We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience at Riverside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed across the river in the 8000 building. The unit was modern and very spacious, with a very comfortable king bed, big jacuzzi tub, granite/stainless steel, etc. Very nice. Being across the river, we had to walk on the highway to get to the rest of the resort and it would be nice to have had a walking trail around the premises. We enjoyed golf at the resort and other courses in the area with our discounts from the front desk. We found the resort staff to be very friendly and accommodating. We were on the ground floor and our neighbors above were jumping all day long. The resort staff took care of it right away for us. The hot springs is "so-so" for the price of $10 each. We preferred the rustic Lussier Hot Springs for free at Whiteswan Provincial Park, and had a great time visiting with others there. The best part of our experience at this resort is that we were not "hounded" by time share sellers. No phone calls, no requirements to set an appointment prior to getting our parking pass (really, this has happened to us).... nothing. That alone made our stay a wonderful time and we will come back.

Room Tip: The 8000 building is the newest, and apparently the most modern. Stay in this building if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travbug98501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

Fairmont Springs is an interesting area, but the resort and condos were very average. Our one bedroom unit was tired and needed a complete makeover. The sofa in the living room in our unit was awful and the mattress in the bedroom wasn't great - my wife woke up when I moved around during the night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SD3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed in the Hillside Villas (4000 building) which is across from the swimming pool and within walking distance of the Riverside Golf Course.

The villa - was clean but a little on the small side for a family of four with two teenagers. There was a king size bed and a pull out sofa (which of course was not very comfortable). A foam topper is offered so would recommend that you ask for it. Most kitchen supplies were provided, however, the cutlery and dishes were only for four persons. If you plan on eating in for every meal, you will probably have to do the dishes each time but there is a dishwasher in the unit. There is also a washer and dryer just outside the unit which came in very handy. Soap for the dishes, dishwasher and washer is provided.

Wireless Internet - very frustrating in the unit (not much better in the lobby area). It was very hard to connect to the internet and even if you did get on it was very slow and kicked you out quite often. It had kicked me out three times since I've started writing this review.

The grounds - well maintained and beautiful surroundings. Tennis courts near the lobby are in very good shape. There is also a place where you can play volleyball and basketball. Pool is nice but only went there once. You can't bring your shoes to the pool deck where you sit - you have to leave them in the change room or as some people did, just outside the change room. You wouldn't think this was a problem but my Nike sandals (left outside the change room near the pool) were stolen the first day of our stay. On that same day, another person's Nike sandals were also stolen. His were left inside the change room. Management was notified but they did nothing about the situation.

Golf - we golfed at the Riverside, Mountainside and Creekside (short 9 hole course) golf courses for $99 which was a great deal as it included golf carts for the larger courses.

Hiking - close by and the resort offers guided tours.

Biking - we rode to Columbia Lake. Would recommend using mountain bikes and not hybrids (especially if you're on the trails).

River Rafting - went on a full day trip on the Kootenay River for $100/person. If you are with the resort you get a 5% discount with Kootenay River Runners. Was good value for the money (you get a snack and lunch and are out there all day) but would have liked more exciting rapids (you have to go in June or beginning of July for that). There scenery is beautiful and it's very peaceful on the river.

We would stay at the Sunchaser Vacation Villas if we come back to Fairmont but would stay in a 2 bedroom instead.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The condos were average--not particularly worthy of praise or critique. The pool was nice and the general grounds were well cared for. I rated the place only 3 of 5 because a reliable and fast internet connection is important to me as clean sheets and warm water. Some may not agree but I like to be able to stay connected. The internet was unusable from my condo and poor, at best, in the lounge/check-in area. I've had better rooms at Holiday Inn. I still don't understand why people buy time-shares.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank putsinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We spent a week at this resort along with my parents, nephews, and brother and his wife. We rented three Hillside units, two which were full sized units and one that was a smaller unit overlooking the pool. We stayed in the 8000 building. This building is perfect if you want to be close to the pool but if you want quiet 24/7 try their Riverside units. I found tripadvisor to be very confusing prior to coming to this resort as the resort has four properties: Hillside, Riverside, Riverview and I think there is a Mountainview. The only units close to the pool are called Hillside. However Hillside is not close to the clubhouse which houses a small indoor pool and hot tub, games room, hobby room, gym, play room, and movie room. They have DVD's for rent also in the clubhouse.

There are golf courses galore in this area and the villa's overlook a beautiful one. There is a restaurant that is decent in price and also a golf shop. There are a couple of playgrounds for the kids and scheduled activities for all ages. Also in Fairmont you will find a small but expensive grocery store, and of course the hot springs. You can try hiking to one of the pools on your own and not pay any money or you can visit the pay pool which is a must. Show your hotel room key and get a small discount. Note: the pool says absolutely no shoes of any kind but kids were wearing pool shoes here. The bottom of the pool is quite rough and so is the hotel pool. Our two young kids both ended up with cut feet after swimming for a short period of time. So pack your pool shoes.

Also, a great day trip is to visit Ft. Steele which is an hour away. Another must see. One thing we found with Fairmont is that the weather changes every half hour or so. So don't wait for the weather to be just perfect otherwise you will miss out on many adventures.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caro281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We love this place. Have a time share in Fairmount. Go there every winter for our family ski trip and soak in hot spring. We have two boys. Absolutely love our time in this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgarySummer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed at the Sunchaser Villas (formerly Fairmont Vacation Villa),through my mom's RCI timeshare exchange, in June 2011 and absolutely loved it!!! We stayed in the Riverview villas, which are the newest villas, and it was absolutely gorgeous!! Each room is either an A or a B. We stayed in the A side. If you have an option, or get to choose, I highly recommend the A side, as you have a private balcony that overlooks the golf course. It was great!!! The B side has a front balcony that overlooks the parking lot, but it is not a private balcony, it is in the open beside the walkway that everyone takes to get to their rooms. And the A side, from what we understand, is a bit larger of a unit. The only drawback about staying in the Riverview villas, as opposed to the Riverside or Hillside villas, is that you have to go back onto the highway and drive across a small bridge, and turn into where the resort and amenities are. There used to be access to the resort on a path through golf course, but the golf course has now put up a fence to stop guest from using that path for safety purposes. So if you have small children it may be easier to stay in Hillside villas (next to water park & playground), or Riverside villas (next to rec centre and playground). But if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle, Riverview is the place to be if you don't mind the small inconvenience of getting to the rec centre, playgrounds etc.

The resort and amenities are terrific!! The outside waterpark is quite large and looks like so much fun, but unfortunately it was undergoing maintenance and was not open, but there is an indoor pool (a little small), and a few hot tubs, both indoors and outdoors, plus the Radium Hot Springs and Fairmont Hot Springs aren't far away. There are 2 playgrounds, and there are tons of crafts and activities you can sign your little ones up for! As well, there are so many programs and activities running for adults and families to sign up for. You can be as busy as you want, or relax as much as you want.

We highly recommend this resort and will definitely be returning again and again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 24Magoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont Hot Springs
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#1 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
144 reviews
14.1 mi away
Best Western Invermere Inn
22.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#4 of 23 in Radium Hot Springs
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,689 reviews
22 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#6 of 23 in Radium Hot Springs
318 reviews
23.1 mi away
Panorama Vacation Retreat at Horsethief Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside

Address: 5129 Riverview Gate Rd | Highways 93 & 95, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L1, Canada (Formerly Fairmont Vacation Villas)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fairmont Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont Hot Springs
Price Range: £57 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunchaser Vacation Villas At Riverside Hotel Fairmont Hot Springs
Fairmont Vacation Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing