We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, quiet setting -- some cautions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bonniebrook Lodge
Ranked #2 of 15 Gibsons B&B and Inns
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice room, quiet setting -- some cautions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

Our room was very nice, but please be aware that the Bonniebrook Lodge is no longer a "bed and breakfast" as flyers on the BC Ferries and ads in local travel magazines still indicate. That is, their restaurant is open on weekends and you can have breakfast there for an additional cost. Or a limited breakfast will be delivered to your room for an additional $11.50 each. The lack of a breakfast included in the cost made this seem an expensive choice to us. Also, the night we were there, no owner or employee was on the premises at all, just us and another family in a separate cottage. Although the owner left a number to call in case of problems, the lack of a human face and personal welcome didn't seem typical of the lodges and inns we've stayed in elsewhere. Positives: nice, comfortable room; quiet setting with ocean view; just a few miles from the center of Gibsons, not far from the Langdale ferry terminal.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthwestSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
58
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2007

We took a weekend getaway from August 17 - 19, 2007 at Bonniebrook Lodge. I was a little pensive after reading the previous review about the remote location of this lodge, but thought we'd give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised at the quality of service and the cleanliness of the B&B. The room we stayed in had a gorgeous waterview, was spacious, the jacuzzi tub was relaxing and the delicious breakfasts were delivered right to our room at a pre-determined time. Overall, it was a very enjoyable experience, and only a 5 minute drive to the town centre of Gibsons! We will definitely return to Bonniebrook.

  • Liked — The views from the room
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank globetrotterinvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2006

This is a very nice small place and the owners were very friendly. We were on a driving tour and found this place in the Lonely Planet. We basically called them up in the car after we had arrived on the Sunshine Coast. We showed up fairly late and the owner showed us to a separate cabin instead of a room in the main building, possibly because I was on a cane at the time and she figured I didn't want to walk up stairs, or maybe because we had a little girl and she was concerned about noise.

In any event, the cabin was excellent. It was large, had a modern large family-sized jacuzzi, a gas fireplace, and all the modern amenities. The breakfast included was a full-blown bacon-and-eggs affair; very good and lots of it.

We were right next to the brook. The location is beautiful, out in the country. They have the land across the road so you can go right down to the ocean shore and I believe you can light a wood fire outside there near the water. It is way, way out from Gibsons. We had to call for directions twice to find it.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfaceTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2006

We stayed at Bonniebrook in the spring of 2002 and 2004 and would go back again. It's the perfect place to relax and do nothing. Both times we stayed in one of their two Penthouse suites. The private deck has a great view of the ocean. The room is beautiful, clean, and spacious. The in-room jacuzzi is perfect. Their gourmet breakfasts are divine and we loved the fact that we could dine in the privacy of our room overlooking the ocean. They let you choose what time you want your breakfast and deliver it to you. We love b&bs that are cozy and romantic but are also very private. Bonniebrook is exactly that. The hosts are available if you need them but they basically leave you alone for your entire stay. The restaurant downstairs is also quite good and convenient. Hope you have as good a time as we did!

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h-in-vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2004

First off, the rooms are exquisite. Take a look at their website (bonniebrook) and you will have an excellent idea what the rooms are like. We had the Penthouse Suite and couldn’t have asked for more – comfortable bed, two person jacuzzi tub, balcony with gorgeous view, fireplace. And the place has been decorated perfectly to boot. Those with an aversion to stairs might want to go for one of the “Romance Suites”. These rooms are at ground level but not in the original 1920’s era lodge. Instead they are in a nice building directly behind the lodge and do not have an ocean view.

The breakfast was also superb. One morning we had smoked salmon omelets, the next we had raisin French toast. There were some other choices as well and each entrée came with lots of fruit, a toast basket, freshly made muffins, juice and very good coffee. Both mornings we had breakfast delivered to our room so we could enjoy it while soaking up the morning view in the provided fleece robes.

The other nice thing about the lodge is the restaurant on the main floor. This is a very good and not too expensive French restaurant. We had dinner here on one night and both my wife and I would also recommend Chez Phillipe to anyone looking for a great dining experience.

The setting is perfect for a romantic weekend away. The ocean is right in front of the lodge. You can watch the cruise ships from your balcony. And Gibson’s Landing is just a 5 minute drive away if you want to explore some funky shops and find a place for lunch. But mostly you will want to hang out in your room. Bring a great book, maybe your favorite movie (VHS) and someone you love dearly.

Helpful?
10 Thank heymossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibsons
1.8 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
21.7 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sunshine Lodge Inn
Sunshine Lodge Inn
#2 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Arcturus Retreat B&B
Arcturus Retreat B&B
#6 of 15 in Gibsons
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
12.9 mi away
At The Shore B&B
At The Shore B&B
#3 of 26 in Sechelt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Driftwood Inn
The Driftwood Inn
#1 of 5 in Sechelt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonniebrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonniebrook Lodge

Property: The Bonniebrook Lodge
Address: 1532 Ocean Beach Espl, Gibsons, British Columbia V0N 1V5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Gibsons
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Gibsons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bonniebrook Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bonniebrook Lodge since 1912 features 7 luxury suites, comfortably appointed in a contemporary West Coast style. Bonniebrook Lodge is also home to Chasters Restaurant... Discreet service, unique ocean views and outstanding dining experiences, all in one place... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bonniebrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing