.P. we took a little detour and stayed for one night at the Cathedral Mountain Lodge. To our astonishment it was
not really situated in the "wilderness" but just 3 minutes away from Hwy.1 ! Although the way the lodge is build makes you feel a little bit like livin´ in the woods. We got a log cabin with a loft which was really nice. I can imagine that especially in winter it must be a very cozy place to stay. The only small problem beside the proximity of Hwy 1 is that there is no real variety in dining.There are only few restaurants in Fields which is about 10 minutes by car. Try the the Trufle pigs Cafe which was ok for us.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2006

Just finished going over our photos from our Canadian rockies trip last summer, I felt that I should mention how much we enjoyed the trip as a whole, but especially how impressed we were with this lodge. Everything was bang on; from the manager to the housekeepers who ensured our cabin was spotless and would leave little personal notes about their favorite hikes in the area. They were just putting the finishing touches on what looks to be one of the most impressive small lodges we've seen in a long time, and I have to say we're looking forward to another visit. Highly reccomended to those looking for a quite place to unwind and enjoy the mountains without all the crowds.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2005

We stayed here for 6 nights during our honeymoon in July 2005 and found it fantastic if a bit isolated - which was also a benefit as it wasn't swarming with tourists.

We were in a loft cabin near the river and it was very clean and comfortable.

The lodge was closed as a new one was being built so you had to collect breakfast in a picnic basket and bring it back to the chalet - a practise they should continue once the lodge opens.

Having a real log fire was also a highlight.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeff.l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2005

We have just returned from a 10 day trip to the Rockies. The Cathedral Mountain Lodge & Chalets was our favorite stop and we can't wait to go back. We stayed in a loft cabin by the river. The cabins have everything you need, including a large supply on firewood, a basket to bring breakfast back to room and warm throw blankets. Everything is top of the line, from the linens and soaps to the gourmet food at the lodge. The staff is very helpful in finding activities and places to eat. It's a great location for those who plan on hiking. For those who miss having a TV, you can always rent movies from the gas station in Field and view them on your laptop.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Felixx9995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
11.1 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
9.8 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
9.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
12.4 mi away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
10.9 mi away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Mountain Lodge

Property: Cathedral Mountain Lodge
Address: 1 Yoho Valley Road | PO Box 40, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cathedral Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Timber Frame lodge located in stunning Yoho National Park on the banks of the Kicking Horse River; providing unsurpassed guest excellence and attention to detail while surrounded by the lovingly re-claimed Douglas Fir post and beams. If you love the great outdoors but also love luxurious comfort, Cathedral Mountain Lodge is your perfect Canadian Rockies destination. Allow us to indulge all of your culinary senses at our Riverside Restaurant and Lounge, featuring Western Canada's best in-season regional cuisine, complimented by our diverse well-crafted wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Cathedral Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathedral Mountain Hotel Field
Cathedral Mountain Lodge Canada/Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing