We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Skimmerhorn Inn

Skimmerhorn Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skimmerhorn Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Creston
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice little place!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in August during a bike trip and we really enjoyed it. Nice, clean swimming pool, complete with toys. The room was clean and comfortable. BEST shower I've ever had, and we've stayed in a lot of rooms in the past three years. The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful as well. Chairs outside of room were nice as the night cooled off. Plenty of parking as well. Would definitely stay here again if we came through the area.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diva003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    24
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
22
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Clean, good wifi, clean pool, close to highway and good access to town. We enjoyed our dinner at the Kootenay Thai restaurant in town.
Good reception on the TV. Handy to park right outside your hotel room door for easy loading and unloading.
A little outdated and certainly not luxurious but everything a traveling family needs.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristabree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I with our dog traveling back to Alberta, had the great pleasure to stay here. Lot's of room for our dog to run in a fenced area at the hotel. The owner's and staff treated us like family. Great pool nice rooms fair price. Definitely will stay here again. ...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Nicely run, clean, cozy motel. The lady at the front desk (managers) made us feel very comfortable. You could tell they took pride in their motel. The backyard was gorgeous, we were welcomed to pick from the plum trees and their was a great play area for the kids. The outdoor pool was lots of fun, very warm and equipped with pool toys. Motel rooms were a bit dated, but definitely clean. Good location as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaF634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
250 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

It doesn't look like much from the front....but the suites are terrific, nice beds......and what a playground area in the back. Kids will absolutely love it. And older 'kids' as well, with the barbeques and the opportunity for a contained campfire.

Owners very friendly and 'real'.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryTheRadioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very clean, very quiet and comfortable. Our room (225) had a queenbed, pullout couch and a cot in the main, with a separate bedroom with queen bed. Large full bathroom, mini fridge, microwave, coffee, full cable and easy fast wifi. The a/c was quiet and efficient and despite being near the highway it was silent and a great sleep. Beds and even cot were comfy. This is not a newer or even well updated hotel, but everything is well kept and clean. The pool was amazingly warm and refreshing and the backyard and bbq area was serene with lots of room to run and a playground for the kids. We only stopped for one night passing through but could have stayed for days.! Ideal and a bargain at $135 for the 5 of us! Don't hesitate to book, it's not fancy but it's perfect for a family stay away from home and very restful after a long day of driving. Have paid more than double at other places and left with complaints, but would return to Skimmerhorn anytime.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We did not make a reservation and pulled up and we were able to get a room. The housekeeper was already working very hard and we pulled up unexpectedly. She quickly and efficiently cleaned our room. The lady at the front desk was so friendly and patient. The wifi was easy to connect to, and fast. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nloza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Creston hotels
0.6 mi away
Creston Valley Motel
Creston Valley Motel
#1 of 11 in Creston
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Creston Hotel
Creston Hotel
#3 of 11 in Creston
82 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Creston
Ramada Creston
#2 of 11 in Creston
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Downtowner Motor Inn
Downtowner Motor Inn
#5 of 11 in Creston
79 reviews
1.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Creston
Magnuson Hotel Creston
#8 of 11 in Creston
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#11 of 11 in Creston
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skimmerhorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skimmerhorn Inn

Property: Skimmerhorn Inn
Address: 2711 3 Hwy, Creston, British Columbia V0B 1G1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Creston
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Creston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Skimmerhorn Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Skimmerhorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing