We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn - Amherst
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Amherst
Reviewed 12 June 2014

As senior citizens traveling with 2 heavy suitcases and two heavy computer bags, we had booked a first floor room, and paid extra for the privilege as this facility has no elevator. When we arrived, we were told they did not have any available rooms on the first floor, which we had reserved. Too bad, but reservations were not really guarantees or so we were told. The clerk did offer to help carry our bags upstairs, and she did do that. The room was dimly lit with only two small lamps, and the only way to make coffee was to either unplug a lamp or the refrigerator or balance the coffee maker on the edge of the sink in the bathroom. The "breakfast" area was very small with only 3 small tables, and surprise, surprise, nothing empty. We handled our own bags down the stairs. The manager was not on the property during any of our stay. He did respond by Email and phone to our complaints.

Room Tip: Don't book here expecting to get the room you reserved. We were told plainly that reservations w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jefferson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete the Tripadvisor survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

I do apologize for the mix up in room type and the affect it had on you experience during your stay.

Sincerely,

David Smith
General Manager
Comfort Inn Amherst
902 667 0404

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Needed a place to spend one night while travelling. Clean, hotel with typical hotel rooms. Comfortable beds, nice breakfast, friendly staff. What you would expect from a Comfort Inn. We would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We not only appreciate you taking the time to leave a review of our property but also for choosing to stay with us on your trip.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your kind comments to the staff.

Thank you again for staying with us and I hope you return soon.

Kind Regards
David Smith
GM Amherst Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel recently has been renovated similar to other Comfort Inn's elsewhere, with the room decor still looking to be cookie cutter in appearance. Our room was clean, but not particularly inviting, and the lighting either interfered with the television due to reflection or, when the bed lamp was not on, the desk lamp didn't provide sufficient light to read. Although updated, the walls between rooms still are "thin" with bleed through conversations and television. The hotel is far enough off of the highway, and perpendicular to the road, that there is little road noise apparent in the rooms. The morning "hot" breakfast was adequate and consistent with other Comfort Inn menu selections, which seem to have become standard throughout North America. Overall, the accommodations were satisfactory, deserving an average rating.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank LopingianTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and I am very glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are all very excited about the renovations and the new hot breakfast selection.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Amherst.

Kind Regards
David Smith
GM Amherst Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Roadtrip with friends, stayed in this hotel, wonderful staff and very helpful, breakfast was delicious.
Rooms were clean and well maintained. Location of this hotel was perfect for us, everything was near by. This was my first stay at this particular hotel but it will not be my last.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for placing such a fantastic response on Trip Advisor. The team at the Comfort Inn Amherst really appreciates your kind words and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay.

I am very proud of the team as they try and do that little ‘extra’ to make the guest stay special.

I hope you return soon as we would love to have you stay again.

Kind Regards
David Smith
GM Amherst Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend this hotel. Very comfortable rooms, cozy and inviting. Newly updated furniture, very comfy bed and fluffy pillows. Only negative would be the heating system needs updating. Friendly staff and very accommodating. Pleasure to stay here.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Travelerfeb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and the wonderful promotion of our Hotel!

We really appreciate you posting these comments.

I hope to see you on your return.

Kind Regards
David Smith
GM Amherst Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I stayed at the Comfort Inn for 2 nights. In this time I encountered some of the best staff and customer service I have ever received in a hotel. The breakfast staff was by far the highlight. Friendly, accommodating and generous. Above and beyond the call of duty. Accommodations were lovely as well but it was the staff that put this location above and beyond other hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Emily,

Thank you for your kind words. I will make sure that they are passed on to the staff.

We are lucky to have an excellent team at the Hotel.

I hope to see you on your return.

Kind Regards
David Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Since their recent renovations they have been very nice and helpful. I stayed for 10 days and they made my stay so very nice as I was there cause my mom was in the hospital. I can't say enough about the staff and facilities. Right next to a Tim Horton's/Wendy's and a very short distance from KFC and Subway and malls not to mention Walmart are all close. Thanks For the great rooms and service staff

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Lynn,

Thank you for your kind words. We are very excited over the renovations. The rooms and lobby look fantastic. The new hot breakfast has just been rolled out and we all love it.

I will pass on your kind words to the team. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
David Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
0.9 mi away
Amherst Wandlyn Inn
Amherst Wandlyn Inn
#4 of 5 in Amherst
109 reviews
10.5 mi away
Coastal Inn Sackville
Coastal Inn Sackville
#1 of 2 in Sackville
96 reviews
8.9 mi away
Tantramar Motel
Tantramar Motel
#2 of 2 in Sackville
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Amherst NS
Super 8 Amherst NS
#1 of 5 in Amherst
520 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apothic Inn
Apothic Inn
#1 of 4 in Amherst
46 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Amherst

Address: 143 Albion St S, Amherst, Nova Scotia B4H 2X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range: £74 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn - Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Amherst is now All New Just for You. Newly-Renovated Guest Rooms and Lobby, Free Hot Breakfast, and now 100% Non-Smoking. Our friendly and helpful staff will be happy to assist you from the moment you arrive to ensure that your stay with us is comfortable and enjoyable. Our newly renovated rooms provide the best in convenience and comfort including, 32' Flat screen TVs and Free WiFi. Our central location offers easy access the World Heritage Site at The Joggins Fossil Centre or go exploring in nearby Parrsboro at the Fundy Geological Centre. Make the Amherst Comfort Inn your base for an exciting family vacation or productive business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn - Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amherst Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn - Amherst Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing