We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant ”

Mount Burgess Dining Room
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 12/3
20:00
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Field
Price range: US$20 - US$43
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our dining room, lounge and bar offer you CRMR’s famed Rocky Mountain Cuisine – the roots of which go back to the hearty meals prepared by European mountain guides and the lavish Victorian cooking from early CPR rail cars. Our wine list received the coveted Wine Spectator “Best of” Award of Excellence in 2004 and boasts over 400 outstanding local and international selections. In 2013, our wine list received a gold medal at the Vancouver International Wine Festival. Whether your days at Emerald Lake Lodge are spent adventuring in the mountains or curled up beside a roaring fire, the dishes served in the dining room are designed to nourish and comfort you during what promises to be a memorable stay.
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

This had great food with a variety of choices including for vegetarians. Everyone really enjoyed their meals, I especially liked the Orange and Olive cake I had for desert.

The wine was all very good but I would say it is all quite expensive.

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank Anansi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 117 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2016

We booked a room at the emerald lodge as a last minute place to stay, it was dark when we arrived so we had no idea the amazing surprise we were in for in the morning. I’d give the lodge its self and the location a 15/10 if I could but breakfast was a completely different story. Through the restaurant was empty beside one or two tables we had to wait for quite a while to be seated. The waitress wasn’t overly friendly, didn’t seem to know a lot about the food (maybe new), we had to get her attention any time we wanted something since she didn’t come check on us. The food was very over priced for what we got and didn’t even taste that great. I ordered a side of lodge potatoes and back bacon, the lodge potatoes were deep fried to the point of being so crunchy they were hard to eat and the back bacon was just three tiny over fried pieces of thin dried out ham. My partner had the wild mushroom omelet that was watery, flavorless and had hardly any mushrooms in it. As we were leaving we noticed what look like it could have been a continental breakfast or buffet that no one had mentioned anything about though it was very small and didn’t look very appetizing. There were a few buns, orange cheese, tomato slices and some sandwich ham. We’ve stayed at cheap hotels who have at least had fresh muffins, make your own waffles, sausage, oatmeal etc.

We will for sure be going back to this lodge again but next time we will bring our own food.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank summerlynn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, General Manager at Mount Burgess Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2016

Hello Summer Lynn,
Thank you for your detailed and honest feedback regarding your recent breakfast experience at Emerald Lake Lodge. We will pass on your concerns with both the kitchen and service teams, a perfect training opportunity for new summer staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016

We ate dinner here twice and breakfast 3 times during our long weekend visit. Food was excellent on all occasions, service was friendly, attentive and well paced. Many tables have a good view of the lake.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank 17KAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Dinner was excellent! The food and service were first class. Breakfast was OK and the service was terrible.

Date of visit: February 2016
2  Thank SueBedier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagement, Manager at Mount Burgess Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Hello SueBedier,
Thank you for providing an excellent dinner review, and for informing us of contrary service at breakfast. We hope to welcome you back in the near future with an improved daytime experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Great restaurant with amazing food and amazing views! We were here for a wedding and the food was delicious. I highly recommend this place!

Date of visit: July 2015
1  Thank stephers_yang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Mount Burgess Dining Room also viewed

Yoho National Park, Kootenay Rockies
 
Field, Yoho National Park
Field, Yoho National Park
 

Been to Mount Burgess Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.