We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Creston
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Creston
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel has mostly been renovated and there are still renovations happening in the court yard. Breakfast was small but it was there all the same. We were there when it was mostly empty, that could explain the size of the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnusonHotelCreston, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Creston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Magnuson Hotel, Laura. The waterscape and BBQ area in the courtyard is now complete. We think you will find it very relaxing. The continental breakfast has been very popular and we will try harder at keeping it fully stocked for all guests from 7am-10am. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Not fancy, but an excellent place to spend a night. Got a very good sleep, and very friendly service. Owner ran out to meet us as we were leaving to give us a map with directions to where we were going. Highly recommend.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnusonHotelCreston, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Creston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your review of the Magnuson Hotel on TripAdvisor Stephen. Clean and friendly with great value for your dollar. This is what Terry and Christina have created at the Magnuson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We started by having a curry in the adjoining restaurant (very good) then stayed at the motel. Room was quiet, with nice bed. the room has microwave, coffee maker and fridge. Bathroom has rain shower head. floors were hardwood and tile, and very clean. Clerk was very friendly and interested. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Birdie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnusonHotelCreston, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Creston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Magnuson Hotel on TripAdvisor. The spring and summer has been filled with customers having a great experience here at the Magnuson. We are thrilled you had one too. The outdoor waterscape and BBQ area is now finished and we think you will have an even better stay next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I decided to try the Magnuson after being dissapointed by the Ramada on my last business trip. This was a great choice. The beds were as comfortable, the staff much more professional and the rooms cleaner. A couple of the renovation choices are still a little old fashioned (bedding), but a nice, clean, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnusonHotelCreston, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Creston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your review and kind words Nick. I will pass your comments on to the rest of the staff. Terry and Christina have been working hard to create value for their customers dollars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Extremely pleased. Good service, good rates, and fantastic staff. We were there on a motorcycle and they were glad to have use unlike some places. They are actually anxious to have more motorcycles and group come there. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Motel is close to all amenities. A great place to stay. I'll be back and I'll recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I have stayed at the front and in the middle and have found both to be equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnusonHotelCreston, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Creston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Magnuson,Sandra. We are always happy to see all the bikers enjoying the world famous Selkirk Loop. We would very much like to see the Magnuson become a preferred stop for the many bike tours throughout the biking season. Our waterscape and BBQ area is now finished for you to relax and enjoy on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Recently stayed at the Magnuson and had my expectation met.

This is NOT a Four Seasons property, so do not expect the amenities that you would of a 5 star calibre hotel.
The Magnuson is your typical old school independent "motel", however it has recently been renovated. The room decor was bland, but comfortable, clean and fairly spacious. The renovations included new laminate flooring, paint and full bathroom redo. The bath tub was absolutely huge and was a treat to soak in after a day of playing baseball.

This isn't usually the type of place I'd stay, but due to the fact that the one major hotel chain in Creston was booked solid, I gave it a shot.

The only issue I had was the fact that the "free wifi" signal didn't reach the room I was located in.

If you are in the area, and are looking for a place to lay your head, check out the Magnuson.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnusonHotelCreston, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Creston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for the review Mark. We have addressed the WiFi issues by removing the three old modems and installing five new higher powered modems. We have also installed Shaw's new Shaw Go WiFi for existing Shaw customers. We feel this should give us perfect coverage throughout the 51 rooms. Thank you for giving us a shot and we hope to see you again.

Rick - Front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Magnuson Hotel used to be called the Hacienda Inn. I called the hotel to book and inquire about the rooms and the front desk gentleman went way above and beyond to check two rooms for me and call me back twice. I travel with my family at least three times a year into the States and have
never had such excellent, kind service. The Hotel is completely renovated as of 2013 and the rooms have new wood floors, beds, paint, bathrooms. The hotel also serves a free breakfast starting at 7:00 am which is a bonus. Can't say enough about the service at this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnusonHotelCreston, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Creston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Magnuson Hotel Creston on TripAdvisor. Terry and Christina have worked very hard getting the rooms ready for this spring/summer. We are all focusing on top notch customer service and clean comfortable guest rooms. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Creston hotels
0.7 mi away
Creston Hotel
Creston Hotel
#3 of 11 in Creston
101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Creston
Ramada Creston
#2 of 11 in Creston
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Creston Valley Motel
Creston Valley Motel
#1 of 11 in Creston
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Skimmerhorn Inn
Skimmerhorn Inn
#7 of 11 in Creston
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Downtowner Motor Inn
Downtowner Motor Inn
#6 of 11 in Creston
93 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bavarian Orchard Motel
Bavarian Orchard Motel
#10 of 11 in Creston
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Creston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Creston

Address: 800 Northwest Blvd, Creston, British Columbia V0B 1G4, Canada (Formerly Hacienda Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Creston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Creston
Price Range: £54 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Creston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Creston provides quality dining, lodging and licensed lounge facilities with breathtaking views of the Selkirk Mountain Range and Creston Valley. We are located within minutes of downtown Creston, the Creston Valley Mall and the Creston Valley Museum. All of the renovated rooms are furnished for comfort, with standard features of free high speed wireless internet, free local calls, alarm clock radio, microwave, fridge, keurig coffee maker, wall hanging TV and individually controlled air conditioning and heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Creston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hotel Creston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing