We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shameful rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Shameful rip off”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We reserved and paid for a full week at the Sunchaser Vacation Villas Family Day 2013. We checked out after one night and lost all our money, with no satisfaction offered. Inside the unit (2016 A and B) the paint was peeling and there was black mould around the windows. The unit has not been updated since the 1980s. The front desk offered us another unit which we declined because, it doesn't make sense to think they put us in a slum if they had a better unit reserved in case of a complaint. But apparently that's how they operate.
When I contacted Northwynds, the property rental management company they said the units are being taken out of the market for renovations at the end of February. Northwynds said because we turned down the alternative they don't owe us anything.
Northwynds / Sunchaser is highly deceptive and misleading, almost fraudulent. DO NOT GO THERE.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    82
    37
    14
    24
See reviews for
85
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
607 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed here for a week in mid-Feb and the experience was most enjoyable. When combined, the A and B suites offer a LOT of space! The beds are large and comfortable, and each suite offered a pull-out hide-a-bed, too. Kitchen facilities are nice, large and relatively well equipped; and the BBQ out on the patio is a treat to have (those BBQ's heat up VERY FAST and get really HOT!). Bathroom facilities are in good shape and the Jacuzzi-style bathtubs are comparable to an Olympic-sized swimming pool (...almost).

The public recreation facilities offered a decent sized, and well equipped gym, and a nice, big swimming pool with multiple hot tubs.

Very Nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Keith-B-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hillside area in the 4000 block and had both the A and B suites. We were there with our 2 girls (6 and 4) and good friends of ours stayed at the Marble Canyon suites and have 3 kids (16, and twin 6 year olds). We spent considerable time at both places.

Overall, I had a great time. The area is beautiful and it was not very busy at this time of year. We stayed on a corner unit on the main floor so did not have to go up or down the stairs which was good with kids and packing/unpacking. There were some positives and unfortunately some negatives. I'll start with the negatives to get that out of the way and leave the review on a high note.

1. The wireless Internet connection is really not good at all. It was spotty, slow and wanted you to re-authenticate every time you reconnected. It was free but still not a good experience at all? In fact, I found it more reliable to use my Blackberry as a hot spot to connect with my IPAD. My wife's IPAD had the same experience so it was not just my IPAD that was the problem.

2. The water pressure was very low. The toilets did not flush well in either the A or B unit and the shower pressure was hampered by the fact you cold not turn the shower all the way on. It still flowed through the tub halfway with the shower on.

3. The pillows were pretty uncomfortable. I would recommend bringing your own if you can

4. The most disappointing of all the negatives was the lack of privacy and "thin" walls. The bathrooms had sliding doors that connected to the bedrooms and you could hear anyone in the suite above and below whenever they opened/closed it. You could also hear the T.V. in the other units when it was up even a little high. We were also "blamed" for being too loud by the unit below. The part that frustrated us was that we got a call from the front desk regarding the noise in our unit yet we had not even been in the unit for 15 minutes after being out all afternoon and it was 6:00pm?? We also reiterated the fact we have 5 kids in the unit and they knew that when we had 5 kids when we booked and checked in. Now, I consider our kids and our friends kids pretty well behaved and we don't let them go crazy or anything. At the time we got the call, they were in the B unit playing hide and seek. We got 2 calls within 10 minutes of each other too. Our kids were not overly loud or obnoxious by any means. I will agree and experienced it first hand that the privacy is not great and the walls are pretty thin, but first of all, it was known we had 4 kids under the age of 6 so they are going to run around a bit, and second, it was between 6 and 6:30!! By 9:00pm every night we were probably the quietest units there. It was because of that call that I could not really relax the rest of the trip in the units and it was a real downer.

Now, having said that, there were some very good positives:

1. The layout of the units was very good and the balcony on the A unit was great and overlooked the river and mountains behind. The beds were comfortable (not the pillows as mentioned), the rooms were well stocked with dishes and cleaning supplies, and it was clean.

2. The pool area was great for the kids and it had an indoor and outdoor hot tub. The kids had a great time in the pools and so did we. We went almost every night we could.

3. The kids entertainment guy, Yves, was absolutely spectacular. The way he was with the kids was great. He really was a highlight and should be commended for his work. We made butterflies, stomp rockets and did a treasure hunt. Nothing but great things to say about the whole experience and especially Yves.

4. The proximity of our unit to everything Fairmont has to offer was great. It was easy access to the market and close to the hot pools. The parking was plentiful and easy to get to our rooms. One note too, nothing to do with the place we stayed but the pizza place where the market and everything else was (Fairmont pizza I think) was very good and I highly recommend it.

5. Check in and check out was hassle free and quick

So, all that being said, our overall experience was positive but there were a couple of negatives that took away from an otherwise great time. Fairmont is beautiful and I would go back again but would probably look at staying somewhere else to try something else.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Drogo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We actually stayed at the Hillside Villas in Fairmont which are part of Riverside but up the hill a bit. The rooms are nice but getting a little run down. The carpet is starting to buckle some and the wallpapered rooms are showing wear...peeling, etc. but all in all, a good stay. Not too suitable for the handicapped as there are no elevators. Another downside to Hillside is the pool, etc is closed for the winter season so one has to go to Riverside to partake of the indoor pool, hot-tubs and steam room...never could get the sauna to work which was disappointing. They also had the golf course clubhouse closed so no restaurants were open, you had to go up to the Hwy for eats. Still, the surrounding area with the mountains on either side of the valley is very scenic and relaxing to look at with lots of year round things to do.

The ski hill was well maintained thus great for skiers and snow-boarders and the Hot Spring pools at the Lodge were nothing short of wonderful. I've been to Fairmont Hot Springs many, many times and it never ceases to amaze.

The staff at Riverside/Hillside are great to deal with and cater to your every need. I will return again and again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snorkelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANADA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

If you own a Sunchaser timeshare at Fairmont Hot Sprngs BC and received your maintenance fee bill and letter regarding renovation...please email me. Interested in your thoughts on this 28 to 38 million dollar Reno that we as owners have to help pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
65 Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Our family is visiting BC for the second time and the first time we're staying for any length of time. The people in the recreation center/office were welcoming at night when we first arrived and have been ever since. Whenever we have a question, they answer on the first ring and always have a quick and appropriate answer. The recreation assistant director is in charge of every activity this month (since its off-season), and he's on time for every activity and always enthusiastic. The condo-type rooms were clean and have plenty of space for a group twice our size. There are four of us in a two bedroom double, which usually sleeps six. Eight could fit without much competing for space since there are great views from every window and four televisions.

Room Tip: Remodeling is being done (only during the day and not outside our window) so next time there'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenster Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Thnaks to tripadvisor we had a great view of the golf course.. not the parking lot. A reviewer said to ask for side A so we did. Side B not only looks over the parking lot but their patio BBQ is also on the walkway next to the parking lot. It looks like the BBQ might be shared as well. No wonder no one uses them.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Units are clean and well equiped. Stainless steel fry pans always stick so we took advantage of the teflon grill offered at the office.

I had a bicycle accident and when my husbnd called the office to find the closest clinic they sent over a first aid trained rep and cleaning lady. There was a LOT of blood so they were both a welcome site. The cleaning lady even scrubbed the blood off my shoes. Unfortunately my pants had blood on the bottom so she THREW MY PANTS AWAY! I had only worn them a few times so I asked the manager for $30 so I could replace them. No deal. She offered videos which we said NO to. She offered a short sleeve cotton blouse so I accepted.

Room Tip: Ask for side A!! If you don't want to haul all your stuff up stairs ask for main floor as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grammasue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont Hot Springs
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#1 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
129 reviews
14.0 mi away
Best Western Invermere Inn
22.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#3 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,412 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
#2 of 3 in Fairmont Hot Springs
46 reviews
22.0 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside

Property: Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside
Address: 5129 Riverview Gate Rd | Highways 93 & 95, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L0, Canada (Formerly Fairmont Vacation Villas)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fairmont Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunchaser Vacation Villas At Riverside Hotel Fairmont Hot Springs
Fairmont Vacation Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing