We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not to be missed”
Review of Basalt

Basalt
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Howick
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had great fish and chips and fantastic hot stone kebabs, all at a reasonable price with good service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Figgysfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    42
    10
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“very good”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We went to basalt on a Friday evening. Although they were full they had some space in the bar.
The waiting staff did well to remember we were there as we were sat around the corner but service and food were very prompt.
We choose two dishes from the stone grill menu, scallops and bacon and the eye fillet. both were very enjoyable. My only comment would be it is hard to eat. maybe a side plate to take your food off so as not to over cook would have been better. Its quite hard to cut an unrested steak on a roasting hot grill.
we also had the ice creams which were great.
Well done.. best by far in this area

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I have just moved back to the uk from living in Howick and this was my best place, when my family came this is where we went and often. Staff great, we ran after a man who left his wallet and gave it back, the waiter saw and gave us free drinks. Food is great also

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walshdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome spot to catch up with friends”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is a great pub - a wide variety of beers and wine, excellent food (don't miss the fillet) and a warm friendly ambience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chasmAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Lunch with the girls. The fish and chip special is great. Good service, always busy, enjoyable lunchtime dining.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basalt also viewed

Howick, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Howick, Auckland Region
 

Been to Basalt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing