We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Capricious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caprice Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 15 Gibsons B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2014

There';s absolutely nothing capricious about this place - despite it's whimsical name, every detail of your stay has been carefully thought through, from a full breakfast served family style in the hosts sunny living room to the chocolates on your bedside table at night.

The downside of a B&B experience can be sharing close quarters with over-eager hosts (or even worse, burned out ones), but though Lois and Jeanette love to please, their keen sense of humour takes the edge of that B&B awkwardness. We found ourselves in truly interesting conversations with strangers around the table (laden, I might say, with plates of home made goodies).

There's a spotless swimming pool, a hot tub, a spectacular view, clean crisp linens, and the rooms are tastefully decorated - no hand-me down knickknacks or daubed paintings for these classy gals! We saw deer in the garden, and the beach is a short drive away.

We'd recommend that you find this hidden gem, for sure. We went for one night, took a look, and booked for two! Now we're telling all our friends about our ultimate bed and breakfast experience...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucciano, Owner at Caprice Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thanks so much for this review, Claire. We enjoyed chatting with you and Joy and will look forward your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Caprice is a wonderful little hide-away nestled in the trees, just off the water. The rooms were very clean, the property was well-maintained, and the staff were very inviting, even sitting with us at breakfast to share info about the area. The beds and bedding were deliciously comfortable, aiding in a good night’s sleep. We looked forward to breakfast each morning, knowing that home-made treats would fill us for our next adventure. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAG20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a great time at Caprice. Lois and Jeanette are true hosts and made us feel instantly welcome. Our dog, Pot Roast, was welcomed with joy and kindness (even an offer of a bed if we forgot one) and didn't judge as we smuggled some bacon to him! They were even kind after he escaped our room and ran upstairs without us knowing! Pot Roast agreed...breakfast, (bacon especially) was very tasty and served in their lovely kitchen.
Our room was beautiful, roomy and impeccably tidy. Beach/Pool towels were provided and we enjoyed use of the deck and sunny pool (heated by solar panels). They bed was also wildly comfortable.
Jeanette and Lois offered great advice on places to eat but the best eats were at their B&B, where both mornings we got so caught up in lovely conversation that before we knew it, we had spent two hours chatting.
We would definitely return to Caprice both for the room, the company and the pet-friendly hosts.

Room Tip: Room 27 is a great size for family and pet (and even a pull out bed in the closet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Shorrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

As a solo business traveller, finding an accommodation that provides a good night's rest, a good breakfast and a genuine welcome is important. Jeanette and Lois provide this and more. The quality of mattress and pillows allowed for uninterrupted sleep, breakfast is nutritious and tasty Stimulating conversation and hospitality abound. The shower had great water pressure and the towels were thick and absorbent. Everything was very clean. I wasn't able to take advantage of the outdoor pool or hot tub but look forward to using them on my next visit.

Room Tip: If you require a desk to work on, one of the 2 larger rooms is your best bet but room 13.5 provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather63476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucciano, Owner at Caprice Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thanks for the lovely review, Rita. Recent reviews are always much appreciated. We always enjoy having you and Russ as guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Caprice B&B is located in scenic Gibsons on BC's Sunshine Coast. It has a beautiful terrace with gorgeous gardens, pool, barbecue and view of the ocean. Rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable. Main level open-concept living room and kitchen has a very nice grand piano. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Our hosts were both charming educated people with interesting backgrounds. This B&B is perfectly located as a base to explore the Sunshine Coast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Sheila_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The glowing reviews speak for themselves. The ladies do a great job of making you feel welcome. The accommodations are comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts are prepared using fresh ingredients and are beautifully presented. Do not hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucciano, Owner at Caprice Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thanks. Recent reviews are always important. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Recently enjoyed a four night stay at the Caprice B&B. Jeanette and Lois are kind, generous and friendly owners and hosts.

We stayed in Room 54, which is the largest. The guestroom and ensuite bathroom are very large and clean. A tiny kitchenette provides a microwave, mini-fridge, sink, toaster, coffeemaker, dishes, soap, tea and coffee. The large closet has plenty of hangers. Nice touches include a bouquet of roses and pressed bamboo sheets.

My hot tub experience (just outside our room) was a feast for the senses. I was massaged by warm jets and caressed by cool breezes. Everywhere, a sight to behold: lush green ferns and majestic trees accentuated with colorful flower pots, trellises and gardens; charming seating areas dispersed throughout. Rustling leaves and tinkling chimes serenaded. The scent of jasmine perfumed the air. As I took this all in, I thought of the delicious breakfast we would be enjoying the next morning.

And, oh, what breakfasts they were. First, yogurt and fresh fruit (blueberries, blackberries), and baking (muffins, scones, croissants) with homemade jams. A full hot entree (different each morning) followed. We ate from beautiful, colorful Mediterranean-style tableware. Cup after cup of excellent coffee enticed us to linger over conversation with hosts and guests.

We will remember the Caprice with treasured memories provided by Jeanette and Lois. We highly recommend the Caprice B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank on-the-road-againX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucciano, Owner at Caprice Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for this delightful review and the pictures. We hope you'll make it out to the west coast soon again. Lois and Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gibsons
1.5 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
150 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Bonniebrook Lodge
The Bonniebrook Lodge
#1 of 15 in Gibsons
94 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunshine Lodge Inn
Sunshine Lodge Inn
#2 of 3 in Gibsons
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
842 reviews
4.2 mi away
Arcturus Retreat B&B
Arcturus Retreat B&B
#6 of 15 in Gibsons
34 reviews
12.1 mi away
Royal Reach Motel
Royal Reach Motel
#3 of 5 in Sechelt
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caprice Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caprice Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1111 Gower Point Rd, Gibsons, British Columbia V0N 1V3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Gibsons
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Gibsons
Price Range: £97 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caprice B&B is a pet friendly, luxurious accommodation on an acre with a swimming pool and hot tub. Oceanview rooms have queen beds, ensuite bathrooms, kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Caprice Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing