We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“passing through”
Review of Ritz Inn

Ritz Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gibsons
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ritz Inn
Ranked #12 of 15 Gibsons B&B and Inns
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“passing through”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The price was good, but the room was poor. There were crumbs in the microwave, and the couch was so stained and ripped we avoided it. However, the bathroom was clean and the bed was comfortable, and it's close enough to town that you can walk in a few minutes.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zeb66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
2
12
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We normally look for reasonable priced rooms with comfortable beds, clean bathrooms. My philosophy is, I want to sleep in the room, not buy it! At any rate, during our visit to Gibsons, we were happy with the Ritz - we enjoyed a walk in the rain to the harbour and the restaurants with no fear of having to drive after enjoying a lovely meal and a couple of glasses of wine. We didn't use the kitchenette (except for 2 mismatched glasses!!) and enjoyed having a view of the harbour and a sliding glass door through which we could hear the rain falling all night! It was just what we needed and we appreciated the flat screen TV and WI FI in the room so we were able to touch base with family.

So we do give a passing grade to the Ritz for overnight accommodations but were thoroughly disappointed with the shopping in Gibsons. I was looking forward to some 'retail therapy' and had hoped to see an abundance of handiwork by local Sunshine Coast artisans. Sadly, I came home empty handed.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ColdstreamCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orebro, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Before I finally received my room there was qyite a commotion about which room I shouls have. I was shown about three rooms before we could find one which was made up. A number of mistakes were made. The hotel does not have a restaurant so you have to go downtown for a meal. However it is not a long walk and there are any number of eateries around. Slept well and had to leave again early in the morning for the next ferry.
Things were a bit mixed up but the nice lady at the front desk did everything to be of help.
Would probably chose a different place next time though.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This place looks great from the outside. Was a little dissapointed with the room quality inside, but it had a kitchenette and was clean and spacious.
Okay for a one or two night stay.
Gibsons is well worth a visit!

Room Tip: If you are just passing through like we were, its adequate...but Maybe ask to see the room before yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SybSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Ritz Inn, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for your review. We are in the middle of renvating the Hotel so if you come again hopfuly you will see some changers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I stayed in the Ritz Inn in June 2011 and my review is very similar to the one dated June 2010 entitled "Not The Ritz" so it looks like the owners don't really care what people think !

I drove around Gibsons looking for accomodation and from the outside the Ritz Inn "looked" to be the best kept. It was on the outskirts of the town and not far from the harbour and a short walk to the shops and restaurants. There is a larger shopping centre which is only a 5 minute drive away.

The room was a reasonable size with a double bed, a sette and chair. a small 2 seater dining table and a kitchenette with the same mismatched kitchenware reported in other reviews (even the drinking glasses were all different) but the room was generally scruffy and drab and although there was no abvious surface dust you can sense that the rooms are not cleaned properly which has been mantioned in other reviews and it didn't look as if the windows had been cleaned for a long time. The settee was so worn that the foam filling was showing on one of the arms and it seemed a good idea to lay a couple of bath towels on it before sitting and to have a shower before going to bed and another one the following morning before leaving.


The Free Continental Breakfast was a joke. They provide a jug of highly diluted orange juice, some cakes and hot drinks on a table by the reception desk but don't expect a breakfast room with tables and chairs where you can eat it

It's a pity really as a litle TLC, a fresh coat of paint and some replacement furniture and a proper cleaner would make a big difference

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomad252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Ritz Inn, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
I'm sorry you had a bad experience while staying at our Hotel but thank you for your review.
We have started to renovate the Hotel and up grade TV's furniture etc.
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gibsons hotels

Comox BC
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

This was not an expensive stay ($105 per night) and it's certainly not 'Ritzy'. That said, the front desk peeps were pleasant and helpful, the room itself reasonably clean and the beds not uncomfortable for our two day stay. However maintenance is a major issue here as is the maid service. There were several chips in the walls left unrepaired, hotel rack in the bath installed on an unpainted board with the screws improperly attached, towel rack in the bath becoming rusty, what appeared to be the remains of a broken light bulb in one bath light fixture, different size and type of bulbs in another bathroom fixture . . . I could go on but I think you'll get the picture. As another reviewer mentioned, the flatware was totally mismatched and indeed appeared to have been accumulated thru 'garage sailing'. The room we were in (204) looked out on the street. There were no sheers, only the curtain so unless one wanted to be 'on view', you couldn't have the curtains open during the day. Many simple things that could easily and inexpensively be repaired/improved but weren't.

As to maid service, we left a side plate, a mug and a couple of glasses in the sink. While the beds were made and the towels changed out as necessary, these few dishes were left untouched, still sitting in the sink on our return to the room. :-( They remained thus on our departure -- the maid service still had to clean them. What they didn't get was a tip with which I'm usually fairly generous.

Were I to be staying in Gibson's again, I'd be looking at a B + B accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WCGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We arrived late at night on our way to Lund. The young lady on the evening shift was very hospitable and friendly. The room was large, had all the amenities we needed and was clean. It is not as centrally located to the main dock in Gibson as some hotels might be but we were just there for a sleep. The morning breakfast was laughably disappointing. There were half a dozen small cinnamon buns and muffins cut into quarters. My W and i split them. There was coffee but you had to bring your cup from the room. After packing up I went to get a coffee refill (about 10 AM) and everything was gone. The woman on the day shift was about as friendly as a pit -bull, probably because I asked her if she was making more coffee right in the middle of her smoke break. Arrive at night - avoid the pit-bull.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibsons
0.9 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Lodge Inn
Sunshine Lodge Inn
#2 of 3 in Gibsons
64 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Bonniebrook Lodge
The Bonniebrook Lodge
#1 of 15 in Gibsons
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cedars Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
3.0 mi away
Arcturus Retreat B&B
Arcturus Retreat B&B
#6 of 15 in Gibsons
33 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Driftwood Inn
The Driftwood Inn
#1 of 5 in Sechelt
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritz Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Inn

Property: Ritz Inn
Address: 505 Gower Point Road, Gibsons, British Columbia V0N 1V0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Gibsons
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Gibsons
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing