We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small town, Great Location, Very good Guest house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Field
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Stephen Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 6 Field B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Field is a very nice small town located at a wonderfull location close to many of the interesting points in the canadian Rockies. The suite very nice, clean and equiped well. It is just what you need for a stay of number of days. Kim and Craig Chapman were very kind, flexible and gave good advices with regard to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OfferWeiss_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Mount Stephen Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed here in August and used it as a base for hiking. My brother and his wife had the second suite. The accommodation consists of two basement suites each with a kitchen. This makes breakfast very easy. For dinner you can cook in or visit the Truffle Pigs Restaurant which is just down the street.

The couple who run the inn are friendly and offered great advice about hikes. One hike we would commend is to see the Burgess Shale Fossil Bed which can be booked through parks Canada.

All in all our stay at the guesthouse was great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellingfamily287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed here three nights in mid Sept. 2012. We had the basement room closest to the road. Very nice , comfy bed, nice satilite TV, good kitchen and quite. We met the host once at check in. Paid up then and never saw them again. Got some advice at checkin on things to do. Buy your food supplies ahead of time though. Used this location to visit sites in Yoho. Went to Lake O'Hara one day, highlite of entire trip. Ate at the Truffle Pig, most expensive steak I ever ordered. $38 bucks but it was good. One note on the exchanging US dollars for Canadian. Go to any casino, they don't charge any exchange fee. Don't gamble but exchange your money and leave on your journey.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveNoffke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

Mount Stephen is spot on. Lovely basement apartment with comfy bed full kitchen fully equipped and a pleasant lounge. Can't think of any way to improve it. Just felt a bit strange not seeing the owners, let ourselves in and left payment after our 3 night stay. Field itself is a delightful village in a wonderful setting and very handy for Yoho park sights.
Whatever you do bring everything with you for all your meals. Only shop closed on our October visit. Tried the one restaurant once. Some like it some don't. We didn't most expensive and worst meal of our entire trip. However some people obviously like "gourmet" food and will enjoy it. Everyone's different. Back to the apartment, great.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WandererPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We loved this place, a great alternative to expensive Lake Louise. There are two apartments, private, spacious and clean. Ours had a big room with full kitchen, big-screen TV, table, chairs, and couch, plus a separate bedroom with a comfortable queen bed and a nice bathroom. Kim and Craig are friendly, helpful hosts. We brought lots of food with us from the Canmore Safeway – no big market here. Road crews are presently (August 2012) widening the TCH Rt. 1 highway in the Lake Louise area, but traffic was always moving. From here you go over a mountain pass to Field, which you hardly notice as the road is so well-built and wide. From Field, Yoho Park sights are minutes away, Lake Louise is 20 minutes, Moraine Lake is 35 minutes, and the area of the Icefields Parkway where you find Num-Ti-Yah Lodge/ Bow Glacier Falls/ Peyto Lake/ Helen Lake is 50-60 minutes away. Rafting on the Kicking Horse River is nearby. We stayed five nights and had plenty to do every day. We paid $140/night, with no taxes, a great summer bargain for the Rockies. We were surprised that we could not hear the trains or the highway traffic at all in the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Friendly hosts, simple and spacious accommodation offering great value for money - Just have to know that the apartment located at the basement.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed here for a few nights on the final leg of our trip between Vancouver and Calgary. We couldn't believe how big the apartment was considering the price and it's a great location as a base to explore. It was clean and cosy, with all the basic home comforts we wanted. I agree with previous posts, stock up on food before you arrive as there's no big stores in Field. If you have food, the kitchen is well equipped with the basic tools you'll need for all you meals. If not, there's always Truffle Pigs just down the road!

Overall, warm and friendly hosts, simple and spacious accommodation offering great value for money - we'd definitely stay again if we were in the region.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 19Kat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Field
13.6 mi away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,401 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Great Divide Lodge
12.1 mi away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
0.1 mi away
Canadian Rockies Inn
Canadian Rockies Inn
#1 of 6 in Field
72 reviews
3.7 mi away
Emerald Lake Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Stephen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Stephen Guesthouse

Address: 304 Kicking Horse Avenue, Field, Yoho National Park, British Columbia V0A 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Yoho National Park > Field
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Field
Price Range: £45 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse offering two spacious, attractive fully self-contained suites with private entrances, and all the comforts of home. Guesthouse is located in the town of Field, Yoho National Park and has is central to the four national mountain parks, Banff, Jasper, Kootenay and Yoho. Close to amazing sights and year round activities and has direct access to many classic hikes (including the Burgess Shale fossil beds) and cross-country ski trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Stephen Guesthouse Canada/Field

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing