We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hide-away”
Review of Emerald Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emerald Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We read the reviews of this place on Trip Advisor when we were looking for a motel in the Auckland area. Although a bit more pricey than the others, it more than makes up for it in quality. The location is superb (very close to the beach), the rooms are well appointed and surrounded by lush gardens and trees and there is ample parking available which is great when you are on a road trip.

The one bedroomed apartment we had was very quiet at night (in fact the birds woke us up in the mornings) and it included a small lounge area, balcony, bathroom with shower cubicle and a small dining/kitchen area in the living area with all the necessities (fridge, cups, plates and glasses). Despite offering Sky TV, we had very limited services available (which was not a major issue as we were out much of the time). Internet access was available at a cost. That was a shame. In this day and age, one would expect to see establishments like this provide this for free.

The location is definitely the biggest selling point. The surroundings are beautiful and the Inn is within walking distance to all the Takapuna shops and restaurants. We would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWGH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeraldinn, Manager at Emerald Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for your review and we have noted your point re internet charges. Our policy is currently under review. We do enjoy the tui's too! Thanks and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

We were a group of three in NZ for business and the Emerald Inn was recommended to us by the company we were visting.
On first sight the Inn looked uninviting due to a storm having just passed through and that we arrived late. However the rooms were clean and spacious.
From then on things looked up, all people including the owners were very friendly and helpful. The gardens were well kept and it was pleasant to be able to sit out side of the rooms in the evenings. The location of the Inn was as close to perfect as possible, close to many great restaurants the beach very close by and a short drive into Auckland.
The only faults that any of us could find is that there were a lot of mosquitos and that there was only a small amount of milk available for the first night only.
All in all a very comfortable and enjoyable stay for two weeks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

What a great location. On the north shore in Takapuna, Auckland, this is close to everything with views of the ocean and east coast. A short trip will take you down to the harbour where you can look back towards the city of Auckland. Or head down to Mt Victoria where look back north towards Takapuna or south to the city whilst watching the spectacular sight of business class yacht races before dinner.
Its only few minutes walk into the shopping district with the malls and plenty of dining options to choose from. Its also less than a minute walk to the beach and the best place for breakfast is the Takapuna Beach Cafe with the best views to enjoy with your breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs on the east side give views to the ocean on one side and the pool area on the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MustangCruise70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed at the Emerald Inn for 8 nights, welcome friendly, position perfect close to beach, bars, restaurants . Very disappointed with room, we booked a spa suite, this comprised of a poorly lite and dingy room with a queen bed and spa bath in the corner, the toilet in a cupboard a wardrobe that was 2 ft wide and contained 6 hangers, no drawers for storage so had to live out of suitcases and a bench that doubled as a wash hand basin and a sink for washing dishes ! The housekeeping staff were great and the room was spotless. And to top it all they charge for internet, I think they need to come into the 21st century.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed there 4 nights and everything was perfect. Rooms were well maintained, nearly new, with all the commodities, including kitchen, and the motel had complimentary laundry and dryer machines. The area is astonishing, quiet and even if you are in auckland you still feel the beauty of New Zealand. Nice and quiet at night to get a nice sleep. Lots of cafés and restaurants within walking distance and the beach just a minute away or less.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, and always ready to help. Breakfast was very good.

I had a great stay. Thanks so much!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank DiegoUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Emerald Inn was perfect...we like the tropical resort feel, the timeless character of the generous rooms, lovely staff and fantastic location for beach walking and running. The grounds are kept to a very high standard which we appreciate when holidaying in a resort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puahue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stay here regularly on business, always well looked after. Get the same lovely spa room each time I stay. Lovely tropical setting and short walk to the beach as well as my office. Staff are friendly and really helpful. Nice relaxing place to stay when visiting the north shore.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
0.5 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
1.5 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
120 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
623 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,915 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Inn

Address: 16 The Promenade | Takapuna, Takapuna, Auckland 1309, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > North Shore > Takapuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range: £122 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emerald Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top quality beachside accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. 39 superbly appointed suites and motel units with kitchen facilities nestled amongst sub tropical gardens. Free wireless internet, free off-street parking, BBQ area, swimming pool and guest laundry. Takapuna, on Auckland's North Shore, is only 10 minutes from the CBD via the Harbour Bridge. The beach is recognized as one of Auckland's finest with safe swimming, sail boat hire and miles of glorious sand for walking or jogging. We also offer a luxury, 3 bedroom self contained holiday home (min stay 3 nights) and two bedroom villas (min stay 5 nights) - ideal holiday letting and short term rental accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Takapuna
Emerald Hotel Auckland
Emerald Inn Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing