We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK resort - disappointing unit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fairmont Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“OK resort - disappointing unit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Fairmont Springs is an interesting area, but the resort and condos were very average. Our one bedroom unit was tired and needed a complete makeover. The sofa in the living room in our unit was awful and the mattress in the bedroom wasn't great - my wife woke up when I moved around during the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SD3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    76
    34
    12
    15
See reviews for
76
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed in the Hillside Villas (4000 building) which is across from the swimming pool and within walking distance of the Riverside Golf Course.

The villa - was clean but a little on the small side for a family of four with two teenagers. There was a king size bed and a pull out sofa (which of course was not very comfortable). A foam topper is offered so would recommend that you ask for it. Most kitchen supplies were provided, however, the cutlery and dishes were only for four persons. If you plan on eating in for every meal, you will probably have to do the dishes each time but there is a dishwasher in the unit. There is also a washer and dryer just outside the unit which came in very handy. Soap for the dishes, dishwasher and washer is provided.

Wireless Internet - very frustrating in the unit (not much better in the lobby area). It was very hard to connect to the internet and even if you did get on it was very slow and kicked you out quite often. It had kicked me out three times since I've started writing this review.

The grounds - well maintained and beautiful surroundings. Tennis courts near the lobby are in very good shape. There is also a place where you can play volleyball and basketball. Pool is nice but only went there once. You can't bring your shoes to the pool deck where you sit - you have to leave them in the change room or as some people did, just outside the change room. You wouldn't think this was a problem but my Nike sandals (left outside the change room near the pool) were stolen the first day of our stay. On that same day, another person's Nike sandals were also stolen. His were left inside the change room. Management was notified but they did nothing about the situation.

Golf - we golfed at the Riverside, Mountainside and Creekside (short 9 hole course) golf courses for $99 which was a great deal as it included golf carts for the larger courses.

Hiking - close by and the resort offers guided tours.

Biking - we rode to Columbia Lake. Would recommend using mountain bikes and not hybrids (especially if you're on the trails).

River Rafting - went on a full day trip on the Kootenay River for $100/person. If you are with the resort you get a 5% discount with Kootenay River Runners. Was good value for the money (you get a snack and lunch and are out there all day) but would have liked more exciting rapids (you have to go in June or beginning of July for that). There scenery is beautiful and it's very peaceful on the river.

We would stay at the Sunchaser Vacation Villas if we come back to Fairmont but would stay in a 2 bedroom instead.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaysville, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

The condos were average--not particularly worthy of praise or critique. The pool was nice and the general grounds were well cared for. I rated the place only 3 of 5 because a reliable and fast internet connection is important to me as clean sheets and warm water. Some may not agree but I like to be able to stay connected. The internet was unusable from my condo and poor, at best, in the lounge/check-in area. I've had better rooms at Holiday Inn. I still don't understand why people buy time-shares.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank putsinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We spent a week at this resort along with my parents, nephews, and brother and his wife. We rented three Hillside units, two which were full sized units and one that was a smaller unit overlooking the pool. We stayed in the 8000 building. This building is perfect if you want to be close to the pool but if you want quiet 24/7 try their Riverside units. I found tripadvisor to be very confusing prior to coming to this resort as the resort has four properties: Hillside, Riverside, Riverview and I think there is a Mountainview. The only units close to the pool are called Hillside. However Hillside is not close to the clubhouse which houses a small indoor pool and hot tub, games room, hobby room, gym, play room, and movie room. They have DVD's for rent also in the clubhouse.

There are golf courses galore in this area and the villa's overlook a beautiful one. There is a restaurant that is decent in price and also a golf shop. There are a couple of playgrounds for the kids and scheduled activities for all ages. Also in Fairmont you will find a small but expensive grocery store, and of course the hot springs. You can try hiking to one of the pools on your own and not pay any money or you can visit the pay pool which is a must. Show your hotel room key and get a small discount. Note: the pool says absolutely no shoes of any kind but kids were wearing pool shoes here. The bottom of the pool is quite rough and so is the hotel pool. Our two young kids both ended up with cut feet after swimming for a short period of time. So pack your pool shoes.

Also, a great day trip is to visit Ft. Steele which is an hour away. Another must see. One thing we found with Fairmont is that the weather changes every half hour or so. So don't wait for the weather to be just perfect otherwise you will miss out on many adventures.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caro281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We love this place. Have a time share in Fairmount. Go there every winter for our family ski trip and soak in hot spring. We have two boys. Absolutely love our time in this resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgarySummer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed at the Sunchaser Villas (formerly Fairmont Vacation Villa),through my mom's RCI timeshare exchange, in June 2011 and absolutely loved it!!! We stayed in the Riverview villas, which are the newest villas, and it was absolutely gorgeous!! Each room is either an A or a B. We stayed in the A side. If you have an option, or get to choose, I highly recommend the A side, as you have a private balcony that overlooks the golf course. It was great!!! The B side has a front balcony that overlooks the parking lot, but it is not a private balcony, it is in the open beside the walkway that everyone takes to get to their rooms. And the A side, from what we understand, is a bit larger of a unit. The only drawback about staying in the Riverview villas, as opposed to the Riverside or Hillside villas, is that you have to go back onto the highway and drive across a small bridge, and turn into where the resort and amenities are. There used to be access to the resort on a path through golf course, but the golf course has now put up a fence to stop guest from using that path for safety purposes. So if you have small children it may be easier to stay in Hillside villas (next to water park & playground), or Riverside villas (next to rec centre and playground). But if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle, Riverview is the place to be if you don't mind the small inconvenience of getting to the rec centre, playgrounds etc.

The resort and amenities are terrific!! The outside waterpark is quite large and looks like so much fun, but unfortunately it was undergoing maintenance and was not open, but there is an indoor pool (a little small), and a few hot tubs, both indoors and outdoors, plus the Radium Hot Springs and Fairmont Hot Springs aren't far away. There are 2 playgrounds, and there are tons of crafts and activities you can sign your little ones up for! As well, there are so many programs and activities running for adults and families to sign up for. You can be as busy as you want, or relax as much as you want.

We highly recommend this resort and will definitely be returning again and again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 24Magoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

We had a great time, did the promoional sales, as we stay every year anyways and though about buying. We are not going to buy and just continue to exchange. The sales staff and sales manager were so ignorant and rude I would never give them my money. Mountainside is Rustic but quiet, Riverside is big and relaxed. Riverview is new and more like an apartment. but still nice. Staff are always helpfull. This is more of an outdoor vacation place. The town is a little quiet unless you drive to Inveremere or Cranbrook.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank widos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont Hot Springs
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#1 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
22.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn R...
#8 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
14.0 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
#2 of 3 in Fairmont Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
18.8 mi away
Panorama Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside

Property: Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside
Address: 5129 Riverview Gate Rd | Highways 93 & 95, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L0, Canada (Formerly Fairmont Vacation Villas)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fairmont Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 116
Also Known As:
Sunchaser Vacation Villas At Riverside Hotel Fairmont Hot Springs
Fairmont Vacation Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing