We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite Among Many B&Bs Through the Years”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gibsons
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Soames Point Oceanfront Suite
Ranked #4 of 15 Gibsons B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Our Favourite Among Many B&Bs Through the Years”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

In every way this is our favourite among many B& B's we've enjoyed. Judy and Tom are very welcoming and gracious hosts, their recommendations for dining and visiting superb. The suite is spacious and very tastefully appointed, so comfortable and lovely, with a panoramic 180 degree view across Shoal Channel to Keats Island and to the east across Howe Sound to The Lions and Unnecessary Ridge. Judy's breakfasts are delicious and refreshing. The gardens and grounds, including paths and small terraces down to the water, afford an intimate sense of our coast and its delights. We did not want to leave. So lovely to sit and read in the ample light, then look up to see the view. Even at night the views are beautiful, easily visible from the bed. We slept well. We relaxed deeply. And we do recommend the visiting masseur.

Room Tip: There is one suite. It is as lovely and comfortable, well-lit and convenient, spacious and tasteful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay on the Sun Shine coast - even for the rainy season. The B&B was everything you would expect and with an amazing view. The hosts were friendly and booked us into the Sweetwater Bistro for a very nice dinner. We wish we had more time ... Next time ;)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had a truly memorable stay at "Soames Point B&B". From the moment we reached the doorstep we were warmly welcomed by Judy & Tom and taken down to our suite, which was like an oasis with an endless breathtaking view. Each morning we waited with anticipation to see what we would feast on, as each breakfast somehow seemed more delicious than the day before - what an amazing cook! I was especially touched by Judy's efforts to surprise me on my birthday with a special lemon muffin, and not to be forgotten a yellow candle, made just for me as lemon is my favourite flavour. They gave us great advice as to where to visit and dine in town.

Judy & Tom have created a wonderful 'home away from home' for us and I'm certain for all who have the opportunity to visit Gibsons and "Soames Point B&B".

Room Tip: This travel was not in december 2012 but in november 2011. Trip Advisor would not let this review g...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FandFFandF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We booked this bed & breakfast last minute in late September '13 after deciding to stay in Gibsons on a whim. With no hotels there we took a leap of faith and went B&B hunting. We have very high standards and have never stayed at a B&B before so we were not sure what to expect. After reading the stellar reviews and lucking out on availability for that night, we booked Soames Point online and boy, it exceeded our expectations.

The owners are very friendly but not intrusive. Judy greeted us upon arrival, gave us the tour, setup a breakfast time and then left us to enjoy the place. We are not usually chatty cathies but the owners are very likeable and we enjoyed conversing.

The suite has a nice open concept with big beautiful windows and ever amenity you would need (wifi, cable, coffee maker...etc.). My wife is a clean freak and I was relieved that everything was dust free and immaculate. It had tasteful furnishings and a cozy cool oceanside cottage like feel. After a pleasant night's sleep we woke up the following morning and enjoyed a nice basket of warm baked goods and homemade jam before heading out on the road for home.

I find it difficult to point out a negative from my experience. I feel guilty for saying it but the only "bad" thing I could think of was that the TV in the family room was a little too small for the size of the room (okay, I said it.). If that is the only thing wrong, than your in good shape.

We will most certainly consider Soames point for our next visit to the Sunshine Coast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nowatica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is one of the places we wished we booked a longer stay. The room, the views were spectacular and the host Judy and Tom were lovely. We had a blast roasting marshmallows on the private deck (my husband liked his 'well done') while enjoying the mesmerising views to the bay in front of us. We will definitely return if we come to the Sunshine Coast again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, BC
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Picture perfect? – you bet. We felt like being immersed in a living picture. We watched the sun break through the mist in the morning. Gradually the gentle rays crept on to our faces and enveloped us in a soft warm blanket. With the whisper of swaying leaves around and rhythmic lapping of water at our feet, we felt like a new born in warm cradle arms. When we had enough, we could retreat indoors and catch a second sleep of the day. The fresh air and comfort of the homelike setting relaxed our tired bodies and minds. We felt compelled to pursue our slumber. When we regained consciousness, we actually had to push ourselves out the door to do some excursions.

Hospitality – superb. We got all the information we needed for the day about the area and the activities we were interested in. Tom and Judy are available to answer questions at any time, or talk, when we felt like chatting. They seem like friends whom we have known for a long time, who know our needs of the moment.

Food – Sometimes we did not feel like having a full breakfast in order to try out the local eateries, so we enjoyed the delicious home baking, homemade jam, yogurt, fruit and cheese. Other times, the scrumptious breakfast made us want to forget our lunch or maybe even some of our dinner.

Mystery and adventure on site – The narrow winding footpaths among lustrous groves of flora and fauna led us to different vantage points down the slope toward the water. The firewood was already in the fire pit waiting for us to do the hardest work of the evening - lighting a match –before we were comfortably sandwiched between the sea and the starry sky. If that was not enough, we could swim from there or climb down the rocks during low tide to do some beachcombing nearby. But we chose kayaking this time.

Not surprisingly, we booked our next year’s vacation at – Soames Point B&B. It is less than two hours from Vancouver. Half of that time, we were relaxing on the ferry. This was the best way to maximize the enjoyment of a short vacation for nature lovers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSmithDelta_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the last night of our visit to the Sunshine Coast and it made getting back on that ferry so difficult! The views are amazing. I wished we had booked for longer. It also helped that we had been provided with a pre- laid chiminia on the private deck!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibsons
2.0 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
141 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Bonniebrook Lodge
The Bonniebrook Lodge
#1 of 15 in Gibsons
92 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunshine Lodge Inn
Sunshine Lodge Inn
#2 of 3 in Gibsons
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
803 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arcturus Retreat B&B
Arcturus Retreat B&B
#6 of 15 in Gibsons
33 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Driftwood Inn
The Driftwood Inn
#1 of 5 in Sechelt
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soames Point Oceanfront Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soames Point Oceanfront Suite

Property: Soames Point Oceanfront Suite
Address: 1000 Marine Dr, Gibsons, British Columbia V0N 1V1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Gibsons
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Gibsons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious luxurious 1 bedroom waterfront suite overlooking picturesque Howe Sound & islands, stunning ocean views, surrounded by woodlands & gardens; private entrance & oceanfront decks & peaceful spaces overlooking the water & nestled in the trees; soaker tub; full service kitchen; gas fireplace; cable TV/DVD and Netflix; wireless internet. Only minutes away from Gibsons Landing with its many restaurants, shops, museum, local artisans, and theater. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing