We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served its purpose”
Review of Poenamo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poenamo Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Served its purpose”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Despite its 'dated' appearance and after finding the room door opened out wards, the room it's self was clean and well equipped, reception staff were friendly and helpful. Free wifi and restaurants close by with charge back to hotel...bathroom was clean but window was not secure, shower was built for tall people and not adjustable while hooked into its bracket. Kitchen was well equipped and clean, bed was comfortable (king size in room 20) swimming pool and spa. Handy location and easy to find. Would stay again based on we only used the room to sleep in.

Room Tip: Bush mans grill next door has fantastic food, book an upstairs room....quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    41
    41
    10
    9
See reviews for
28
36
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I was booked in through work on a Wed and Thurs night so am not sure how much it cost.
Reception was unattended when I first arrived at around 8pm, but the attendant was not too far off. I got a brief explanation as to where my room was, but still found it quite difficult to find with no lift to upstairs section where my room was (number 31), made me wonder how a disabled person would cope. My room was far away from they carpark, with a key needed to get through a gate and a door which was a bit annoying with lots of baggage, and forgetting things from my car!
The room smelt badly of Indian? food, it was very small but clean and tidy. Wireless internet worked pretty well. Windows didn't close properly. Unfortunately the staff would have their smoko below my window so it was quite noisy at times, also with the sound of noisy extractor fans and air con units, added to exterior renovations close by.
I swam in the pool and was disappointed there was no dedicated area to lie in the sun, or any sun loungers. Many of the rooms overlook the pool which would be quite noisy during the day. There is a bar pool side.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful (one guy a little too much haha a bit creepy) plus great location close to highway, petrol stations, fast food and supermarket, but overall I wasn't too impressed. Average as.

Room Tip: Away from the pool if you want to sleep during the day! Higher number would be better, but not 31 ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RabidGinFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincumber, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We chose this hotel as we were on the northern side of Auckland visiting an old friend of my husband. Many accom in this area of the city was very expensive. It was easy to locate with simple directions from his friends. It was also an easy trip into the city the next day. We were at the back of the hotel and upstairs in the older building. The room was a good size and quiet, with a renovated bathroom Dinner was available downstairs in the pub and the selection was adequate and well priced. Breakfast, though, was an issue as the hotel did not do breakfast and our only walkable choices were McDonalds or the service station. We chose Maccas but were disappointed that there wasn't a better option.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Initially we were directed to room 27, back of house, poky, backing on to a busy kitchen and a pump…….. no way were we staying in that room!!!
Back to reception and no problem to change rooms. Spent the next 2 nights in room 22 and 4 nights in the same room a week later. Clean tidy, TV stations available very limited. Staff great especially the night manager. The Hotel has a charge back to your room with a number of the restaurants and bars in the complex, but not Pat’s Garage. You need to get a voucher from reception prior to going to the restaurants and bars, the charge back is only available with a voucher. Will stay again..............................

Room Tip: top floor rooms overlooking the pool, rooms 21, 22 & 23
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and found the location and amenities excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful and the pool was a great relief for cooling and recovery. There is an array of food outlets within the complex and I tried all of them and could not fault. The free Internet was also an added bonus.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bewitched11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

On arrival there were leaves and other debri scattered all over the floor, in the light of day we could see the hob hadnt been cleaned with somthing spilt and baked in over the surface and elements.

my daughter who isnt normally that fussy refused to use the cutlery plates and glasses as they haddnt been cleaned properly and still had food on them, i had to rewash them.




Not a very pleasent experience i wont be back, this place needs to up its cleaning standards or lower its rating

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidayreviewers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Pool side studio rooms fantastic - great room, excellent kitchen area, nice bathroom..just a shame no where to put toilet bag - other than that we love staying there. Have stayed many times.
Double rooms no where near as nice, small, old, poorly located.

Room Tip: Pool side only for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenmarshland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takapuna
1.2 mi away
The Spencer on Byron Hotel
2.1 mi away
VR Takapuna
VR Takapuna
#1 of 1 in Bayswater
604 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aristotles North Shore
Aristotles North Shore
#1 of 1 in North Shore City
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Emerald Inn
Emerald Inn
#3 of 7 in Takapuna
121 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Anzac Court Motel
Anzac Court Motel
#2 of 7 in Takapuna
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poenamo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poenamo Hotel

Property: Poenamo Hotel
Address: 31 Northcote Road, Takapuna 0627, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Takapuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Takapuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poenamo Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 10 minutes drive from Auckland's CBD, just off the Northern Motorway, right next to the Takapuna golf course and close to Takapuna Beach. Within minutes of the hotel you'll find the North Shore Events Centre, North Shore Stadium and the Bruce Mason Centre, all major venues for any events happening on the North Shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Poenamo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poenamo Hotel Takapuna, Auckland, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing