We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A breath of fresh air -- and fresh food”
Review of Saltwater Chophouse and Lounge - CLOSED

Saltwater Chophouse and Lounge
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air -- and fresh food”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

I have lived on the Sunshkne Coast for 17 years and walked into Salteater to meet a friend for lunch. What a wonderful lunch. Everything is fresh and as local as possible. The owner is a couple who chose to leave the frenetic Vancouver restaurant scene to raise their young son and have a life beyond just a restaurant. But they brought the service and food expertise expected from the demanding Vancouver client. The lunch of burger and salad was superb -- with a unique house dressing on the salad and a twist to conventional burgers. I was so impressed i have had a few breakfasts which are a mix of traditional and Saltwater creations. The casual atmosphere belies the professionalism in the kitchen. And the young son provided smiles from customers as a very engaging little helper to his mom.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    3
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Waste of time, waste of money.”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

He is as rude as chef Ramsey, but to patrons. Reservations? I supported your business for years and now i can't even drop in fire a chore and a slice of toast without a reservation. Pathetic. Your tables say reserved yet very few actual customers made a reservations and the tables sit empty. You say you are open till 8 for dinner but leave at 5 since no one made a reservation. I showed up and there were two other couples who pulled in about the same time, since they were just leaving we were turned away. So, i understand the need for reservations to ensure service but getting turned away when apparently no one called ahead is ridiculous., not a customer service friendly place. This is all a result of staff walking out for mistreatment, and they have to do it by themselves now. Stick with catering and limit your contact with people and you may even succeed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank tybenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The food is excellent here, particularly breakfasts. Best egg bennies ever. BUT the service is poor and not for lack of experience. We were kept waiting for 45 minutes while the server told us that everything was being made fresh for us. We peeked in the kitchen and our food was sitting on the grill, already prepared, while the chef had a break. The server seemed to want everyone to make a reservation rather than drop in. Fair enough, but there were empty tables.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible Service!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I will never recommend this place to anyone ever again. After this summer I have taken my mom once and was made to wait more than 45 minutes for a clubhouse sandwich. I then tried to take my relatives here twice and was turned away! TWICE within 4 days, although the restaurant was not full at all and the tables all had reserved signs on them. This is after the fact that as a local we have been supporting them during the winter months, to get turned away not once, but twice with no explanation is utterly rude. TO bad what was once a okay place to eat is now a NEVER go here place to eat!.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Sherena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good view”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Excellent food. Great quality ingredients and does not disappoint. Great view from the deck and cosy inside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saltwater Chophouse and Lounge also viewed

 
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing