We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Downtowner Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Creston
Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I thought I may have mad a mistake by staying here as the manager was less than welcoming when we checked in, but it ended up being a good choice. No this is not a brand new inn but it is very clean. The bathrooms while very small have new tubs and fixtures. It is obvious the owners are updating rooms. It was wonderfull after a long day to go sit in the hot tub for a few minutes. On checking out the manager was much happier (maybe he was just glad to see us go). I'd stay again. The prices are good. Yes some of the chairs, carpet, and wall colors in the lobby are dated but they are functional and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayDee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsGreatAsHome, Owner at Downtowner Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am very sorry that you were left with the impression that we were glad to see you leave. I would be lying if I said that we had never had a guest that we weren't happy to see the last of, but that certainly was not true in your case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    36
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
36
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

A clean room, all the necessities, hot tub great after a day on a motorcycle, close to amenities. Owners helpful with information about the area - suggesting places to visit. Ask for the seniors' rate as it is not posted.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side - no street noise. Had an excellent sleep in a very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reinhold1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsGreatAsHome, Owner at Downtowner Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thanks very much for the kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Was about the least expensive in town and for the price was very adequet for a one night stay. Owners were very personable and friendly. It was very quiet and has large gathering area in centre of motel along with whirlpool

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmonsjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsGreatAsHome, Owner at Downtowner Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The Downtowner left a lot to be desired. Travelled with a group of friends on a 2 week motorcycle trip and have to say that this place was our least favorite. Very dated rooms, and the front desk staff seemed less than pleased that we were there. Won't be recommending this place to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsGreatAsHome, Owner at Downtowner Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Yes, "dated" is a word that has been used to describe our decor, although many others prefer to use the word "charming".

Truly, we are not big on following the yearly fashion trends in home decor (and charging accordingly). What we do strive to provide is a clean, comfortable, and convenient place with a relaxed atmosphere and all the expected amenities - all at a reasonable price. Thousands say that we have been successful.

We do, however, apologize to you for somehow leaving the impression that you were less than welcome. Nothing could be further from the truth! The only reason I can think of for this is that you were part of a group that hadn't booked ahead. We may have, therefore, seemed to be short with you when we were only trying to expedite your check-in for you. In any case, we are sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We, my husband and I found the Downtowner very comfortable, especially clean and a very comfortable price. The owners were very pleasant and helpful about the town of Creston. We plan on staying there every time we go thru the Kootenays.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsGreatAsHome, Owner at Downtowner Motor Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to post your review. Your comments have been passed on to our housekeeping staff who are just thrilled, as they always are when someone notices the results of their hard work.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just had a quick one night stay there and for basic accommodation, it was quite good. The place was clean, quiet and comfortable, but what made it memorable was the hosts, Marg and Rob, who made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baba L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsGreatAsHome, Owner at Downtowner Motor Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thanks very much for your kind words, and for taking the time to do so. It was our pleasure to have you with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The Downtowner Motor Hotel in Creston, British Columbia is a reasonable hotel with cheap prices, clean rooms and friendly staff. The hotel has no restaurant but there are a few within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsGreatAsHome, Owner at Downtowner Motor Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to pass along your thoughts. We appreciate all comments from our guests. We hope to see you again when you are out this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Creston hotels
0.3 mi away
Creston Valley Motel
Creston Valley Motel
#1 of 11 in Creston
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Creston Hotel
Creston Hotel
#3 of 11 in Creston
92 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Creston
Ramada Creston
#2 of 11 in Creston
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Creston
Magnuson Hotel Creston
#6 of 11 in Creston
83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Skimmerhorn Inn
Skimmerhorn Inn
#7 of 11 in Creston
68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#11 of 11 in Creston
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtowner Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtowner Motor Inn

Property: Downtowner Motor Inn
Address: 1218 Canyon Street | P.O. Box 490, Creston, British Columbia V0B 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Creston
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Creston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Downtowner Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in Creston, the Downtowner features well-equipped rooms that open onto a spacious lounging area for guest's relaxation.A sauna and hot tub are also available.Convenient central location puts shopping, restaraunts, pubs, theatre, music just steps away.Whether you are visiting Creston while on business, or enjoying your holidays in the Kootenays, the Downtowner Motor Inn gladly provides guests with all the necessities to ensure we exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Downtowner Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing