We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stranded, but in a very nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grande Cache Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grande Cache
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grande Cache Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grande Cache
Greene
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stranded, but in a very nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Driving north through Alberta, en route to the Alaska Highway and eventually Fairbanks, Alaska, our truck broke down on the road just south of the town of Grand Cache. Everything worked out fine, but we ended up spending five days there. Everyone we met was kind and helpful, and the truck got repaired. The staff at the Grand Cache Hotel went out of their way to make us comfortable, the room was clean and attractive, and they let us watch the World Cup games in the lounge! We got a lot of friendly advice and found a surprising amount of fun stuff to do, including white water rafting! And the visitor center is really worth a stop.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, Front Office Manager at Grande Cache Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. There are a lot of fun things to do in our little mountain town are glad you were able to make some time for them. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    14
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
7
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were only here to sleep while going white water rafting. The walls of the room are painted in an atrocious shade of brown which is also painted on all of the surface. The dressers are a throw back to the 70's. There was mold in the caulking of the shower. The room was serviceable, but was dingy and looked dirty (even if it wasn't). We ate breakfast at the restaurant and the table cloths were sticky. ALL of them. We tried other tables because the kids did not like the arms sticking to the table. We decided that the tablecloths were responsible for the terrible feeling. I would not stay here again and would pay the extra money to stay at a nicer hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayBee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, Front Office Manager at Grande Cache Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
It is unfortunate that you didn't enjoy your stay. I assure you the walls are clean, despite the color. The table clothes in the restaurant do often feel sticky because of the material they are made of. We are currently renovating with the first 12 rooms almost complete. We encourage yiu to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valleyview, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The lady at the lobby was nice, friendly and tried to help me.
However:
My bathrooms bathroom fan was broken with no switch for it.
My rooms desk lamp was broken.
My rooms "bedside clock" was flashing "12:00" and was especially cheap and frustrating to set the time.
My "non-smoking" room smelled smokey enough that the lobby lady made a comment, wondering if something was burning...
The shower had a terrible showerhead and had faucets/valves from the 80's
I wont plan to stay here ever again.

Room Tip: I would suggest The local "Super 8" or the local "Misty Mountain"over this dive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, Front Office Manager at Grande Cache Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We are in the process of completely redoing our rooms, with the first twelve almost complete. We encourage you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for a week when I was working down there and every night I walked in I was greeted with a smile and when I left for work they were there at the front desk to say have a good day and to ask if I will be back on top of it all the food here is awesome

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, Front Office Manager at Grande Cache Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. Glad the food was to your liking and hope you get to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Grande Cache is a working man's town and the hotels in town cater to them. That said, this hotels offers a bit of luxury in this out-of-the-way town. First I must say that that the hotel staff is exceptional and very courteous. Second, if you're looking for a good night's sleep after a long day of travel, this is the place. The beds were excellent and made up very professionally - something you'd find in one of those plush hotels. Egyptian cotton sheets and four luxury pillows per bed. We slept like babies. Although we elected to stay in and order pizza, there is a nice steakhouse attached to the hotel with adult beverages. The room included a fridge and microwave which was a plus. Stay on the first floor if you can't do steps as there is no elevator. The hotel was reasonably priced and competitive with other local hotels. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alaska_Bulldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, Front Office Manager at Grande Cache Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you visiting again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The staff were friendly, with a great attitude, especially given the kids hockey teams that were in town for the weekend. The night clerk was a fill-in for the regular who went home sick, I'm told. She wasn't 100% knowledgeable on the computer process, but remained friendly and courteous while she worked through it, good job! The front lobby and halls looked a bit rough, but the room was well cared for, with a nice bed, good linens and high res Samsung flat-screen. The satellite system is new, with a couple of programming bugs to work out.
Restaurant food was good, though portions weren't large. Staff here were also very friendly, fast and helpful, despite a busy, hectic crowd.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles_Sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, Front Office Manager at Grande Cache Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your recent stay! We are glad you enjoyed you time with us. Sorry you had issues with your satellite and for your understanding while we worked out the bugs. We look forward to seeing you next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Great staff very nice room. Rooms are renovated. Food was good in the Resturant. Would stay at this hotel again. The room was very clean. Actually was very surprised how nice the room was. Had two double beds. The tv reception was very poor but did have flat screen on the wall.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Cache H, Manager at Grande Cache Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi Mr. Jason

Thank you taking the time to share your feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed staying with us and that you also enjoyed our food. We keep working hard to satisfy our guests.

Regarding the tv reception I will make sure we pass this issue to our Management Team.

Once again thank you very much for your comment. We will see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grande Cache hotels
0.1 mi away
Misty Mountain Apartments and Suites
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
Grande Mountain Lodge
Grande Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Grande Cache
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Acorn Motel
Acorn Motel
#2 of 6 in Grande Cache
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#5 of 6 in Grande Cache
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.3 mi away
HD View Bed & Breakfast
HD View Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Grande Cache
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Cache Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Cache Hotel

Property: Grande Cache Hotel
Address: 1701 Pine Plaza, Grande Cache, Alberta T0E 0Y0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Grande Cache
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Grande Cache
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Cache Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Cache Hotel was built in 1969. It has been owned and operated by Jean Bourdua for the last 22 years and has acquired a total of over 30 years of experienced in hospitality and food & industry. Grande Cache is a town of 4,400 nestled in the Canadian Rockies. It is in a Gateway to Willmore Wilderness Park and is surrounded by total wilderness offering endless opportunities for hiking, canoeing, kayaking, fishing, horse riding, mountain biking, golfing and white water rafting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grande Cache Hotel Alberta, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing