We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our least favorite stay in B & B's in the Maritimes”

The Regent Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amherst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Regent Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Amherst B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I just spent 6 weeks traveling through Nova Scotia and PEI. We stayed at 1 hotel, 4 inns and 8 B & B's. This was our least favorite B & B mostly due to the very musty smell in the house. It was overpowering to us. We were actually surprised it hadn't been noted in any TA reviews as it is hard to miss.

Our room was also one of the most expensive we rented in the entire stay and it was the smallest with the smallest bathroom. The beds weren't particularly comfortable and when I bent down to pick something up from the floor, there were potato chips from the previous guest left on the floor under the bed.

Amherst is very short on restaurants - there is basically a pub Jim, the owner will send you to but if that's busy, there doesn't seem to be a lot of choice as an alternative. I was surprised because Amherst has a larger population than many other towns we visited but isn't as geared to tourists as many others.

Jim was the only one of the couple we saw during our stay. Gwen, his wife, never came out to greet us or participate in our visit. I gathered that Jim runs the business and he does a good job of trying to please. We didn't want blueberry pancakes for breakfast as we prefer eggs and Jim was accommodating to our needs.

Our room really needed a good, thorough cleaning and the house should probably be ozonated to clear up the musty smell. It seems to be an issue with the old houses and the damp weather, but The Regent, although a lovely old house, needs this taken care of. If you suffer from allergies or asthma, this is definitely something you should note.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We chose the Regent B&B for a one night stay in Amherst based on TripAdvisor reviews and were glad we did. The location is ideal for walking around Amherst. The house itself is a wonderful mix of original architectural details and the owners' collections of art--one of those places where you spot something new each time you walk up the stairs. Our room was one of the smaller ones, but large enough and with thoughtful touches and a very comfortable bed. As others have noted, Jim is an excellent cook, (and conversationalist) and we owe him a special thanks. He gave us historical details not only of the house but the town. He altered us not only to an excellent restaurant but also to the nearness of Joggins. His description convinced us to visit what was one of the highlights of our trip. Regent felt like more than the usual B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The Regent is a beautiful, grand house in excellent original condition. Jim, the owner, was waiting for us the next morning for our breakfast in the elegant dining room. We started with fresh fruit salad. That was followed by blueberry pancakes. These pancakes were light and the blueberries burst in my mouth. We had recently stayed at 6 different b&b's on a recent trip to Nova Scotia. The Regent's breakfast was the best.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Eric O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Great place. Although we only stayed one night, the room was very comfortable, the property very interesting and Jim was a great host, who served an excellent breakfast. He also recommended Duncan's Pub, which was a good location for a meal.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Gorgeous Inn located in a very nice suburban neigborhood. This Inn has been well cared for and maintained with lovely antiques and period furnishings. The Innkeeper has a passion for aviation. Our room was very cozy with very comfortable, furnishings and linens. Clean private bath and nice toiletries. Breakfast was nicely done and nice converstaion with the Innkeeper and other guests.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This B&B was our entry into Nova Scotia, and although we stayed just one night we loved it. There is a wonderful collection of Inuit art that we enjoyed gazing at, so lovely. Also, Jim the owner was full of ideas and practical details about things to do and see as well as places to eat. We had such a great start to our trip because of these suggestions! Overall the room comfortably slept our party of three adults, was quiet and very clean with a bathroom attached. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larsenlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Lovely house, great breakfast and if you are an aeroplane enthusiast mine host was retired Lt Clonel in the R.C.A.F. with duties to the display teams, pictures autographs, everything a fan could desire.
Amherst is a friendly pleasant place with eating places and shops but the B&B was great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stourjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn - Amherst
Comfort Inn - Amherst
#2 of 5 in Amherst
136 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amherst Wandlyn Inn
Amherst Wandlyn Inn
#4 of 5 in Amherst
109 reviews
8.0 mi away
Tantramar Motel
Tantramar Motel
#2 of 2 in Sackville
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Coastal Inn Sackville
Coastal Inn Sackville
#1 of 2 in Sackville
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apothic Inn
Apothic Inn
#1 of 4 in Amherst
46 reviews
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Amherst NS
Super 8 Amherst NS
#1 of 5 in Amherst
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Bed & Breakfast

Address: 175 Victoria St E, Amherst, Nova Scotia B4H 1Y6, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Amherst
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Amherst
Hotel Class:4 star — The Regent Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Regent Bed & Breakfast Amherst, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing