We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting tour”
Review of Columbia Brewery

Columbia Brewery
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Creston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Kokanee Beer Gear Store operates brewery tours of the Columbia Brewery, home of Kokanee
Carseland, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Interesting tour”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

An easy, informative tour of a local brewery showcasing how beer is made. Enjoyed the beer sampling at the end. Tour guide did a very good job.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Fun tour and sampling”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I have always admired the Kokanee TV ads, even though I don't drink beer. The plant tour ends with a video overview of Columbia's history and ad campaigns. The tour is pretty interesting, the plant very clean and there is a sampling of beers after the tour. Worth a stop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank selmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting Tour & Family Friendly”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My two teenage sons (14 & 18), husband and I enjoyed the tour. Our tour guide was very informative and took us through the various brewing stages and areas used to brew the beer, as. well as the bottling and packaging area. After the tour you get to enjoy a glass of beer (children under 19 get juice). Adults are $5.00, children under 19 are free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cadetsoccermommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Beer....”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We read the criteria, etc for the tour. it's very inexpensive and it was ever more so for our tour. during a holiday, the tour is almost free since the brewery is not functioning. actually I liked it better because there was no smell, no extreme sounds, just beautiful guide with a wicked sense of humour. (yes it's spelled correctly, in Canada anyway). the bronze statue of the Kokanee beer stealing Sasquatch is great fun for pictures, so is the large gigantic beer mug outside. THEN each person of appropriate age gets a free beer of their choice (brewed in house of course) to enjoy while watching a very amusing video. the tour is up and down flights of stairs, could be very noisy and smelly. and remember to wear closed toed shoes or you'll be wearing one of theirs. yuk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Line B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creston, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tour & beer gear store”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Nice tour, smelly but nice to learn how beer is made and all the various steps they have to go through, nice to see the huge vats they have to use, very interesting tasting experience because their beers are all very good, and nice beer gear store; lots of little gifties, souveniers, clothing and jackets, etc. wonderful customer service experience. They hire students in the summertime to do the tasting and tours and gear store, so it helps the community. The community of Creston is very happy to have the Columbia Brewery as one of our Creston Businesses. Whenever a family member or friend comes to town for a visit, we usually go for a brewery tour for something nice to do.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Columbia Brewery also viewed

 
Creston, Kootenay Rockies
Creston, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Columbia Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing