We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful venue for my friends wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ambers Luxury B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Silverdale B&B and Inns
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Wonderful venue for my friends wedding!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Ambers was such a perfect venue for my friends wedding this past weekend, a beautiful house and gardens run by a lovely, welcoming couple.
I would recommend the Ambers for anyone wanting a luxury, relaxing break from city life.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandC1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback - your comments are greatly appreciated!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
69
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our mid week stay at The Ambers was absolutely perfect. Lovely hosts Gerard & Dianne, both confirmed Francophiles which was an agreeable point of discussion for us. An excellent breakfast with ample selection of jams preserves etc. plus home cooked breakfast a'la Gerard of bacon & eggs, the works.
Our room was at the head of the stairs L'etoille, with adjacent en-suite. The room itself was beautiful, well appointed, King size bed, dressing table, small collection of books in a bookshelf. Overall very spacious. En-suite was recently renovated, very well appointed with LARGE claw foot bath.
The total experience was lovely. Would happily stay again, but this time for longer.

Room Tip: Would choose our room again, private at top of house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandheike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Many thanks Peter and Heike for your positive words in your review! They are greatly appreciated!! We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again soon in the not too distant future! Warm regards, Gerard & Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Eddy and I arrived at The Ambers to have a break away from home. Immediately we felt relaxed and welcome.
Dianne,Gerard (and wolf the dog) are as entertaining and as warm as the delightful Ambers.
I highly recommend The Ambers for the time we all need to relax away from home in luxurious comfort and country charm.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hi Tania. I think I have already thanked you for the beautiful review you and Eddie left on our review page but just wanted to make sure you know we really appreciated your company. Looking forward to seeing you two again someday soon. Warm regards
Gerard & Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at The Ambers for two nights and had the most amazing time there.

We stayed in The Regency room, which was amazing; the whole house and the surrounds are absolutely beautiful in fact. I just wish we could have stayed longer!

What really made the stay was the incredibly warm hospitality from the hosts, Gerard and Diane. Such a lovely couple! And they make a wonderful breakfast!

We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reece R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Many thanks Reece and Sox for your wonderful words! They are greatly appreciated. And also thank you for transferring the outstanding amount - it arrived safely. Wishing you a wonderful year together and we look forward to seeing you in a year's time!! Enjoy life to the full. Warm regards Gerard and Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I live in Auckland and needed a weekend getaway that wasn't too far, but felt as if we were far away from everything! We stayed at the Gite at The Ambers and it was just what we needed. Our room was beautifully appointed with everything we needed, and many lovely touches and attention to detail that just made the difference. It is a beautiful, peaceful setting with magnificent grounds/gardens and Diane and Gerard are wonderful, caring hosts. We will be back!
Kim & Warren

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you Kim and Warren for your wonderful words of appreciation!! We are very happy that you enjoyed the few days rest and we thoroughly enjoyed meeting you two. We need to get together again some time and carry on with our discussion on the nature of being .... hahaha. Well, any discussion or debate will be enjoyable and fun so do email us when you feel the need to relax and have a glass of wine in front of the open fire or, in summer, under the grapevine on the terrace! We'll look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in the lounge and dining room at the Ambers. The room was ideal for our small party with a roaring fire, elegant decor, and photo's in the fabulous garden that completed our day. it was a delight to spend the day there with our family and closest friends. Diane and Gerard were wonderful hosts who went out of their way to make everything perfect. We spent the night there in regency room which was superbly clean and tastefully decorated. To top it all we were treated to a delicious breakfast and a friendly chat with our hosts the following morning. This is a wonderful venue for a special occasions at time of the year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thank you very much Di and Alec for your wonderful, kind, and appreciative review of our B&B; we loved having you and your family and friends here and hope to see you again some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Ambers is an amazing tranquil location with beautiful maple trees that line the driveway. Our weekend away from the city was everything we had hoped for and more. Gerard and Diane were wonderfully friendly hosts and their B&B is stunning. Thanks for the great stay and delicious breakfast.
Casey & Gary

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Many thanks Casey and Gary! Diane and I very much enjoyed meeting you two. We very much appreciate that you took time out to submit a lovely review and hope to see you again some time soon! You're welcome any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverdale
6.1 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
317 reviews
3.3 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
133 reviews
2.1 mi away
Silverdale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Annies B and B
Annies B and B
#2 of 20 in Warkworth
31 reviews
1.6 mi away
O'Grady Lodge
O'Grady Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wainui
39 reviews
4.9 mi away
Okura River Estate B&B
Okura River Estate B&B
#1 of 3 in North Shore City
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambers Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambers Luxury B&B

Property: The Ambers Luxury B&B
Address: 146 Pine Valley Road | RD 2 Silverdale, Silverdale 0992, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Silverdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Silverdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambers Luxury B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Ambers" is a charming old-style European country house set in 14 park-like acres with formal rose gardens, fountains, mature trees and olive grove. It is situated on the main road north, just 20 minutes north of Auckland. We have 4 double bedrooms, 3 with their own ensuites.In the garden we have a self contained unit which we call the "gite". This gite has a kitchenette, fridge, microwave, hotplate, coffee and tea making facilities, a dining table, a sofa and tv as well as its own, modern ensuite. In all our rooms and in the gite we have free of charge fast broadband internet access. We look forward to welcoming you in our home. Wij spreken ook Nederlands. Wir sprechen auch Deutsch. Nous parlons francais. Solemente pocito Espanol. Sedikit Bahasa Indonesia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ambers Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ambers Luxury B&B Silverdale, New Zealand - Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing