We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ambers Luxury B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Silverdale B&B and Inns
Scheveningen, The Netherlands
1 review
“very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We had a really great time here. The house and the land is beautifull. I made a lot of beautifull pictures. we really liked the waka breakfast. It's a fruitsalade displayed like a maori kano.

G&D you are the best!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Many thanks Lotte for a great review. We loved having you here to stay and are glad your trip back to Europe came off without a hitch. Perhaps we'll see you next year - we'll look forward to it!! Gerard & Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Interlaken, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

On our 4 week trip through NZ north and south islands we were lucky to find this place. Thank you, Diane and Gerard, for this extraordinary stay in your beautiful house, thank you for the friendly welcome, for helpful advice to plan some special excursions in your region, for the outstanding breakfast table, for a well working WiFi and for all the interesting conversations. We will surely be back at this lovely place, whenever we will be in NZ again. Droli & Andi Baumgartner from Switzerland

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Droli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Hello Droli & Andi! What a wonderful review you've submitted on your visit to our B&B! We are very grateful for your many positive comments and look forward to welcoming you in our home once again!! Safe travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

My husband and I spent a night at The Ambers for our 40th anniversary. It was our first expeience at a B & B and we both truly feel that we have experienced the best.
From the moment we arrived we felt so welcome and totally at ease.
We enjoyed a drink outside under the grapevine (coffee for him - wine for me) and felt like we were back in the Loire Valley in France again.
Gerard and Diane do the little things that make you feel special like Diane on finding out my husband was of Greek heritage put some Greek music on for us.
It was of no surprise to us that breakfast was as stunning as everything else.
Diane also has some lovely jewelery which tempted me to buy a couple of necklaces and I am so pleased I did as when I wear them it reminds me of our wonderful anniversary experience.
Thanks Gerard and Diane

Room Tip: We chose the Regency room but I am sure the other rooms are of the same quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you for your kind words, Jackie and Graham! They are greatly appreciated! We are very happy to read that you both enjoyed your anniversary and hope to see you again sometime - safe travels in the meantime!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here on a previous visit to New Zealand from the UK. We were warmly welcomed back by Gerard and Diane and it felt like coming home. Our room, the Blue Room, was lovely, beautifully decorated and furnished, the bathroom large with bath and separate shower. The breakfast was wonderful with a fresh rose on our place mats to welcome us.Gerard and Diane are the best of hosts, friendly, helpful, and infinitely welcoming. We went there, we went back, we'll go again.

Room Tip: All are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthAbingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you Ruth and Ian! Your very positive words are hugely appreciated! We really hope to welcome you again some time! Sorry to say one of our Japanese guests on 6 January filled the bath in the attic and went to sleep afterwards, flooding the entire house and ruining the wallpaper in the Blue Room. However, every cloud has a silver lining and our insurance has brought everything back to normal and has allowed Diane to choose an even more spectacular wallpaper for the Blue Room. You'll have to come and see it sometime soon!! Much love from Di and Gerard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

The B&B has two extras besides the great room
1- It is in lovely garden/park where the english style is excellent combined with the french style
2- The fantastic breakfast that Gerardus will prepare with all his pleasure for you

The room and the whole house are with lots of love decorated by Diane. The room we had was large, however the bathroom was in relation quite small

PS Don't forget to play with and to hug their dog Wulf - a German Sheperd, he will love it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Over-en-Naar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Oh that's wonderful! We love it that you appreciated the setting and enjoyed my breakfast!
Diane really has a good eye for interior design but it takes people like you to see and appreciate it! Much love from us and in particular Wolf; he's looking forward (as we are!) to your return!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We had a wonderful time at The Ambers! Gerard and Diane were friendly, attentive, and helpful, and both the indoors and outdoors were beautiful. Gerard cooked us up a made-to-order delicious breakfast as well. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The attic room is larger but a bit warmer - in summer months you may want a lower room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Thanks Karl and Kelly! We very much appreciate your kind words. It was a pleasure to look after you and we hope to see you again sometime soon. Have a wonderful 2013 year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Our hosts were wonderfully welcoming and accommodating. We had a fantastic night away in one of the most romantic rooms I've ever had the pleasure in staying in. The grounds were beautiful and I felt totally relaxed from the moment we got there. We even had our breakfast brought out to us, which was a lovely bonus! I will recommend the lovely little piece of paradise to friends and family. Thank you Gerard & Diane for such great hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missymooo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
What a lovely review you wrote, Elise and Simon! We are very flattered by your words and hope that we shall have the opportunity to look after you two again sometime! Here's to a wonderful and successful 2013!! G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverdale
3.7 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
15.6 mi away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
14.1 mi away
Nancy's Garden
Nancy's Garden
#1 of 19 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
2.1 mi away
Silverdale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambers Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambers Luxury B&B

Property: The Ambers Luxury B&B
Address: 146 Pine Valley Road | RD 2 Silverdale, Silverdale 0992, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Silverdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Silverdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambers Luxury B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Ambers" is a charming old-style European country house set in 14 park-like acres with formal rose gardens, fountains, mature trees and olive grove. It is situated on the main road north, just 20 minutes north of Auckland. We have 4 double bedrooms, 3 with their own ensuites.In the garden we have a self contained unit which we call the "gite". This gite has a kitchenette, fridge, microwave, hotplate, coffee and tea making facilities, a dining table, a sofa and tv as well as its own, modern ensuite. In all our rooms and in the gite we have free of charge fast broadband internet access. We look forward to welcoming you in our home. Wij spreken ook Nederlands. Wir sprechen auch Deutsch. Nous parlons francais. Solemente pocito Espanol. Sedikit Bahasa Indonesia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ambers Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ambers Luxury B&B Silverdale, New Zealand - Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing