We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$57
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$282
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
0
3
3
3
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
3
3
3
13
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 22 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We came to stay at the Victoria Inn with 6 people from the UK. We stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed Our stay. The staff are friendly and the rooms are so big and clean especially considering the value. There is a big breakfast included (continental) in a huge dining area. Although from the outside it does look a little dated the interior is very good. We'd definately stay again. Being from the UK We expect a lot and were genuinely inpressed. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdnBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Upon arrival there was no one at the front desk, we had to search the two floors and finally found her cleaning one of the rooms. The elevator was out of service, so we had to haul all of our heavy luggage up three flights of stairs. We asked where the laundry facilities were located as they were listed on the Victoria Inn website and we were told that there is NOT onsite laundry and we would have to go to a laundromat. In our first room we could not get a wifi signal so we were moved down the hall to a room with a signal. The phones in both of those rooms would not allow us to get an outside line to make our local calls. In the second room we discovered 5 or 6 little nests of baby spiders, there were about 30-40 baby spiders crawling all over the ceiling, and about 4 or 5 big spiders in the corners! It was the most disturbing thing. Webs all over the place! They showed us a THIRD room but we found spiders in it and said enough is enough! We packed our bags back up around midnight and drove all the way to Barrie in search of a place to stay. I would NEVER recommend this place to ANYONE, worst experience I've ever had.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DekuLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The atmosphere here is very strange. The building at one time housed medical offices. While the rooms are large and reasonably well appointed, they're rather spartan - one pillow per person. No extra blanket. The lighting is weird and like so many hotels the fan in the bathroom is very loud and linked to the light so you can't have light without the noise. The most baffling and troubling aspect of this inn however is the absence of hotel staff: we were unable to reach anyone between 8 p.m. and 7 a.m. when we left. There was no answer at the desk and no answer at the official telephone number. It was most odd. It felt like the hotel was empty. The elevator was out of service. Fortunately, we were housed on the first floor but given the total oddness of the place I have a hunch the elevator is never in service. We shared our thoughts with locals at a nearby restaurant and they were dismayed but not entirely surprised: when we told the waitress where we'd stayed her face darkened and she asked - why did you stay there? We travel to Alliston twice a year and typically stay at the Nottawasaga Resort, but it was fully booked with a conference this time. Our first two nights were spent at the Red Pine Inn: we left there due to displeasure with that facility only to find ourselves in the "spooked out" Victoria Inn.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this place to anyone.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doe570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Not really sure if these people actually know how to run a business. There is never anyone there and even when you call they don't answer the phone right away. There is always a sign on the door saying to call the number if no one is there. We had friends that had booked a room and they were waiting outside with no one coming to let them in even when they called the number twice. It is ridiculous - you book on line with them but you cannot get into the inn. Why are they even open. You don't run a business this way - asking your customers to call if the door is locked. I have never heard of this. We took our friends down to the Red Pine and they stayed there. They only booked with the Victoria as it is down the street from our house and convenient. I will never recommend anyone to book with these people- never never never.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Morfo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpreet B, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Hello,

I would like to apologise for any inconvenience your guests experienced with the door being locked.

We have changed the process for check in, and the front door will no longer be locked at any time. In the past, when front office staff needed to step out for emergencies, the front door was locked for safety precautions and there was a caretaker and housekeeping staff on site at all times to allow guests in and out.

I have investigated with front desk staff and verified the incoming and outgoing calls made at the this time and confirmed your guests were at the door for 10 minutes. The front desk staff arrived to check them in and they had already left.

I have called the guests at the phone number provided to explain the situation and apologise and offer a one-time 50% off your next stay.

Please call my direct line at 705 250 4199 and I will arrange to compensate for inconvenience by offering a one -time 50% off your stay, including a continental breakfast, in order for you to get a proper experience at the Victoria Inn.

Hope to hear from you soon!

Harpreet Brar
Guest Relations Manager
Victoria Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews