We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing !”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fairmont Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairmont Hot Springs Resort
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Returned for second honeymoon. Beds uncomfortable but room was clean and quiet although hallways dark!. The springs were filthy! The food was terrible..no choice, under cooked, greasy. The mojito came with clumps of dirt on the mint leaves. Not going to eat there again! Definitely not resort quality this time..... showing age!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for the review on your recent return visit to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR). We are disappointed that you did not find everything to your satisfaction. I hope you also took the time to leave more specific comments through one of feedback mechanisms.
We promise to try and provide the 'resort quality' you expect and hope that we get a chance to prove ourselves to you sometime.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hubby and i took our yearly trip to Montana a couple weeks ago and stopped at fairmont for lunch. wanted to check out the property for a future stay. Had lunch in the bar whiskey joes i believe, shared a nacho which was huge and delicious. cocktails seemed a little pricier than most of our other stops around the area, probably because it is a resort. The server wasnt really to friendly not even a smile or thank-you. The rooms are also very pricey we would probably stay before summer pricing in the hopes that the resort would be less crowded in the pools!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank CAROLYN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for the review on your visit to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR) and the Bear's Paw Lounge and Grill. We have passed on your comments regarding your server to the Food and Beverage Manager.
We look forward to seeing you as overnight guests. Yes, spring, fall and winter offer special rate options and a little quieter resort.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Restraunt is terrible, mountain flowers, undercooked/ burnt food,bad service, creamers curdled the coffee , raw eggs, burnt toast, altogether very sloppy... Not a single good meal ... We ate there 5 times during our stay.

Service throughout the resort was awful... worst I've ever seen in a hotel ridiculously long check in process, more then an hour... Checkin and check out.. check out billing issues, no room service at all, unfriendly/rude staff.

Hotel itself rundow , rooms not properly cleaned, found cell phone from previous guest under the bed, ice bucket full of water in room. Dingy outdated bed linens, bad smell.

Overall would not recommend any one stay here.... Stay in invermere and visit the hot springs for a swim.. Don't waste your money on this "resort"





  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serendipity234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

It is difficult to respond to a review such as this except to say that we take your comments very seriously and will use them to try and improve our product and service in the future.
We are truly sorry that we did not meet any of your expecations.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is our second year going to Fairmont. We liked our pool view this time. The mountain view rooms looked nice although we had a high ceiling and nice little balcony. Country chalet type furnishings, very appropriate. You can wander over to the hot pools in your housecoat and can come and go as you please. Free admission is included in the room rate. Go early if you want a lounge chair. The resort store has the best selection of bathing suits for sunning that you will find anywhere! There is also the hotel pool which has a bit longer hours. It is very hot though- the days were about 30 degrees and I found myself wishing there was a cooler pool there too. We love the pub and restaurant and especially dining on the decks in comfortable outside tables or outdoor couches. We got a special deal on our third night as I had subscribed to their emails. They do have a lot of special deals throughout the year. Fairmont is great for couples or families. Fun and relaxation abound!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Moonbeams7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for the review on your recent visit to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR).
We are thrilled that you enjoyed everything so much. Sorry, the natural hot springs water was hotter than you wanted during our summer heat wave!
We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My family and I enjoyed the stay at this resort up until the last day. During check out I had a question about the final invoice and was told to wait for the manager. After 2 hour wait I decided to leave my cell phone for him to call as soon as he gets in. After 4 1/2 hours I still did not receive a call and was told that the manager is in but the new guests that are checking in are more important and they will call when it is convenient for them.
I called back 2 more time after that before I talked with the manager. I wanted to clarify the final invoice since I was under the assumption that I was to receive a special promotional price. I was willing to pay the higher amount since I did not have any written agreement at that time and was told I needed proof.
What angered me was the attitude I received from the manager and the other front desk staff. I was told that "we are at 100% occupancy and even if we had 100 more rooms we would still be at 100% occupancy".
Please make sure to bring ALL paperwork with you during check in and check out. Also, ask for a written copy of the charges during check in.
The restaurant staff were nice and the pool area was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SSiddons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We apologize that you were upset with your checkout and consequent communication to clarify your questions regarding your bill. It is certainly not our intention to upset guests in any way. We will endeavour to repsond to our guests in a more timely manner going forward and are currently looking at ways of accomplishing this.
The reference to the 100% occupancy was merely an effort to explain that Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR) would have the type offer you were saying was promised available at this time. And, the confirmation email you had received in May clearly showed there was no special offer booked.
Since I emailed our response to you regarding your concerns we have reviewed the issue and discovered the 'Fairmont Hotels and Resorts', who we are not affiliated with, have been offering the very special you were asking for. We suspect this may have been a part of the confusion.
You do bring up a good point for all travellers to check their reservation/confirmation communications and at check-in, so as to avoid confusion at check out.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Great place if you want relaxation time and not so far from home. It was our 2 and time. The best part is that you stay in resort, Hot Springs is right outside and you can see them from your window you can wear your robe and just go to hot springs right from your room. Restaurant food is amazing people are friendly nothing bad to say.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anastasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your very positive review of your experience at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR).
Funny you should mention using the robes from your room to walk to the pools. This has become a bit of a 'signature look' at FHSR. Guests seem to spend a lot of time in their robes while they are here, which creates a very relaxed 'at home' look.
We are glad you enjoyed everything and look forward to seeing you again.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days for my brothers wedding, also at the resort up at the ski chalet. We had a wonderful time. The resort is clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, the beds are comfortable, rooms clean, and lots to do there. The hot springs /pool were a blast. The restaurants and bar were a little pricey in the resort, but there were other places to eat near by that were affordable and delicious. This was our annual vacation, we drove 18 hours to get here, and were absolutely not disappointed. The only thing I will say that's somewhat negative is that everything closes kind of early, including the bar. I can appreciate this, being that it is a family resort and they want things quiet. It was still a great stay, money well spent.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for the review on Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR) . We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a, primarily, family resort, in July and August, we do tend to quiet down and get everyone tucked into bed fairly early. We find most folks are tuckered out from their day of; hiking, swimming, horseback riding, golfing, etc. and all the fesh air that goes with these activiites.
We look forward to seeing you again sometime even although its an 18 hour drive.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont Hot Springs
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#2 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
143 reviews
22.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#4 of 23 in Radium Hot Springs
445 reviews
14.6 mi away
Best Western Invermere Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,688 reviews
22.5 mi away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#6 of 23 in Radium Hot Springs
318 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Kanata Inns Invermere
The Kanata Inns Invermere
#3 of 3 in Invermere
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hot Springs Resort

Address: 5225 Fairmont Resort Rd, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fairmont Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont Hot Springs
Price Range: £62 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairmont Hot Springs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hot Springs Hotel Fairmont Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing