We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp, broken caravan.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Takapuna Beach Holiday Park
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This place was awful. The only two good things I can say are the staff are very friendly & it's close to the beach. That's it. The caravan is from the 60's and has not been updated since nor have any of the facilities in the park. The caravans windows were broken as was the door and had previously been secured (I use the term loosely) with tape. The was carpet on the walls, that was very damp. The bed was damp. The storage had ants and lots of them. There were cobwebs everywhere. When it rained the windows in the roof leaked, badly. Miserable is an understatement. Don't stay here unless it's in your own caravan.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Not sure about all the good ratings. A tired and old camp in need of some TLC. Lots or weeds where there once had been gardens. Yes right on the beach and Takapuna shops for sure. We were told on arrival to give them $10 cash deposit for a key to get in to the showers/toilets. On departure they said they had no record of the $10 deposit at all. Be warned, get a receipt for this.
Our guess is that this camp will be demolished soon to make way for high-rise apartments or similar, as it appears they are not spending any money on it's up-keep or upgrade. An older camp ground can still be clean and tidy, faclities painted and in good working order, gardens and lawns tended to etc. This is not the case here and it is expensive for what it is. There are better campgrounds close to Auckland that are in better condition than this one. Be aware also that you can hear the noise from the bars and night clubs in Takapuna, and there is a public car park behind the camp, so plenty of noise at 4:30am in the morning when partygoers finally go home.

Room Tip: Try Orewa for a nice beach front camp close to Auckland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BossandMrsBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed one night in an onsite caravan on our way to the Bay of Islands. The caravan had obviously seen much better days but its interior was clean and comfortable. The park's facilities are very good and the location is great being within easy walking distance of a large number of eateries, shops etc. Access to the park is not easy as a number of boats are stored nearby. We have stayed at the park several times previously and would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We arrived almost midnight but we called earlier to book a bay and it was smooth. We based there for two days. Central location was very practical as we explore public buses, train and ferry to the city centre. We drove and browse brown bays, visit relative at albany. Management was friendly, profesional and helpful. Amenities were adequate. The beach part was quite breathtaking during August especially in the morning.

Room Tip: Bay 8 and 5 we parked have direct seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HanimYusoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We camped in the Takapuna Beach Camping Ground for 4 days over Christmas 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it. This is an old kiwi camping ground which is evidenced by the number of people who told us they had their holidays there as children, when the North Shore of Auckland was a place to 'get away from it all'.  This is a typical kiwi campground which means you shouldn't expect to find marble tiled bathrooms or other executive-style amenities but what it does have is Takapuna Beach adjacent. Private properties alongside the campground sell for millions of $ so sadly this ground is also at risk.  There are numerous restaurants in the Takapuna centre which is only a few minutes walk away.  Bathroom facilities were good with plenty of hot water - especially since the campground was very full. The kitchen was adequate and never seemed to have more than a couple of people using it. No Tv lounge or other entertainment - but hey it's probably better to go for a walk along the beach anyway. 

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We had just spent a year in Australia in a camper van and are spending 3 months doing the same in NZ. This was our first experience of a campsite here and it was lovely. The facilities were very clean and quite rustic but if you're looking for plush, my advice is to ditch the camping altogether, it's maybe not for you and go in a hotel. Everything on this campsite was perfect, from the location to the friendly staff and beautiful view. The bus, ferry combo to the city is easy and pretty quick and if I can work it out anyone can! The town is lovely and just a short stroll way, where you can find good places to eat. Go and stay while you can, if the other comments are true it could be turned into a boating place very soon, which would be a great shame!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jay1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My friend and I stayed in a cabin for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and the wonderful views form our unit. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and very reasonably priced. Bathroom facilities are excellent. Yes, the grounds do need a tickle up but I am sure this will happen once the decision is made as to whether the camp remains. It would certainly be a shame for this iconic campground to disappear. We will definitely be returning. Thank you Marius and crew!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takapuna hotels
1.6 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
0.1 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Takapuna Motor Lodge
Takapuna Motor Lodge
#6 of 7 in Takapuna
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anzac Court Motel
Anzac Court Motel
#2 of 7 in Takapuna
133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Takapuna International Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takapuna Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takapuna Beach Holiday Park

Address: 22 The Promenade, Takapuna, Auckland 0622, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > North Shore > Takapuna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Takapuna
Price Range: £34 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Takapuna Beach Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Takapuna Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Takapuna Beach Holiday Park Auckland, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing