We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Mozaik Cafe

Mozaik Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Attentive staff and management who were very accommodating to food and seating requests, both indoor and outdoor settings, shaded and unshaded seating, good food selection, excellent coffee, pricing was in the upper range but food quality was excellent. A complimentary Turkish delight was a nice touch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyretalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    15
    5
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Coffee & Great Service”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have now had several visits to Mozaik Cafe in Silverdale, the reason being Great Coffee & Great Service!

The Cafe is run like clock work. Has the most amazing and friendly staff, who stop & chat & always go the extra mile for patrons.

Whilst I am yet to eat here, I can thoroughly recommend their coffees, for being 100% well made!

Mozaik Cafe in Silverdale is far superior than Mozaik Cafe, Orewa!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good - no complaints”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We've been to the Hamilton branch before, and went here as they have an extensive menu selection. The food was very good, with good portion sizes. The service was attentive and prompt. Pricing is at par with similar establishments. Note: the website states hours as 07:00 till late, but a sign on the door states hours as 7am to 5pm on some days (not 100% sure which days, perhaps better to phone ahead if you're planning on having dinner).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mala1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disgraceful kitchen service, although well handled by management”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Let’s say you order a chicken and mushroom omelette. It turns up as a pancake-like yellow egg patty with separate piles of chicken and mushroom beside it. Umm... no that’s not an omelette. You send it back asking for a proper omelette as per menu. What would you expect to get back? A freshly cooked dish with everything cooked together, right? Wrong. What we got back, 1 minute later, was staggering – the chicken and mushrooms had simply been put back inside the slab of egg which had been folded over the top of it.

While the cafe management apologised and didn’t charge us for this culinary insult, I just can’t get past the arrogance and disrespectful attitude of the kitchen staff to do this to a customer.

The issue was caused by a misunderstanding to start with, and I can forgive that easily, however the solution to the problem was just a disgrace. Coupled with the cold fries that everyone was served, it was an embarrassing experience given that we had taken visiting family there, our treat.

What the cafe did right was to accept responsibility and offer a discount on the whole meal ticket, plus a free piece of cake. Credit for that – it avoids a one-star review - but I still can’t understand the rudeness of the kitchen staff to do what they did in the first place. I hope the person who did that is not working in the Mozaic Silverdale kitchen next time I visit.

Other experiences at this cafe have been mostly positive... but this was a bit red mark.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coralkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“cilcain”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is my third visit for lunch, first time excellent, second time the cottage pie was not up to scratch but we didn't complain, third time sent the steak and mushroom pie back - heatedi n the microwave and pastry so soggy it was hard to cut and the meat was tough and not very tasty. I have to say the service is extremely good. I chose another meal which was very nice. I think perhaps they need to look at their pie making.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mozaik Cafe also viewed

 
Silverdale, Auckland Region
Silverdale, Auckland Region
 
Silverdale, Auckland Region
 

Been to Mozaik Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing