We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poenamo Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ocean Inn Motel(Northcote)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Emerald Inn(Takapuna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aristotles North Shore(Wairau Valley)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
VR Takapuna(Bayswater)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
16
44
44
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
44
44
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan indian restaurantkebabburger kingpool sideroom was cleanstayed for nightsenjoyed our staysingle bedmin drivestay there againeasy accessgreat place to staymotorwayaucklandheapscbdlaundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Came upon this place by chance ,having no idea where to stay in Auckland, and driving around aimlessly looking for a nice ,cheap sleep. It's location was rather convenient, being very close to the Harbour bridge, which joins Northcote with Auckland's downtown. The room we had was nicely appointed with a pleasant view of a grassy courtyard, the bed was quite comfy and every day we had fresh towels and room service. There was a gaming lounge on site and a bar which we didn't frequent for more than a quick pint of local brew, and found there to be ample parking and some pubs /restaurants within walking distance.The swimming pool was a bit chilly for us to use ,so we didn't bother ( it rained quite a bit). The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful when it came to asking for directions and suggestions. One thing to be aware of : the baths were very high to step in and out of , so watch you don't lose your footing and take a tumble! All in all everything was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benny-boy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We needed a few rooms for family to stay while attending my daughter's wedding and there were plenty available here. They were nothing special, but the location was convenient and several great restaurants nearby. The complex also has a great pool area and adjacent bar.

The two biggest drawbacks were no elevator, so carrying luggage up and down the concrete steps could be troublesome (when leaving we lowered a lot of bags over the balcony for someone to grab!); and no a/c. Getting ready for a wedding in January in the heat was difficult.


(We stayed in Jan 2010, but I wasn't able to select that option ... )

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usakiwimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We have just returned from the weekend from hell. We arrived at the Poenamo Hotel on Friday after dark, upon checking in we were advised that we would need to move room the next day, as they had a booking for our room. Our room (room 28) was above the pump house for the swimming pool and the pump ran every half hour. So no sleep. On Saturday we went to arrange the move to the next room, We were moved across the coridor, Room 31, outside this room was a refridgerated container. The staff moved our luggage across. When returning to the room I discovered that the staff had not locked the door and our possesions were unsecured all day. I tried to lock the door to go and let the office I would was not happy only to discover the door didn't lock.
The Daytime staff were fantastic. Thanks Roslyn for all your help. the night time staff left a lot to be desired.
In the daylight we could see that this hotel needed a lot of love, at he back stairwell the eves are rotten and piles of rubble lying around.
We will not be going back and would not reccomend.

Room Tip: do not be put in room 28 or 31 if you want to sleep
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HamiltonGolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We recently stayed at the Poenamo Hotel for four nights and found the reception staff to be very helpful and very pleasant. The room we stayed in was lovely and clean with fresh supplies of cofee etc and towels every day.
The bushmans Grill nextdoor had great service and great food.Plenty of other food outlets plus bars close by.
The hotel was on the bus route that had a regular service and very resonable in price.

Room Tip: Ask for accommodation in the front of the hotel over looking the pool area not to the back as you get cooking smells and big fan noises from the backs of the resturants backing on
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmc636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed for a weekend, and was better than what i expected, it was very quiet and the great service from the reception was brilliant, a great Thai restaurant out the front, a most recommended hotel only about 10 minutes drive from the city

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank step51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews