We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairmont Hot Springs Resort
Whitecourt, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have both stayed at this resort hotel since we were young children and still love it. It has always been a well maintained, classy place.
The beds are very comfortable with warm duvets and fluffy pillows. The wallpaper in the washroom is dated but very clean and bright so we didn't mind it at all.
The activities for kids are fabulous not to mention the many pools. The resort grounds are very well maintained and provide great views from your room and all restaurants. It really completes the feeling of the luxury resort.
The walking trails are great with spectacular views in every direction.
It's been a few years since we've stayed in the RV park on site so we can't comment on that now.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank snowgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Many thanks for the review of your recent stay at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR). FHSR has many customers who have enjoyed coming here for many years and as you describe find it a special place to relax.
We hope to see you back at FHSR, whether the Lodge or the RV Park, in the not too distant future.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    213
    88
    51
    27
See reviews for
198
193
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We booked the romance package for our anniversary and it was perfect! We took full advantage of all the amenities including the restaurant, pub, coffee shop, gift shop, all four pools, and the spa. Every single employee we came in contact with was incredibly friendly and helpful. Service was fast and friendly every time! The room was clean and spacious and surprisingly quiet considering we faced the pool. Other than a small misunderstanding about the breakfast that was included and the poor water pressure in the shower, I really can't say anything bad about this place. We'll be back for sure and bring the whole family!! :D

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaBear001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Many thanks for the very positive review of your recent stay at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR).
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and the service so much. we will make sure all the staff see your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to FHSR with your family.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed at the resort for two nights from the 22nd to the 24th. When we arrived we were told there was a boil water advisory that was in effect since the 20th. It would have been nice I have known this before as we had an infant with us and our room would not allow us to boils water as it was a standard room. They did offer water bottles and I was allowed to bring my bottles to the pub kitchen to run through the dishwasher.
Down side was no room service. They made us walk to pick up our orders several times and as I had an infant with me it made it somewhat difficult at night when I was yearning for a night time snack and drinks. We were not in the main lodge but off to the buildings on the side so it was rather inconvenient. I could have prepared better but I assumed most resorts have room service available. The food overall at the resort was pretty bland . Ended up going off site for most of our meals.
The rooms were decent, some wear and tear and upgrades could help.
Hot springs were amazing, resort location was great. Loved the family friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent visit to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR). We are pleased you enjoyed the pools and the family friendly atmosphere.
Sorry about the Boil Water Advisory (BWA). The BWA did not last long..... just long enough to cover your stay! It is unusal to get a BWA during the summer but a heavy rainfall from a summer storm created high turbitity in the local creeks. Fairmont Hot Springs is looking at going to a new well system which will hopefuly be installed in the next 18 months. This would avoid events like this one from happening again.
Thank you for comments regarding room service. We will also be working on this going forward.
We do hope that we will see you at FHSR again with normal water conditions.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

My family enjoyed the resort a lot. There is a lot to so there and it is set up for families. We ate only in one of the restaurants--expensive and not good at all. Some good restaurants nearby though.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BCJeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Many thanks for the review of your visit to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR). We are pleased you found FHSR so family friendly.
We hope to see you and your family here again soon......winter is lots of fun too!

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The good: views are gorgeous. Dinner at Mountain Flowers was fantastic. Service exceptional, meal amazing! Try the halibut!

The bad: the resort is dated and not very well maintained. The hot springs are packed to capacity and there seems to be a sense of "anything to make a buck." On the upside, the pool staff are good and do lots of fun contests to keep everyone's spirits up and having fun.

The ugly: the RV park is a DUMP. Literally. Our motorhome door opened right onto the neighbour's septic hookup, which was the same for everyone. There's no grass, just dusty gravel. We saw people who tried to open their awnings and were hitting the units next to them. Power was in & out, and the whole place just reeks of septic. For $50 a night it's a total rip off. We went to the RV office to inquire about a site a little less stinky, they were totally unwilling accommodate us and even argued that the sewage smell wasn't that bad.

Fairmont might be nice if you stay in the lodge, but if you're planning to camp out and enjoy hot springs, the whole town is worth skipping over. Find some hot springs somewhere else with a quality campground!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the review of your experience at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FSHR) and RV Park. We are sorry that your experience with the RV Park was less than satisfactory. This summer has been a challenge with the busyness of the RV Park and with watering restrictions for irrigation. Please do not take these as excuses; merely a little clarification. Challenges occur in any situation and we are measured on how they are managed or in this case not managed.
Your comments are appreciated as they will help us in trying to improve how we manage our business.
We do sincerley hope that we will see your back at FHSR sometime again.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fairmont Hot Springs hotels

Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in the RV park. Paid over $50 for a gravel site with the sewer connection under the RV, extremely dusty and close to neighbors (which our 5yo loved because he was making mud volcanos with the kids next door). Hot springs are ok, extra on top of lodging and really crowded. Wifi included but worthless. Lovely location.
Bathrooms were nice but they closed them for cleaning at 9am! Checkout was at 11am and when my husband wandered over at 10:15 to see when they'd be reopened, he was snidely replied with "can't you read?" They also wouldn't answer their phone when we wanted to make a reservation.
We won't stay here again, too expensive and not that great. Plus the rude staff soured us completely.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthieSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the review on your recent stay at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort's (FHSR) RV Park. We are sorry that your experience fell far short of what you would expect and what we would like to deliver.
Your comments are really valuable in helping us improve our product and service.
I do hope that in time you may consider giving FHSR another chance.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

A lovely all season resort with hot pools, golf, horseback riding. A great place for families or a romantic get away. Resort rooms are comfy and the restaurant has a varied menu that is reasonably priced. Perfect place to get away from it all!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunfl0wer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Exec. VP at Fairmont Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for the review on your visit to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort (FHSR). Your comments are really valued as a well travelled 'Senior Trip Advisor Contributor'.
We hope to see you again soon at FHSR.

Peter Smith
250-345-6055
psmith@fhsr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairmont Hot Springs
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation Villas
Fairmont Mountainside Vacation V...
#2 of 4 in Fairmont Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
22.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn R...
#5 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
14.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Invermere Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Piccadilly Motel
Piccadilly Motel
#2 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
22.5 mi away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#20 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
14.4 mi away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hot Springs Resort

Property: Fairmont Hot Springs Resort
Address: 5225 Fairmont Resort Rd, Fairmont Hot Springs, British Columbia V0B 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fairmont Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fairmont Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairmont Hot Springs Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Fairmont Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hot Springs Hotel Fairmont Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing