We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience at Wandlyn Inn Amherst”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amherst Wandlyn Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Amherst
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our night at this hotel in Amherst. The reasonably priced room was quite spacious, and very accessible on the ground floor from our vehicle. In addition, we also found our breakfast at the restaurant on the premises to provide both good food & service. We look forward to returning to the hotel again soon!

Room Tip: Ground floor room are very convenient for a one night stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy T, Manager at Amherst Wandlyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us in Amherst Nova Scotia.

We are pleased to be Amherst's only full service hotel, offering licensed dining, full size swimming pool, work-out room, guest laundry and function rooms. I'm glad you enjoyed our free continental breakfast. Full cooked breakfast is available Thursday through Sunday and every day during the busy season.

We appreciate you for taking the time to leave us this review, please be our guest again when travelling in Amherst.

Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Booked online for an overnight visit in 2012 and was pleasantly surprised - clean, spacious and reasonably priced. We chose a drive-up room so we could easily load/unload our car. The staff were efficient and courteous and the restaurant was good with friendly wait staff. Because of that visit we booked and stayed again on business in 2013. We found it much the same - clean, courteous, nothing fancy but easy on the wallet. Yes, it is a bit out-dated but everything was fully functional and as a short overnight stop it was perfect for us. We'd visit again.

Room Tip: If you have lots of luggage ask if one of the drive-up rooms is available - you can park right in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AddieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy T, General Manager at Amherst Wandlyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your review! And thank you for staying with us at The Wandlyn Inn Amherst. We value your comments and appreciate feed-back from all of our guests. We are pleased to have just welcomed Red Seal Chef Nathan O'brien to our team and are pleased that you enjoyed your meal in our spacious restaurant.

The Wandlyn Inn is the only full service Hotel in Amherst and we are pleased to be able to accomodate bookings of nearly any size and requirement at the best prices in town.

Please be sure to stay with us again when travelling in our ares, let our front desk know that you are a returning guest and we'd be pleased to off you an upgrade to our premium section if a room is available.

Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Booked online for overnight stay based on price. Was genuinely and pleasantly surprised at our check in with upgrade to king suite. The clerk was very pleasant and friendly. Had supper at the restaurant, truly a hidden gem. The homemade meals were wonderfully tasty, nice cozy atmosphere and excellent service thanks to our server Janet. I travel for work, and as a result stay and dine in a lot of different places, and this experience was one of the best economically. I would definitely make the drive from Moncton to dine here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy T, General Manager at Amherst Wandlyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate hearing feed back from our guests.

Our new Chef (Red Seal Certified) joined our team this month and has re-designed our menu and banquet plans, I'm glad that you enjoyed your meal and we are pleased that we can offer free continental breakfast every day and a full cooked breakfast Thursday through Sundays.

Please be sure to stay again with us on your next trip through our area of Nova Scotia. The Wandlyn Inn is the only full service Hotel in Amherst and we are pleased to offer great rates every day.

Again - thank you for staying with us!

Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. Both times, the rooms were very spacious and clean. Beds were comfortable with lots of pillows. We will definitely be coming back. See you next time we head to Amherst.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy T, General Manager at Amherst Wandlyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Wandlyn Inn Amherst! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your comments - we value everyone's feed back and strive to make all of our guests feel comfortable and well taken care of.

The Wandlyn Inn is Amherst's only full service Hotel, we off a full service licensed restaurant, heated pool and hot tub, exercise room and several meeting rooms to serve our guests' needs.

Thank you for being a returning guest, we're pleased to offer the best rates in the area conveniently located right at exit 3 but off the highway far enough that you not kept awake by traffic noise.

We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Reception not very welcoming. Hotel looked tired. No dining service after 6.30pm that evening and no room service (we were not told about this at time of check.in). Alternative restaurant recommended in Amherst was poor. Next morning staff were very slow to replenish the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grahame M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Do not stay here! Camping is a far better choice than this bug-infested nightmare! The only reason we stayed at Wandlyn's is because everywhere else was booked due to a conference in Amherst. Having no other choice, we checked in with a very surly front desk attendant. We were highly overcharged at $79/night. Don't get me wrong...we spent anywhere from $59 to $149/night for lodging during our 15 day trip to Canada. It was not the price that was the problem but the sheer lack of value!
The room was dirty with hairs in the bathroom. Neither of us were able to take a shower due to the absolute dirtiness of the bathroom. Everything in the room looked shabby as though it had never been cleaned.
It smelled so strong of smoke that my throat and nose gave me problems the entire night. Had my breathing gotten worse I would have needed to go to the hospital! There was also a stale, moldy smell that was concerning for health reasons.
It was noisy in the halls. The AC/heating system was not working properly.
My opinion: the health department and the Amherst chamber of commerce should close this place down. It is a nightmare!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy T, General Manager at Amherst Wandlyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

A disappointing review.... Had this guest expressed their dissatisfaction to us directly we would have been able to respond to their complaints while they were still with us. Our hotel was full on this date and the only rooms available were in the "value section" which is a handful of rooms in the smoking section which have not been upgraded (the rest of the hotel has been). Which is why our rates are rock bottom for that section - literally the lowest rates in a 100 km radius. It is unfortunate when a guest takes a smoking room when they know it is likely that the room will smell of smokers. As for cleanliness - our rooms are thoroughly cleaned everyday and then rechecked by a supervisor prior to use, again had this guest spoken to our front desk staff we would have been able to address their problems - it is unfortunate.

We were completely full for that weekend, I'm sorry that we were unable to meet the needs of this guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Wandlyn Inn in Amherst , N.S. turned out to be an ideal spot for a recent MK business retreat we held with about 30 women attending . We found the price to be very right , the pool to be relaxing and the general atmosphere to be down home country rustic . HOWEVER , we cannot say enough good things about the wonderful way the staff looked after us . What the hotel lacks in a bit of a modern make-over , is certainly made up for in not only in it's people and it's manager , but the food was beyond delicious . Best roast beef with all the trimmings , fish and chips Maritime style , and a breakfast bounty . We'll be back ! P.S. It's also right on the highway , Exit 3 ,near the N.S / N.B border for easy access . The conference room was great .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judymarykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Amherst
Comfort Inn - Amherst
#2 of 5 in Amherst
136 reviews
10.9 mi away
Coastal Inn Sackville
Coastal Inn Sackville
#1 of 2 in Sackville
96 reviews
9.4 mi away
Tantramar Motel
Tantramar Motel
#2 of 2 in Sackville
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Amherst NS
Super 8 Amherst NS
#1 of 5 in Amherst
526 reviews
17.4 mi away
Amherst Shore Country Inn
Amherst Shore Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lorneville
70 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hopewell Rocks Motel and Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amherst Wandlyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amherst Wandlyn Inn

Address: Trans Canada Highway 104, Exit 3 | P.O. Box 275, Amherst, Nova Scotia B4H 3Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Amherst
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range: £79 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amherst Wandlyn Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2.5 Star Hotel and Convention Center, conveniently located near the New Brunswick/Nova Scotia Border. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Amherst Wandlyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wandlyn Inn Amherst Hotel Amherst
Wandlyn Hotel Amherst
Amherst Wandlyn Inn Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing