We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,spacious,quiet..a nice getaway to the mountains.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Clean,spacious,quiet..a nice getaway to the mountains.”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is a large well-maintained resort overall. I rented a one bedroom bungalow style villa which was an end unit,meaning the villa was attached only on one side.The unit next door was also empty for the week,so I had total privacy.These villas are well designed and very comfortable.Mine looked like it had been recently updated with new laminate flooring in the open kitchen area, as well as newer carpeting in the hallways and bedroom.I loved the full length windows and the huge closet space.Also,the vaulted ceiling in the living and dining room area.The appliances were also newer Whirlpool (dishwasher,stove,and stacked washer and dryer) and newer good sized fridge.Everything was included right down to the coffee filters and laundry soap.Fantastic!
The bathroom had also been updated with tile flooring,etc.I appreciated the full -size bath tub as so many places I have stayed at donot offer a tub that size. These villas donot have phones,however there are pay phone booths right outside,so it was never a problem.I also recommend carrying a cell phone.
The grounds are manicured and yes,it is right on a golf course,however golf season had not started quite yet. I recommend this resort for golfers and older couples.Its not really a kid friendly resort,although there are play areas there and a clubhouse with indoor pool,etc. The indoor pool is fairly small but clean.In fact,I found the whole clubhouse to be very clean.
The reviews I have read on here donot respect the fact that "it is what it is" .Clean,comfortable,spacious,etc. It does not feature wireless internet inside the villas (although you can rent a box if you really want that ,or go to the clubhouse and receive a good signal) or waterslides for the kids, or endless amounts of other distractions.But what is the reason you came here in the first place? Was it not to get away from the city and noise and hustle bustle?
The villa did have a flat screen television with a clear picture and many cable stations.A wood burning fireplace (wood included),lots of hot water, and a nice deck to sit on.
My only concerns were the gas barbecue (not really clean) and the noisy dishwasher (turn it on only when you go out).
The villas are located a short car ride up the hill from the mineral pools and not really walking distance.We went to the pool between 730pm and 9pm as the admission rate drops to $5.50 for the last 90 minutes before they close.Loved the hot pools and felt so good afterwards.
We bought some groceries down the road at the local store and found the prices to be expensive overall compared to larger centres,but that's because they are the only ones in town.There is also a Sobey's in Invermere which is also higher than Alberta prices but they do have more of a selection.I recommend buying your food in Alberta and bringing it out or,if coming from B.C., stopping in Cranbrook to shop.
This vacation gave us what we were looking for. Some time away to relax and rejuvenate.I would definitely return!

Room Tip: I stayed in a bungalow style one bedroom, and they are end units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank swcgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0untainsidevillas, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, we do hope you come back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    46
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
58
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We spent approximately 6 days at the Mountainside Vacation Villas. We were surprised by how spacious the suite was and were very pleased with the kitchen. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. I found the sofa bed pretty comfortable. The accommodations were just right for our family of four (two children under three).

We found all of of the food in the local restaurants to be over priced and mediocre. The only places worth visiting where the greek restaurant and Hoodoos Bar and Grill. Of course you have to drive everywhere. We were hoping that there were more places that were walking distance.

We visited Kootenay National Park almost every day of our trip. The drive was about 45 minutes from the resort to the west gate of the park. We enjoyed many day hikes. I wish that the resort was located slightly closer to the Park.

The suites could use a upgrade in decor, but it's not desperately needed. The only other bad thing about the resort is that it is located right on a golf course. This is bad when you have small children because guests are forbidden to spend any time on the grass right outside the unit! This made it difficult for my sons to play outside (which is what we wanted considering we live year round in a high rise). I also wasn't impressed by the indoor pool. It was small and smelled very strongly of chlorine. There was supposed to be wireless internet access available in our suite, but it was very spotty and never strong enough to stream music or movies.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mimer9600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0untainsidevillas, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are happy that you enjoyed our resort overall. We have upgraded our wireless internet and guests are happy with it. We hope to have you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Mountainside villas are large and well equipped. Could do with more modern finishes but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedArmy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0untainsidevillas, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your vacation with us. We are not a modern resort in terms of decor, we definately have a more rustic feel as we are settled in Mountains, feels more like home, warm and comfy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My mother and father in-law bought a time share here many years ago. For 7 days each year our family comes to unwind and enjoy all the things this area has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poucher68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0untainsidevillas, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are lucky to be located where we are, many things to see and do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterloo, ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Great location, clean and lots of amenities. Cook (full kitchen all equipped) and clean (washer and dryer) while having a great time at Panorama, Radium Hot Springs, Toby Creek Adventures, and of course Fairmont Hot Spring. A quick drive to Kimberley or Fernie makes this great. Set a roaring fire every night, rent a movie and do a little R&R.

The views are breathtaking. The people are incredibly friendly and this is a great place to rest your head.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anna'sopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0untainsidevillas, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you for positing such wonderful comments, we are always happy when our guests are happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

I’ve been coming here since I was a kid, and many many years later it’s still beautiful. Picturesque setting in the mountains and with the lake so close fun activities surround you. The rec centre is still great, stocked with games, acitivites, pool, and pool tables, you can meet new friends or just sit on the deck with a book and ignore the world. 5 minutes from the Hot Springs, and a short drive to Invermere the location is ideal for a family vacation. The staff can always point you in the right direction, especially to the wine tastings! Can’t wait until next year’s trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderinginWonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0untainsidevillas, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are lucky to be located where we are, so much to do including wine tasting!! We are glad you have enjoyed so many years of vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed in a one bedroom condo off the golf course which had an amazing view, but the mosquitos were so bad you couldn't appreciate the view. The mosquitos swarmed around the entrance to the condo so we all had to run into the room. When we were finally inside, it was old, stale and hot. There was no a/c so we opened the windows to where the screens had holes or did not fit on the window properly. When wanting to speak to the front desk there was no phone so we walked to the center where no one worked until 9am. When we finally did get to speak to someone that worked there, she was rude and annoyed with the fact that we were there. (It was obvious that the front desk staff do not like working there either!!) She also told us that there was a 3o day cancellation so we would have to pay for any cancellations. If you want to sleep, the beds are old and uncomfortable! Even if you do get to sleep there is no a/c and if you do dare to open the windows to allow the mosquitos to enter, the sprinklers will go off at 3 am 5 am and 7 am right outside your window!!! My child's face was covered with mosquito bites when we finally left!! There is also no restaurant. The workout room is old and of no use. I also DO NOT recommend the FAntasia park next to the hotel as it is also animal cruelty.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carnjj00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0untainsidevillas, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are constantly refurbishing and do make upgrades as needed. We do not have phones or air conditioning in the units however A/C units can be installed upon your request while you stay with us. Unfortunately we can not do too much about the mosquitoes other than put up with them for the couple of months they are here. Living in the country as we do, we find lots of bugs and wildlife that can make our days and nights a bit uncomfotable however they are usually gone by September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont Hot Springs
22.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#3 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
374 reviews
14.4 mi away
Best Western Invermere Inn
22.5 mi away
Piccadilly Motel
Piccadilly Motel
#2 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,412 reviews
22.4 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#4 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
#2 of 3 in Fairmont Hot Springs
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas

Property: Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Address: 5247 Fairmont Creek Rd, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fairmont Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive Golf Course Development comprising 116 fully furnished one- and two-bedroom villas offering privacy, comfort and magnificent scenery. Nestled amongst the wooded slopes of the spectacular Rocky Mountains, every villa enjoys mountain and golf course views. Don't be surprised if deer and other wildlife make an appearance during your stay! Large and spacious, the villas offer all the conveniences of your own home, including a fireplace, a complete and fully stocked kitchen and a barbecue. Comfortable and tasteful oak furnishings and luxurious carpeting throughout reflect a top quality resort. Each villa has many special features and extras, like vaulted cedar ceilings, your own washer & dryer, dishwasher, hairdryer, Cable TV, DVD, CD and Wi-Fi (*Note: Wi-Fi at a charge of $15.00 per week). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas Hotel Fairmont Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing