We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, Friendly Service, Expensive and The TV's Could Use an Update.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Whitecourt
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Friendly Service, Expensive and The TV's Could Use an Update.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

The beds are extremely comfortable the service is friendly, the breakfast is good - omelets, sausage, bagels, cereal, yogurt and a pancake maker.

The only complaint I have is that $150 a night via a Booking.com "deal" is not really a deal at all, it saves you approximately $8.00.

The services are nice, they have a small gym (3-4 machines) and a jacuzzi.

I travelled with family, we had three rooms the first night and every single one of them were fuzzy. The second night didn't plan on staying but decided to last minute, we only had two rooms and they were different than the first night - TV's were still fuzzy. They have LCD TV's however whatever service they are using is obviously not compatible with their TV's which they should really fix.

Thankfully I had my laptop and HDMI cable so I just watched Netflix!

Overall I had an comfortable stay and will probably try lower priced hotels in the area prior to returning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    36
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
12
3
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

In booking I phoned the Whitecourt hotel and inquiring if they were a pet friendly hotel she said yes and $40 charge.
I made the booking. Later when viewing the hotels main site I came across that they accepted pets but servce dogs only so I called Holiday Inn main booking desk and inquired and she confirmed it was for service dogs only with papers.
I then called Whitecourt Hotel and the girl informed me again that they do take dogs and cats.
Because of the conflict in information I didn't feel comfortable in keeping my booking as it would be a 6 hour drive to find out that maybe another staff member did not accept him as she said if there is a room available they would accept our request.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4wcowtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear 4wcowtown,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any confusion surrounding this hotel’s pet policy. Many IHG properties are franchised, independently owned and operated. In this case, the hotel management and ownership determine their own pet policy, often times in compliance with local ordinances. IHG is not involved in the development of this individual hotel policy. Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Room was very nice, spacious, and clean.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Continental breakfast was typical, nothing to write home about.

Conference room was small.

Overall it was a good stay and I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k_c_2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed here for a week. Typical Holiday Inn Express. Friendly, efficient, clean. Staff were great. One of the nights a local restaurant provided free dinner for guests (unexpected, and the food was very good).

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Toronto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

Good clean hotel, spotless rooms and beds. Plenty ofis hot water in the the shower. Breakfast options not bad at all. Stayed for 5 nights, only issue was with the noisy ice machine just outside my room. Place seems to be popular, as no other room was available. However left bathroom fan on all night to generate some white noise and slept well.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrumplest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

My experience with this hotel started with the original call to attempt to book two nights accomodation. Every hotel in Whitecourt was booked up on my second required night, the Holiday Inn included. It was soley based upon the personality, sense of humour, patience and professionalism of the front desk clerk that took my call (Marsha) that I decided to book for the first available night and take my chances with the waiting list.
Within 2 hours of my original call, Marsha called me back to inform me that she'd found me a room for the second night. I was thrilled!!
Upon arrival I was greeted by a cheerful front desk clerk (Kelsi), whom was just as fun, cheerful and energetic as Marsha had been. The employees at the desk obviously have a passion for what they do, and the public they serve. One of the best and most efficient check-in processes I've ever experienced.
The room was very well appointed...king-sized bed, couch, work desk with comfortable chair and an armchair in the corner. Mini-fridge, microwave and the requisite coffee pot. The bathroom and room were impeccably clean (my inspections usually reveal at least one stray hair somewhere...none here). My room was on the backside of the hotel so absolutely NO noise from the parking lot...only the heavy footed neighbor above me.
Breakfast was suprisingly good. I LOVED the pancake machine that makes them for you fresh upon request (a push of the button). Scrambled eggs, ham and warm cinnamon rolls were also available, along with the normal assortment of cereals, breads, juices fruit. Cartons of milk and yogurt were stocked in the cooler.
Heaven forbid I ever have to work in Whitecourt again, I will beg, borrow and steal to ensure this hotel is where I stay. Great job to all that work here!!
The only negative I experienced...the jacuzzi was closed for repairs during my stay. I was looking very much forward to this little perk.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Mr.Mark R
Thank You for staying with us, I am very happy that you recieved the very best care from our Front End Staff. They all take great pride in ensuring you recieve the best possible experience while staying with us. If you have chosen to become a Priority Club Member, please take a moment to complete your IHG survey that was emailed to you shortly after your departure.
We look forward to having you come and stay with us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

I stayed for one night. The service was nice, friendly. The room was great, everything was very clean. The breakfast was good and the breakfast area was kept very clean. I appreciated the express checkout in the morning, was very convenient. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpm42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites as your choice of hotel, we appreciate your taking the time to give us such positive feedback. If you are a Priority Club Member please take a moment and complete your IHG survey which would have been emailed to you shortly after your departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitecourt hotels
2.3 mi away
The Kanata by BCMInns Whitecourt
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Whitecourt
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Whitecourt
Quality Inn Whitecourt
#6 of 15 in Whitecourt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Whitecourt
Days Inn & Suites Whitecourt
#3 of 15 in Whitecourt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lakeview Inns & Suites - Whitecourt
0.2 mi away
Whitecourt Conference Centre & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt
Address: 4721 49th Street | Box 359, Whitecourt, Alberta T7S 1R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Whitecourt
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Whitecourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Whitecourt, Alberta Hotel Offers Convenient Location The newly built Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Whitecourt, AB is right next door to all the amenities Whitecourt has to offer. Within minutes of all local attractions and business parks. Our Whitecourt hotel is ideal for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in the area. Our free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access will keep you connected during your stay, and the business centre and meeting facility will help you conduct business while on the road. Leisure travelers will enjoy lodging at our Whitecourt, AB hotel while they experience everything the area has to offer. During your stay at our hotel in Whitecourt, take the time to enjoy a workout in our fitness centre, and be sure to try one of the many choices at our Express Start hot breakfast bar each morning. Check out our great Whitecourt hotel deals and book with us today. This hotel does not have a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Whitecourt Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing