We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice condo, best for families with kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside
Vashon Island, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice condo, best for families with kids”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed in the river view section and the condo was very nice and quiet for the most part. I would recommend this place for families with kids in the summer - I have no experience of the other seasons. We basically used it as a base for travel throughout the area and enjoyed Canal Flats, Invermere, Radium Hot Springs, and Kootenay National Park. The aquatic center was disappointing - basically a large kiddie pool. The indoor pool is nice but small but the hot tubs were closed. We tried going to Fairmont Hot Springs but it was wall-to-wall people most of the time - best time is first thing in the morning. Radium Hot Springs is better for adults - larger hot pool and less crowded.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank razgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    83
    38
    14
    25
See reviews for
87
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Nestled between the Purcell and Rocky Mountains along the beautiful Columbia river, Sunchaser Vacations Villas offers a nice quiet respite from the stresses of life! I have been in the visiting the valley yearly for decades and come back year after year. The Villas at Riverside are actually made up of there "sets of Villas" - Riverside (the original, Hillside and then the newest, Riverview). The nicest units are the Riverview but you are also furthest away from the Recreation Center - you need to drive as you have to go via the highway. HIllside is nice too but the Riverside units are dated - although an effort is underway to renovate them. The Recreation Center is dated and the indoor pool never very good - very noisy and small. The tennis courts are good and the newer Hillside outdoor pool is nice. The golf courses in the area are the real draws, including the connected Riverside Course. Wifi is included but it is really slow and fails regularly forcing you to reconnect. Every time you leave the building (or your room) you are forced to sign in again...this is a simple technical fix but does not seem a priority. The television and other technologies are being slowly updated but do not expect newest TV's and the connections for kids games, computers, etc you would expect when staying an extended period with kids to entertain!! It is a good location and great place to stay with lots to do - including planned activities through he rec center. Seee room warning below.

Room Tip: If you receive a B-side in Riverside do anything you can to trade it for an A side or pay for the wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the 8100 or the brown bldg in B unit. Full kitchen, everything we needed, washer and dryer that is in the hallway shared with A unit. Everything clean and functional. Could use a bit of updating. Would stay here again. Gorgeous area!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank freik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in the 8000 building, next to the pool, for a week. All check in and staff interactions were fantastic: wonderful people work here!

The room was dated, existing firmly in the early 90's. The art, decor, technology, appliances: all old, but workable. Given that you are probably up here for the views, outdoor adventures, etc...it isn't too much of a letdown.

The rooms themselves work well. The pool is awesome, and the towns are amazing.

Drive to Banff. Just do it.

A great point to launch off to other adventures.

Room Tip: Some of the buildings have been recently renovated, but the 8000 building has not (from our experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forrest B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The remodeled Riverview is the best place to stay at Sunchaser Villas. We were initially assigned to a Hillside unit closer to the office/pool with a nice view of the mountains but they are dated. I would highly recommend the 2BD suites/villa on Riverview which are basically 2-1BR apts connected by a common entry but separate entry. These have nice kitchens and patio with beautiful views from the balcony. We were in unit 8125 A/B which was the best view of the golf course and the Columbia River. Make sure you get a unit with a rear view (River/Mountains) vs some others which were facing the parking areas. These are the only units that have elevators which was required for our group.

Room Tip: Rear facing balconies with views of the Golf Course/River/Mountain. The highest floor is 4th and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triphopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Having phoned and emailed to arrange family vocation asking specifically for two units together arrived to find two units on different levels. Ideal start. Unit next door to ours a, b unit empty.
The reception just say no. Although they are very efficient at getting you to sign the various contracts for staying. The largest and most complicated I have seen. Put usa to shame with complexity.

Units are tired and fold down beds in both units are old and thin so prepare for back ache.
My advice is if coming on family holiday pick somewhere else about this area.
Will update as week goes on. Not expecting much

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelalot001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fairmont Hot Springs hotels

New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

After reading some reviews I was wary about making this exchange reservation thru Interval but it was too late to change it. As a Starwood owner, I am accustomed to a fairly high standard of amenities and service. Having exchanged thru Interval in the past, I knew the Hillside Villas would probably be a step down from the Westin/Sheraton locations. But, despite the 1980's decor of the unit, our subterranean level 1-bedroom villa (A) side in the 4000 building turned out to be clean and spacious with a decent, albeit obscured, view of the mountains in the distance. Yes, we could hear every footstep of the folks in the unit above us. (Thankfully there were no kids running around.) But we got used to it. No housekeeping service during the week, unlike Starwood, but that was ok too. The golf was right around the block and the pool was across the road, which was convenient. The local grocery store was outrageously expensive so we were glad to have shopped at Target before we left Vancouver. It took us 11 hours by car but we saw the most breathtaking scenery (plus a big black bear who crossed in front of us!) along the way. The Fairmont Hot Springs are a short distance away by car and cost about $12 Canadian to get in but soothed my swollen and achy legs and made me feel great!! We also drove to Banff and saw the indescribably gorgeous Lake Louise. Most of our week was spent away from the resort in Invermere, where I had no trouble booking a spa day (Fairmont was all booked up) as my hubby golfed at Eagle Ranch. The weather was very dry and the skies so blue, a welcome respite from the muggy NY we call home. Overall, a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeDriveWeFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont Hot Springs
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#1 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
134 reviews
14.0 mi away
Best Western Invermere Inn
22.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#7 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Piccadilly Motel
Piccadilly Motel
#2 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
174 reviews
13.9 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,511 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
#2 of 3 in Fairmont Hot Springs
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside

Property: Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside
Address: 5129 Riverview Gate Rd | Highways 93 & 95, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L0, Canada (Formerly Fairmont Vacation Villas)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fairmont Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunchaser Vacation Villas at Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunchaser Vacation Villas At Riverside Hotel Fairmont Hot Springs
Fairmont Vacation Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing