We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairmont Hot Springs Resort
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days for my brothers wedding, also at the resort up at the ski chalet. We had a wonderful time. The resort is clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, the beds are comfortable, rooms clean, and lots to do there. The hot springs /pool were a blast. The restaurants and bar were a little pricey in the resort, but there were other places to eat near by that were affordable and delicious. This was our annual vacation, we drove 18 hours to get here, and were absolutely not disappointed. The only thing I will say that's somewhat negative is that everything closes kind of early, including the bar. I can appreciate this, being that it is a family resort and they want things quiet. It was still a great stay, money well spent.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for the review on Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR) . We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a, primarily, family resort, in July and August, we do tend to quiet down and get everyone tucked into bed fairly early. We find most folks are tuckered out from their day of; hiking, swimming, horseback riding, golfing, etc. and all the fesh air that goes with these activiites.
We look forward to seeing you again sometime even although its an 18 hour drive.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    218
    92
    53
    30
See reviews for
207
201
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I booked this resort as my brother and his wife like it. We planned to get together before I returned home, so we chose this place. When I booked, they said that they would get me a rom close to the pool as my son enjoys swimming. I did not ask they just offered, but when I arrived the room they gave me was as far away from the pool as possible. I also booked the Band B special. If I ever stay at this location again, which I doubt I will, I will not do that again, over priced and they charge extra for my 12 year old son and the breakfast s not great. Otherwise Ok for family, nice pool. but should have a little more control on the diving board. Large kids seem to take over and push the little ones away

Room Tip: If you want quiet, away from the pool, but if you have kids, ask for room near pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR). Our Front Desk, Food and Beverage and Pools Managers are reviewing your comments. All of your comments are helpful in trying to improve our product and service offferings. We sincerley hope that you may consider FHSR as an option for a vacation in the future.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This may be a family destination but we advise you step up your act for the prices you charge. Vacuum your hallways - not done in our 3 day 2 night stay on the 6th floor. No coffee or sugar in our room. Front desk offered fruit water - first day no cups, second day cups but no water!
Room a bit dated, great bed, good linens, walls paper thin. Nice balcony except for the ketchup on the table and on balcony/deck floor. Room was clean, carpet in our room needed more attention. Need to train your staff better. We got different answers from different staff yes you can make reservations to sit outside for evening meal, arrived to find out no you can't. First morning not offered juice, second morning informed it was part of our buffet service. First morning told could not order daily breakfast special as it took too long to prepare, second morning different story. Omlette station good but be patient. Dinner in main dining room first night was horrible, redeemed your food quality the second night. Gorgeous scenery.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on you recent experience at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR). Your comments are being reviewed by the Housekeeping and Food and Beverage Managers as part of an effort to improve our product and service. We find specific comments like yours very valuable.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our family visited the resort in the 70's and 80's and have many fond memories of it. Coming back was a bit of a reunion, and I was worried about the lodge not being as good so many years later. This was not the case for my brother and I. We stayed for 4 days in a pool view room in the main lodge and loved every day. The pools are the main draw: the smaller hotel guests only pool is open early to late and was not ever crowded. The hot pool-cold plunge pool with sauna and steam room in the adjacent building was fabulous. The bigger pool (open to paying non-guests) has three sections of differing temperatures. The 1M and 3M diving boards presented people with endless entertainment from the young to the old.

The lodge may not feel modern, but we felt it was clean, well kept, and the staff were very friendly. We had smoothies in the morning, or visited the buffet. Staff helped adjust the menu/price for my gluten free needs, which I really appreciated.

The bar has a fabulous patio, on which we ate multiple meals, had drinks, and even fell asleep for a short nap when it wasn't busy. They had multiple gluten free options (I had pizza, mussels/fries, and a burger).

We played mini golf, hiked up the mountain, and played bocci on the lawn. It's not 5 star, but the pools alone make this resort a joyful experience.

Room Tip: Get a pool view - it's worth it - and the balcony overlooking lawn and pool was a lovely place t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your positive review of your Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR) experience. We are pleased that your special food requirements were met. We sincerley hope that it is not as long as the last time before you visit us again.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is not a "Fairmount Hotel" but the Fairmount Hot Springs Resort located in Fairmount Hot Springs..... it is not a part of the luxury hotel chain..... just wanted to make that clear.... we stayed in the main lodge, the rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable but they are dated, we had an outside door with a small patio area with a couple of chairs and a little table perfect to enjoy an evening drink while taking in the marvelous view of the mountains, there is a separate bathing pool located next tot the main lodge is reserved for guests staying in the lodge or cottages, the accommodations included several choices, the lodge, self contained cottages, larger rooms in almost a townhouse setting and there is a camp ground there as well .....the location is absolutely beautiful located with mountains all around, the staff were very friendly and accommodating, we took advantage of a package that included breakfast.... and also had dinner in the restaurant the evening of our arrival...... it was very good...... not a fancy place but good value, comfortable and clean...... what more can you ask for! We were a couple but this is also a great place for the whole family!

Room Tip: Ask for a King with walkout access to the mineral/bathing pool located at the back of the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherriMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your very descriptive review of Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR). You did a really good job of summarising FHSR. Yes FHSR is indeed a great family destination but also works well for all ages and couples only too.
We do hope that you will be able to return again in the not too distant future.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Ive been coming here every year since I was a little girl. This resort is really showing it`s age. Our phone wasnt working properly (it didnt even include the notes of what numbers to press to connect to certain parts on the resort) The carpet looks like it`s from the 70`s.. the bathroom has floral designs.. For the price you pay, this resort is NOT worth it. $219 a night for nothing fancy. I think I will be finding a new place for our annual summer vacation.
The worst part of it all, we had free breakfast vouchers with our stay, which ended up being the SAME buffet everyday. We couldnt order off the menu without extra charges as they are short staffed. I ended up pleading for oatmeal, they did end up making it but for an additional charge of 7 dollars. Not happy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR). We are sorry you did not feel that you received good value for the cost of your room even with unlimited complimentary use of Canada's largets mineral hot springs and daily breakfast buffet .
The Food and Beverage Manager has been notified of your comments regarding you breakfast. We will also be using your comments to assist us in planning and product improvement.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fairmont Hot Springs hotels

Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great place to stay since it gives you free access to the large hot springs pools, as well as the ones that are only for hotel guests. Breakfast at the Mountain Flowers restaurant is OK but nothing special. I suggest you can get better meals at the Hoodoo Grill just south on the highway, or at Strand's just north in the town of Invermere. Rooms had comfortable beds and linens but the decor was straight out of the 80's.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlver95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for the review on your stay at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR).
We are pleased you enjoyed the natural hot springs pools. Hopefully you return again and perhaps you could try our restaurants at both our golf courses as alternative dining choices or in the winter our ski lodge restaurants. Your comments help us with our planning for future FHSR improvements.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont Hot Springs
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#1 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
132 reviews
22.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#3 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
392 reviews
14.6 mi away
Best Western Invermere Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#20 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
99 reviews
14.4 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,460 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
Fairmont Mountain Bungalows
#2 of 3 in Fairmont Hot Springs
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hot Springs Resort

Property: Fairmont Hot Springs Resort
Address: 5225 Fairmont Resort Rd, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fairmont Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairmont Hot Springs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hot Springs Hotel Fairmont Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing