We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”
Review of Parklane Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parklane Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Our room was musty smelling. There is no light in the shower. When we arrived the TV wasn't working in the room but it was swapped. I even had to ask for a guest information folder. We came to the conclusion that they must save their worst rooms for "Fly Buys" customers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Deb_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    17
    28
    25
    67
See reviews for
37
48
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We arrived in Auckland on 28/02, the start of our big adventure moving half way across the world from the UK to live in NZ. My new employers arranged for us to stay here as it was about the only place anywhere near the city with any vacancies; Bruce Springsteen was in town on the following night and the whole of NZ seemed to be heading for and staying in Auckland for a couple of nights meaning we needed somewhere less central to tide us over until he and his supporters departed the city.
We didn't need to be able to find it as we were taken there by a friend who had picked us up from the airport and was local - not sure how we would have faired on our own. Easy walking to centre of Takapuna and to the beach.
We were in one of the rooms closest to reception so didn't really see much of the hotel, however from the small bits we did see I got the feeling that it is a bit tired and could definitely do with a spruce up in the rooms and the corridors etc.
To be fair, they did allow us to check-in at 9.30am which was very good of them, however this had been negotiated for us the night before by the previously mentioned friend who was aware that we would just want to crash after landing here.
Although our two night stay was OK, we were pleased that we weren't due to be staying here for the full fortnight - I don't think it would have been the most comfortable of stays for a prolonged period.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcj1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Difficult to find the place at night, signage was blocked by the tress, Sharp edges of tiles of the walk in shower floor, big burn marks of the iron on the carpet good communication, receptionist was helpful, over all average, room needs improvement.

Room Tip: Stay away from car park side, abit busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug280214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We booked in to get away for the night through wotif.com. I wasn't sure if the worst rooms are saved for wotif customers, but on reading other reviews our complaints seem rather common. Our room was dark, damp and smelt terribly musty - very depressing. There was someone elses drink bottle in out bin, the toilet wasn't attached to the floor properly and the bed was two pushed together with missing/broken springs - there was a big dip in one side. I was going to comment when we checked out but the woman was busy with someone else complaining and I stood for some time, so asked if I could just give her my key. I emailed our concerns (as they ask in their room file) but had no reply so am reviewing our experience here. I feel that we could have stayed somewhere much nicer for the same/similar price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Takapuna hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

After some hiccups in maintaining bookings through management changes, we were accommodated, not together but it was alright.
The managers were more than helpful in allowing use of the Breakfast Room and around the pool and in assisting with catering for 28 attendees gathered from far and wide.
The location is superb, and while it is in need of updating and sprucing up, it served as a wonderful venue for our purposes.
Thank. You.

Room Tip: Get the sea view away from Lake Rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceMaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed a night 23/12/13 and enjoyed experience with staff , owners and thought motel was great value for money. Stayed in second story unit facing main road, no road noise or light issues, bed comfy and unit well appointed. Enormous shower, great water pressure and overall rate very highly. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

After reading, in depth, the mixed reviews we decided to go ahead and book in.

SO glad that we did. The Management team bent over backwards to please us upon checking in to find us the perfect room with a super king bed! They were friendly and welcoming and extremely professional and knowledgable. They stated the office hours and reminded us to call them if we needed anything. Love at first site!

Pool is smaller but the pool deck is impeccable! Our room was perfect! Quiet and comfortable as we stayed for a FULL 8 NIGHTS.

Parklane is priced accordingly and is well worth the value. This is NOT the Ritz and I question the other reviewers on this site as to what their expectations really were. This motel has had two management teams in the past year, so obviously the Owners need to address whatever these other guests' issues were.

Location is perfect for both walking and public transportation. Beach is a 5 minute walk away and it's absolutely gorgeous! Was there every day.

We loved the place and would absolutely book there again!

Room Tip: Room 323 was awesome. Keep in mind the price when making comparisons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
1.5 mi away
Poenamo Hotel
Poenamo Hotel
#4 of 7 in Takapuna
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
0.7 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
599 reviews
3.0 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
78 reviews
6.9 mi away
Parklane Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklane Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklane Motor Inn

Property: Parklane Motor Inn
Address: Takapuna Beach, P.O. Box 33-1326 | Cnr Lake Road & Rewiti Ave., Takapuna, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parklane Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parklane Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklane Hotel Auckland
Parklane Motor Inn Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing