We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past it's glory”
Review of Parklane Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parklane Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Past it's glory”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A discarded piece of toast, lying on a dirty plate, in the reception area of Parklane Motor Inn immediately set our antennas out that all was not as it should be at this establishment. The first unit we were shown was on the ground floor. The room smelt musty and there was an ants nest on the ground floor window sill. We asked to be shifted, the second unit was marginally better and it was on the first floor; immediately above the first unit. At least this room did not smell musty, but it needed a good scrub. The cups had a film on them and it looked as if the ceiling fan had not been cleaned for years. Many of the tiles in the bathroom were cracked and the "white" towels were a dirty grey. The carpet was very worn and ripped just outside the entrance to the bathroom.The surrounding gardens were scruffy and the windows were dirty; it looked like it needed a good overhaul.I can only assume that the photos shown on the website of a pristine swimming pool were taken sometime ago. On the plus side, the Parklane Motor Inn was in a good location. It was near Takapuna's shops, restaurants, beach and it certainly was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    17
    28
    25
    69
See reviews for
38
49
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I wish I had read the reviews before I booked us in. Thankfully it was only for one night. My family were from out of town and we thought we would all stay together for a night as were going to a concert. I felt really embarrassed to be honest. This motel didn't showcase the North Shore of Auckand as I had hoped. It only felt like 1-2 stars worth. Call the Hotel inspector!

Positives are location (close to motorway, walk to Takapuna and the beach), and the reception service is good.

Negatives: We booked two rooms (which ended up being not the required set up that we had originally booked), the rooms were dim, old and tired and desperately needed a good coat of paint and new carpet. The carpet in one of the rooms was lifting so bad that we were forever tripping over it. Such as hazard and an accident waiting to happen (Do the housekeepers not have a checklist for stuff like this??), There was only one teaspoon for both rooms (of which should have catered for 6), the ranchslider door handle was broken and fell off when we tried to open it, the airconditioning generator outside on the deck was a rusty eyesore (no wonder they kept the curtains closed!), basically the place just needs a huge overhaul! It felt like the owners didn't care. I don't recommend itl

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Takapuna hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had read the mixed reviews of Parklane Motor Inn on Tripadvisor but thought we would give it a go as it was reasonably priced and fairly good location. Despite asking to see the room first (#334), we were disappointed and glad we only stayed there one night. The room was quite dark thanks to the dim lights, the bed had a huge sag in the middle and while it was clean, overall the place needed some major TLC. The door to the bathroom had scratches all over it and the carpet was lifting between the bathroom doorway and bedroom so it was a major trip hazard. No milk in the fridge and the tv had to be retuned as it wasn't picking up all the channels advertised. The staff were helpful and friendly but the whole place needs a bit of an overhaul.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeetsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Hard to believe this property was listed as 4 star - it's more like 1 star. The room was musty when we walked in, the bathroom door wouldn't close due to the timber swelling with the damp, there was an ants nest and dirt in a corner of the room where the wall was decaying, no milk in the fridge but there was a half drunk can of coke. At a guess I would say the room hadn't been opened or cleaned for quite a while. You can find much better back-packers accommodation at less than half the price we paid for this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jilliene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my parents, niece and nephew for a few days so that the kids could watch a theatre production and we could visit the zoo and Auckland itself. If you're watching something at the Bruce Mason Centre this is a perfect venue - you can walk along the beach to get to the theatre.

The room was kitted out with a small kitchen area including a fridge, toaster and microwave and there's a supermarket just up to the road so it was really easy to self-cater here and the room was spacious (even for five of us) so we could all eat at the table and play card games after dinner.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Yes, there are better quality hotels, but I would recommend this place for a family trip where you're looking for a home from home, not a place with a spa and concierge.

Takapuna itself has a nice shopping street and a very big Farmers department store so plenty to mooch around.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with children, make sure you have a family room with kitchen facilities. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessBless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The service from the front desk and the facilities were 1st class. The rooms were a good size and warm. Shower was great. The Motel was quiet and off the main road for us. The Shower was great - we will return in the future. We needed added service and Internet - this was provided without delay and with a pleasant manner. A negative would be the cost of internet

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docosa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I was feeling very nervous after reading all the negative reviews here but I was pleasantly surprised. We booked a 'flybuys' room and again after comments on here I was nervous however we had a good experience.

Check in was great with a friendly and helpful receptionist, I agree that the first foyer we entered smelt damp and musty but once we got to our room it was great. The room was spacious and clean and it was a really nice touch to have the heater on timer so it was also nice and warm for our arrival.

We had a room by the road and yes there was traffic noise but it didn't keep us awake and it was a Friday night.

This is not a 4 star complex but it is good value and the perfect place for a quick stopover.

The bed was clean and comfortable and the pillows were fine. Overall a good experience, thank you Parklane Motor Inn for exceeding our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzpages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
1.5 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
1.6 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
121 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anzac Court Motel
Anzac Court Motel
#2 of 7 in Takapuna
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklane Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklane Motor Inn

Property: Parklane Motor Inn
Address: Takapuna Beach, P.O. Box 33-1326 | Cnr Lake Road & Rewiti Ave., Takapuna, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parklane Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parklane Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklane Hotel Auckland
Parklane Motor Inn Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing