We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary”
Review of Fireweed Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Field
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fireweed Hostel
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Of all the parks in Canada my favorite was Yoho, and one of the best experiences was spending the evening in the town of Field. Great dinner at the pub and then a great evening in the cleanest and most comfortable hostels I've ever been in the world. In fact, I think it is much better than most of the hotels I've ever stayed. It's so clean you could eat from the floor.
Excellent stay! Very convenient for families who look for quiet, cozy places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurviaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
22
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Warm, friendly home away from home. This place is not your average hostel. Owners Craig and Kim have put a heap of effort into making this place a fantastic place to stay in the rockies. Craig is extremely understanding of a hikers needs. He offered a place to dry off tents and hiking gear before we even asked. The Kitchen is well appointed and the lounge area is the perfect place to chill out and unwind from your day hikes or a multi-day hikes. HIGHLY recommended for hikers and non-hikers alike.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This place is immaculate! Kim and Craig are very helpful hosts, they don't live on the property but they must live close by. If you need anything during your stay, just use the walkie talkie and one of them will show up in 2 minutes. This is shoes-off hostel, the rooms are upstairs and living / dining area and kitchen are on the main floor. Parking is around the corner of the building. We stayed in a 4 bunk bed room and there are 2 bathrooms and 2 showers shared between 2 room?! something like that. There's also a half bathroom in the main living area. Everything is super clean and kitchen has all the necessary tools to have a good home cooked meal. Buy your groceries before you get to Field, the grocery store there is tiny! The trains didn't really bother me, actually didn't even noticed them during our 2 night stay. But if you need ear plugs, just ask the hosts. It is a bit pricy for a hostel, but everything around Banff and Lake Louise is pricy, so this is probably your best bet if you are looking to save monies. We did the Iceline hike while in Yoho and it's got superb views, highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silly_traveler_hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Three of us had been struggling to find economical accommodation near Lake Louise and were put off my the chaos and noise of the Lake Louise hostel. We took a chance at the Fireweed and were very impressed with this small, modern hostel. It is not a backpackers hostel but caters to families or travelers who value a quiet, well run hostel rather than a place "in the middle of the action".
Fireweed's main floor consists of a modern kitchen, outdoor patio, dining area and sitting space. Upstairs are four rooms with bunks. Downstairs feels like you are a guest at someone's house. Upstairs has two modern bathrooms/showers. The disadvantage is that if you are not a party of 4 or 5 you may have to share the room with a stranger.
We loved Field and will stay at this hostel again - it is close to all the best hiking in Yoho National Park.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the railway tracks and if you don't find trains romantic you might want to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria-Enrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We arrived at Fireweed Hostel after spending a night at the HI in Lake Louise. In comparison, Fireweed is newer, cleaner, slightly smaller and with lots more charm. Craig (the owner of Fireweed) personally greeted and showed us to our room (with full sized bed and down comforter) and then to the spacious living room with fireplace (ready to light) and a clean, very well stocked kitchen. The extras (crazy slippers to wear - it was a no shoe hostel, waffle maker, wine glasses, local hiking and attraction advice given by Craig) made Fireweed a step above a B&B and more like you were in a home. Craig went out of his way to make us feel welcome (he placed guests on our second night in his other rooms to give us more privacy, talked with us extensively about suggested travel and was very friendly) and we enjoyed our time there. The town of Field was quiant but a good stepping off point to explore Yoho National Park. We have stayed in many hostels, hotels, and B&Bs around teh world and Fireweed really was the best hostel/home we have stayed at. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aj_betrothed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt am Main
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed in a private room (which was essentially a room with three bunk beds just for the two of us) for two nights and simply loved the Fireweed. The owner is very nice and has loads of tips for hiking Yoho National Park. The kitchen is the greatest! Very clean, fully equipped, new appliances, a lot of storage space for your own food and not the usual accumulation of random dishes that look like they've been picked up at various garage sales. And what we've come to appreciate after staying in hostels around the world - the Fireweed features clean (and dry) kitchen towels that do not disgust you when you're wiping off your stuff. Right next to the kitchen is the cozy living room with a fireplace, iPod docking station, comfy sofas and a barbeque on the patio. The whole hostel is probably not older than a couple of years. There's nothing worn down, everythink looks very looked after and cared for and that's also how this place is treated by its guests. Shoes have to be left at the reception, where slippers are offered. And the shared bathrooms with their stylish, rectangular sinks remind you of an upper-class hotel rather than a hostel. In all, we enjoyed our stay very much and highly recommend this place to anyone. However, as mentioned in the headline: it's not the cheapest. But then again, Field is a top location right in Yoho NP, and there's very few places to sleep there. And the Fireweed's definitely worth the money!
Two words of caution with regard to Field itself: The little town is dominated by a switch yard for freight trains and they do a lot of switching at night. The trains didn't bother us at all, since it's not really loud - but people with a very light sleep might consider not staying in Field. But that's not something that's peculiar to Fireweed Hostel, you'll hear the trains from anywhere in Field. And one other thing: Stock up on your supplies before you get to Field. The town just has a little (though well-stocked) general store, but groceries are more expensive there.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schobbepetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed in the Fireweed Hostel on our way to Banff and it was a great place to stop and explore Yoho National Park. The rooms are light and clean, and the beds extremely comfortable. The showers and toilets are also really nice! The hostel has a huge, well equiped kitchen and large seating area, as well as a balcony area for seating outside to enjoy the surrounding mountain views. Many people staying here were hiking in the surrounding area so a good place to find out about the best trails to take.
Only down side is the noisy rail track that runs alongside Field town. Being a heavy sleeper it didn't bother me so much but my partner got woken up a few times.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
12.1 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,681 reviews
13.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,354 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cathedral Mountain Lodge
3.7 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
11.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireweed Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireweed Hostel

Property: Fireweed Hostel
Address: 313 Stephen Avenue, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Field
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique style hostel, new in February 2007. High quality accommodation in the Canadian Rockies, hostel is located in the town of Field, Yoho National Park and has is central to the four national mountain parks, Banff, Jasper, Kootenay and Yoho. Close to amazing sights and year round activities and has direct access to many classic hikes (including the Burgess Shale fossil beds) and cross-country ski trails. Private and shared accommodation, living room with wood burning fireplace, self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fireweed Hostel Canada/Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing