We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all rounder!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good all rounder!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We enjoyed our one night at Spencer. Prime location. Nice pool/Spa area, with lovely ambiance.
Great views from all sides of the hotel. Very scenic. Nice balconies to observe view from.
There were a few little issues, like a picture which was bolted to the wall which was lop sided and could not be straightened. A bit anal, I know but annoying when you try to straighten it.
Shower was not as clean as could have been and the kitchen had very basic crockery ( 2 cups, 2 glasses and only 2 side plates) so when I tried to put out a cheese board for my husband and I to share, it was fiddly. But these were pretty minor overall.
The room was clean and beds were nice. The staff were helpful and we would definitely stay again. Thanks Spencer. :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    306
    121
    41
    21
See reviews for
128
258
50
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. The breakfast is fine. The location is excellent. The rooms are adequate. The mattresses are terrible. I have a sore back each time I check out. Perhaps new mattresses have been installed in some rooms, but wow... Every room I've been in definitely needs a new mattress.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spenceronbyron, General Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hello CLC48, Thank you for staying with us as often as you have! your business is appreciated.

I am concerned to hear of your issues with our mattresses as all of our beds and mattresses were replaced brand new in late 2011.

We would love to have you stay again and will do what we can to help you enjoy your stay even more.

I will make contact with you directly.

Many thanks
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We recently stayed for a 3 night weekend in The Spencer Hotel. We had not heard of the Hotel before but found it on than internet search of accommodation on in the Takapuna / Devonport area as we wanted to stay near family. We had our 3 and a half year old with us and we felt that the staff were very accommodating - the Hotel certainly felt child friendly.
He especially loved the roof top swimming pool - with superb views.
We thought the food was good value, especially with a free under 12 kids menu.
Overall we found the Hotel staff to be friendly and very helpful, really excellent (they make the Hotel).
The room was good, could maybe do with some updating (such as the carpet), but was clean and spacious and had everything we needed, particularly with the kitchenette.
Overall I would highly recommend the Spencer we were very impressed overall and it was great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieMACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spenceronbyron, General Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hi LizzieMACK and thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Spencer Hotel and thank you for your time in writing your review.

I am so very pleased to hear that you found our staff to be accommodating, friendly and helpful, this is exactly what we expect of all of our team!

I agree with you that the pool and kids menu items are a real winner for young families.

I take your point about carpet, we are replacing almost all rooms, one by one this year.

I hope you can come back and stay again sometime.

Best wishes and thanks again

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for a week while moving house and were totally impressed with everything. Great location, clean, nice staff and amazing views. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was very, very good. The restaurant had a nice buzz as it was busy and even had some local celebs dining in the private dining room which added to the atmosphere. Looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Amazing views from the 18th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spenceronbyron, General Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello Louise and thank you for your review, I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and I do hope to see you back here again sometime in the future.

Best wishes and thank you for your custom.

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is one classy Hotel. It surely has to be the best on the North Shore of Auckland. It is professional, clean, comfortable and quiet. Town and restaurants are all within walking distance as is the beach. You won't regret this accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoTravellers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spenceronbyron, General Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind words and thank you for your custom.



Best wishes
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel for a night and was impressed with the friendly service, standard of the property, cleanliness and location. The hotel is very close to Takapuna centre and within walking distance of many restaurant and shops. No hesitation in recommending it to travellers wanting value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanBBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

On North Shore. Fantastic location away from Auckland. Just over harbour bridge. View of Volcano or City Devenport a bus ride which means u csn catch a ferry to islands with wineries or just into Auckland. Taxi not too much to get back. Hotel is just ace it has kitchen laundry balcony and smoking rooms on request. Spa and pool is just gr8. Hot as and veiws of Auckland city. Takapuna iz kool sunday market shops right there. Buses r the way to go

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lausJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spenceronbyron, General Manager at The Spencer on Byron Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
I very much enjoyed reading your review, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for your positive comments.

Please come back and see us again sometime soon.

Cheers
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
1.8 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
121 reviews
1.2 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
80 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,294 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spencer on Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spencer on Byron Hotel

Property: The Spencer on Byron Hotel
Address: 9 - 17 Byron Avenue, Takapuna 0622, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Spencer on Byron Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spencer on Byron Hotel is located just 500m from Takapuna Beach with fantastic views of the city, Hauraki Gulf, Lake Pupuke and Takapuna. This Auckland hotel is the first business class accommodation provider on Auckland's North Shore and spectacular panorama of Auckland CBD to the south, Rangitoto Island to the east, and Lake Pupuke to the north. With Studio or One Bedroom Suites available including disabled access rooms, plus a swimming pool, spa pool, tennis courts, gym, restaurant and bar, The Spencer on Byron Hotel has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Spencer on Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer On Byron Hotel
Spencer On Byron Auckland
The Spencer On Byron Hotel Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing