We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eugene P”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ambers Luxury B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Silverdale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 March 2014

stayed at this delightful country home bed and breakfast enroute from Taupo to Bay of Islands.
about 30 minutes north of Auckland and just off highway one it was a delight to find and a delight to stay at. Beautifully run and our hosts made us feel so welcome including a glass of wine with them as the sun went down. Our room was large and comfortable and breakfast was really great.
Only time to stay one night but would love to return.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on your stay Eugene. Diane and I loved having you and Jennifer, Peter and Geni here. We too had a very enjoyable evening and enjoyed your company. We trust that you are now safely back in Brisbane and planning your next trip? Anyway, as we said when you left: Safe travels!! All the very best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

This B & B is about an hour North of Auckland Airport. We had had a long flight and were exhausted. We were made very welcome by Gerard and Diane. The room was delightful and very comfortable. They provided us with a good suggestion for an evening meal nearby. In the morning we had a filling and delicious breakfast which set us up well for our onward journey. All of this in a lovely, homely house. What more can one say?

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidY121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words David. We very much enjoyed your visit to The Ambers and are glad the you and Liz made it safely back home! Perhaps one day we'll come and look you up in Devon - perhaps for a coffee or perhaps for a lunch. We wish you safe travels everywhere and thank you for your lovely comments about us and our place. All the very best to you both. Gerard & Diane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Thank you Dianne & Gerrard for making our vist so comfortable. Sadly we only had a few days but everything was so lovely even your greeter Wolf.

We are back in the uk now our feet have not touched the ground so apologies for the late thank you. Also for the leaving gift very thoughtful of you. Every time we drink Rose we will remember that lovely evening we all shared evenyually.

Our best wishes to you both hope everything works out well for you.

Kind regards

Peter & Lin Hughes

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you very much Peter and Linda for your wonderful review!! It is greatly appreciated. We loved meeting you and are very pleased to hear that you are safely back in the UK. Who knows, we may meet again one day. Until then, safe travels and warm regards from us both. Gerard and Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

What an excellent way to start the beginning of the New Year at The Ambers Luxury B & B.
We had just holidayed in Brisbane and needed to continue our holiday near Silverdale visiting our
daughter and grandchildren.
We found our hosts Diane and Gerard Zwier to be charming and not forgetting Wolf their German Shepherd Dog, who the children loved.
The accommodation itself was first class, we highly recommend a stay at Ambers unique B&B set in 12acres of beautiful grounds. We are really looking forward to making further visits when in New Zealand.
Peter & Barbara Philip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gite which we would highly recommend for independence and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely words Peter and Barbara; we enjoyed your company and would have liked to have had a few more of days with you to get to know you a little better. But we realise of course that your first priority was being with Clare and the children - that was the reason for your visit and we hope to see you again, and provide you with accommodation, during your next visit to New Zealand. We trust your return trip to the UK was uneventful and that you are enjoying the cold English weather!! Warm regards Gerard and Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Have just stayed at "The Ambers" and already extended out stay as such a great experience and relaxing surroundings. The quality of service and hospitality can't be faulted. Both Gerard and Dianne are very welcoming and and easy going. I liked the way they paid so much care and attention to little details. I loved the flowers/table settings and all our needs were met. The best breakfast we have had in all our travels in NZ and Internationally. Loved the variety room styles and decor, especially the attic room which we stayed in for our honeymoon! Will return ! Deirdre and Stephen .

Room Tip: Attic room comfortable super king and lovely comfortable sheets. Would stay in any of the other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Deirdre and Stephen;
Thank you for your wonderful review - it is greatly appreciated. We are so glad that you liked your stay and hope that that means you'll be back some time for a longer period! We enjoyed your company and look forward to more chats and discussions. You are a lovely couple and we wish you safe travels everywhere! Warm regards Gerard and Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed on “The Ambers” for only one night. When we had known that is was such a beautiful house, with a marvellous garden, we should have stayed longer. Dianne and Gerard are very good hosts. The breakfast was excellent. We regret it that we had to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricatL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Erica and Wouter. Thank you for your lovely words of appreciation. You know, there is a saying some people in the B&B business use: "You arrive as guests, you leave as friends". Never has that been more true than in our case. We really, really appreciated meeting you both, talking and sharing our traveling (and writing!) experiences, and are very certain that one day we'll meet again, probably when, as you asked, we come and visit you in your beautiful house and environment. Many thanks also to Wouter for his generosity in giving us a copy of his novel; that is greatly appreciated!! Travel safely friends, keep well and continue to enjoy this wonderful life. We will do our best to do the same so we may meet again. Until then, we remain - in Auckland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We needed a break, somewhere to unwind and relax with style and comfort. We chose the Ambers in Silverdale: a choice that proved to be well founded. Our hosts greeted us and from the outset made us feel totally at home. The shared lounge area was tastefully furnished and decorated and the welcoming drinks and nibbles were greatly appreciated. Our room certainly did justice to our preconceptions from the website and we were just delighted with the associated ambience. Being a few kilometers out-of-town, we were more than happy to be advised on local restaurants for dinner: again we were delighted with the lovely well patronized restaurant. After an excellent and comfortable nights sleep, breakfast was served in the dining room which opened up onto a classically stylish garden. A tasty fresh fruit salad and associated yogurts and cereals was followed by a beautifully prepared full English breakfast. We enjoyed the company of our hosts and colleague guests before departing late morning. We have no hesitation in recommending the property and can only speak highly of its style, ambience and the hospitality and generosity of our hosts. We will definitely return to this property when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZwier, Owner at The Ambers Luxury B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you very much Andy and Jill for your wonderful, detailed and erudite review of our services!! Although your visit surprised us as we had received no notification of your booking, (apparently WOTIF sent it to the wrong email address - which has now been rectified) our surprise quickly turned to delight at the opportunity to converse with such amiable and well-traveled guests! We shared many a story and thoroughly enjoyed your company. We loved hearing about your adventure through China, Mongolia and Russia and received some good ideas on how to make a world cruise a little more financially viable. Do come back some time, there are a few more stories to share!! All the very best to you both. Safe travels!! Gerard and Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverdale
3.7 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
173 reviews
10.8 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in Wairau Valley
80 reviews
11.4 mi away
Vineyard Cottages
Vineyard Cottages
#1 of 1 in Waimauku
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
138 reviews
6.1 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
333 reviews
4.9 mi away
Okura River Estate B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambers Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambers Luxury B&B

Address: 146 Pine Valley Road | RD 2 Silverdale, Silverdale, Auckland 0992, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Silverdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Silverdale
Price Range: £100 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambers Luxury B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Ambers" is a charming old-style European country house set in 14 park-like acres with formal rose gardens, fountains, mature trees and olive grove. It is situated on the main road north, just 20 minutes north of Auckland. We have 4 double bedrooms, 3 with their own ensuites.In the garden we have a self contained unit which we call the "gite". This gite has a kitchenette, fridge, microwave, hotplate, coffee and tea making facilities, a dining table, a sofa and tv as well as its own, modern ensuite. In all our rooms and in the gite we have free of charge fast broadband internet access. We look forward to welcoming you in our home. Wij spreken ook Nederlands. Wir sprechen auch Deutsch. Nous parlons francais. Solemente pocito Espanol. Sedikit Bahasa Indonesia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ambers Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ambers Luxury B&B Silverdale, New Zealand - Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing